DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filed on 09/01/2026.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in page 3 that prior art does not teach scaling an original video bitstream based on N first preset scaling parameters to obtain N primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions.
Examiner disagree on this because applicant’s argument presumes that “scaling an original video bitstream based on N first preset scaling parameters” requires N distinct, no-unity scaling operations. This presumption is not supported in claim language. Independent claims do not require that each of the N preset scaling parameters produce a resolution different from the original resolution – only requires that N resulting primary scaled video bitstreams have resolutions different from each other. A scaling parameter of value 1, applied to the original video bitstream, yields an output bitstream (the original resolution) that is by definition different in resolution from an output produced using any other parameter value (e.g., 1/m). Nothing in claim excludes a parameter value of 1 from the set of “N first preset scaling parameters”. Chiu’s individual video frame F (obtained via an implicit scaling parameter of 1) and downscaled video frame F.sub.B (obtained via a scaling parameter 1/m). Under BRI, the original video frame F (scaling parameter=1) and downscaled video frame F.sub.B (scaling parameter 1/m) constitute two primary scaled video bitstreams of different resolutions (W.times.H and W’.times.H’ respectively). Fig. 1, Fig. 3 shows two-layer video coding to produce downscaled video. Chiu [0015] teach “N primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions” for N=2.
Please see: Boyce page 28, col. 1 para 2: 1) Collocated Sample Position Determination: SHVC supports generalized spatial scalability, including arbitrary spatial resolution ratio (with the only restriction being that the horizontal and vertical spatial ratios must be greater than or equal to 1). This directly corroborating the Examiner’s construction of limitation: “scaling an original video bitstream based on N first preset scaling parameters to obtain N primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions, wherein N is a positive integer equal to 2”.
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive as it is not commensurate with claim language.
Applicant argued in page 4 that prior art does not teach scaling a reference primary scaled video bitstream to obtain N-1 secondary scaled video bitstreams corresponding to resolutions of N-1 non-reference primary scaled video bitstreams other than the reference primary scaled video bitstream, wherein the reference primary scaled video bitstream is one of the N primary scaled video bitstreams; determining N-1 residual video bitstreams based on the N-1 non-reference primary scaled video bitstreams and the N-1 secondary scaled video bitstreams;
Examiner disagree on this because applicant’s understanding of claim mapping was not relied on by the examiner. Chiu disclose that the residual frame .DELTA.F is obtained by subtracting the upscaled decoded base video frame F''.sub.upscale,B (secondary scaled video bitstreams) from the original individual video frame F (non-reference primary scaled video bitstreams) - not from the down-scaled video frame F.sub.B: F''.sub.B (reference) is up-scaled to produce F''.sub.upscale,B (secondary scaled), which is expressly matched in resolution (W.times.H) to the non-reference primary scaled bitstream F. The residual .DELTA.F is computed by pixel-wise subtraction of the secondary scaled bitstream (F''.sub.upscale,B) from the non-reference primary scaled bitstream (F), both at matched resolution W.times.H. Please see Chiu [0018-0019]. The subtraction at [0019] is therefore fully resolution-consistent and applicant’s argument is inapplicable to the mapping of record.
Boyce is also added solely to confirm that in SVC, a scaling ratio of exactly 1 is an art-recognized, valid member of the set of contemplated scaling parameters. Applicant’s characterization and claim mapping from Boyce is also inapplicable to the mapping of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016).
Examiner’s Note: Video encoding and decoding are done using same opposite algorithm.
Regarding to claim 1 and 14:
1. Chiu teach a method for video transcoding, comprising: (Chiu Fig. 1 [0014] FIG. 1 depicts a scalable video encoder, which is an exemplary embodiment of the disclosed encoding apparatus. A scalable video encoder 100 comprises a preprocessor 120 and an encoding unit 130. The preprocessor 120 receives a source video frame sequence 110 and interacts with the encoding unit 130 so that the encoding unit 130 produces a base layer bit-stream 116 and an enhancement layer bit-stream 117. Both of the bit-streams form a resultant scalable video bit-stream 115. [0015] For an individual video frame F in the source video frame sequence 110, the preprocessor 120 is configured to downscale said individual video frame F by a pre-determined scale factor m, m being an integer at least 2, to yield a downscaled video frame F.sub.B having a resolution reduced by m times in each of x- and y-directions when compared to the resolution of said individual video frame F. As used herein, a resolution of a video frame is given by X.times.Y, where X and Y are the numbers of pixels of the video frame in the x-direction and the y-direction, respectively. As used herein, "downscaling" a video frame of resolution X.times.Y by a scale factor of n, n a positive integer, means reducing the size of this video frame proportionately in the x- and the y-directions by a factor n so as to yield a resultant video frame of resolution (X/n).times.(Y/n), provided that X and Y are divisible by n. If said individual video frame F has a resolution W.times.H, the downscaled video frame F.sub.B has a resolution W'.times.H' where W'=W/m and H'=H/m. Generally, m is chosen to be a power of 2 although the present invention is not limited to this particular choice. For example, m may be chosen to be 2 or 4.) scaling an original video bitstream based on N first preset scaling parameters to obtain N primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions, wherein N is a positive integer equal to 2; (Chiu [0015] For an individual video frame F in the source video frame sequence 110, the preprocessor 120 is configured to downscale said individual video frame F by a pre-determined scale factor m, m being an integer at least 2, to yield a downscaled video frame F.sub.B having a resolution reduced by m times in each of x- and y-directions when compared to the resolution of said individual video frame F. Under BRI, the original video frame F (scaling parameter=1) and downscaled video frame F.sub.B (scaling parameter 1/m) constitute two primary scaled video bitstreams of different resolutions (W.times.H and W’.times.H’ respectively). Fig. 1, Fig. 3 shows two-layer video coding to produce downscaled video. [0024] An exemplary embodiment of the decoding apparatus is a scalable video decoder depicted in FIG. 3. A scalable video decoder 300 receives a scalable video bit-stream 315 comprising a base layer bit-stream 316 and an enhancement layer bit-stream 317, and generates a lower-resolution video frame 371, F'.sub.B, and a higher-resolution video frame 372, F'. The resolution of F' is W.times.H and the resolution of F'.sub.B is W'.times.H', where W'=W/m and H'=H/m, and where m, an integer at least 2, is a pre-determined scale factor. The scalable video decoder 300 comprises a decoding unit 330 and a postprocessor 320.)
scaling a reference primary scaled video bitstream (Chiu Fig. 1, Fig. 3 original video F as primary video and getting downscaled to FsubB at 140. [0015] For an individual video frame F in the source video frame sequence 110, the preprocessor 120 is configured to downscale said individual video frame F [reference primary] by a pre-determined scale factor m, m being an integer at least 2, to yield a downscaled video frame F.sub.B having a resolution reduced by m times in each of x- and y-directions when compared to the resolution of said individual video frame F) to obtain N-1 secondary scaled video bitstreams (Chiu Fig. 1, Fig. 3 [0018] The preprocessor 120 is further configured to up-scale the decoded base video frame F''.sub.B by a scale factor of m to yield an up-scaled decoded base video frame F''.sub.upscale,B [N-1 secondary scaled video] having a resolution that is the resolution of said individual video frame F. Similar to downscaling, "up-scaling" a video frame of resolution X.times.Y by a scale factor of n, n a positive integer, is defined herein as an operation to increase the size of this video frame proportionately in the x- and the y-directions by a factor n so as to yield a resultant video frame of resolution nX.times.nY. It follows that the resolution of the up-scaled decoded base video frame F''.sub.upscale,B is W.times.H [N-1 secondary scaled video].) corresponding to resolutions of N-1 non-reference primary scaled video bitstreams (Chiu Fig. 1, [0014] FIG. 1 depicts a scalable video encoder, which is an exemplary embodiment of the disclosed encoding apparatus. A scalable video encoder 100 comprises a preprocessor 120 and an encoding unit 130. The preprocessor 120 receives a source video frame sequence 110 and interacts with the encoding unit 130 so that the encoding unit 130 produces a base layer bit-stream 116 and an enhancement layer bit-stream 117. Both of the bit-streams form a resultant scalable video bit-stream 115.) other than the reference primary scaled video bitstream, (Chiu Fig. 1 F after scaling. Fig. 1 shows down scaling and upscaling. Chiu Fig. 1 [0017] Furthermore, the encoding unit 130 is configured to execute a decoding algorithm corresponding to the pre-determined video encoding algorithm in order to decode the base layer bit-stream 116 that has incorporated the image information of the downscaled video frame F.sub.B, and in order to reconstruct the downscaled video frame F.sub.B from the base layer bit-stream 116. As a result, it yields a decoded base video frame F''.sub.B which is the downscaled video frame F.sub.B as reconstructed. The decoded base video frame F''.sub.B has a resolution W'.times.H'.)
wherein the reference primary scaled video bitstream is one of the N primary scaled video bitstreams; (Chiu Fig. 1 [0017] Furthermore, the encoding unit 130 is configured to execute a decoding algorithm corresponding to the pre-determined video encoding algorithm in order to decode the base layer bit-stream 116 that has incorporated the image information of the downscaled video frame F.sub.B, and in order to reconstruct the downscaled video frame F.sub.B from the base layer bit-stream 116. As a result, it yields a decoded base video frame F''.sub.B which is the downscaled video frame F.sub.B as reconstructed. The decoded base video frame F''.sub.B has a resolution W'.times.H'. F''.sub.B (reference) is up-scaled to produce F''.sub.upscale,B (secondary scaled), which is expressly matched in resolution (W.times.H) to the non-reference primary scaled bitstream F as per [0018])
determining N-1 residual video bitstreams based on the N-1 non-reference primary scaled video bitstreams and the N-1 secondary scaled video bitstreams; (Chiu Fig. 1 [0019] In addition, the preprocessor 120 is further configured to subtract said individual video frame F by the up-scaled decoded base video frame F''.sub.upscale,B. The subtraction is performed pixel-by-pixel. It yields a residual frame .DELTA.F, where the subtraction is performed pixel-wise. That is, .DELTA.F is given by .DELTA.F=F-F''.sub.upscale,B, and pixel-by-pixel subtraction between F and F''.sub.upscale,B is performed to obtain .DELTA.F. Note that .DELTA.F is the difference between F and F''.sub.upscale,B, and that F''.sub.upscale,B can be easily obtained from the decoded base video frame F''.sub.B. If .DELTA.F is encoded and is also transmitted from a video source to a user, said individual video frame F, which has a higher resolution than the decoded base video frame F''.sub.B, can be reconstructed at the user side by recovering .DELTA.F and by obtaining F''.sub.B from the base layer bit-stream 116. The residual .DELTA.F is computed by pixel-wise subtraction of the secondary scaled bitstream (F''.sub.upscale,B) from the non-reference primary scaled bitstream (F), both at matched resolution W.times.H)
and compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream and the N-1 residual video bitstreams to obtain video compression data. (Chiu [0016] The encoding unit 130 is configured to execute a pre-determined video encoding algorithm to encode the downscaled video frame F.sub.B such that image information of the downscaled video frame F.sub.B is incorporated into the base layer bit-stream 116. [0021] The encoding unit 130 is further configured to execute the pre-determined video encoding algorithm to encode each of the N residual sub-frames .DELTA.F.sub.1, . . . .DELTA.F.sub.N such that image information in said each of the N residual sub-frames .DELTA.F.sub.1, . . . , .DELTA.F.sub.N is incorporated into the enhancement layer bit-stream 117. It follows that the encoding unit 130 reuses the pre-determined video encoding algorithm to encode the N residual sub-frames .DELTA.F.sub.1, . . . , .DELTA.F.sub.N as also employed in encoding the downscaled video frame F.sub.B. As a result, the base layer bit-stream 116 and the enhancement layer bit-stream 117 are generable by using only one non-scalable encoding algorithm, allowing both of such bit-streams 116, 117 to be decodable by employing only one non-scalable decoding algorithm. [0023] A second aspect of the present invention is to provide an apparatus configured to decode a scalable video bit-stream to generate a lower-resolution video frame and a higher-resolution video frame such that the apparatus uses only one non-scalable decoding algorithm to generate both the lower-resolution video frame and the higher-resolution video frame. The higher-resolution video frame has a resolution that is m times of the lower-resolution video frame's resolution in each of x- and y-directions where m is an integer at least 2. The scalable video bit-stream comprises a base layer bit-stream and an enhancement layer bit-stream. The base layer bit-stream is encoded with image information of the lower-resolution video frame. The enhancement layer bit-stream is encoded with image information of N residual sub-frames, N=m.sup.2. The higher-resolution video frame is generable according to the lower-resolution video frame and the N residual sub-frames. Each of the N residual sub-frames has a resolution that is the resolution of the lower-resolution video frame. The disclosed decoding apparatus is configured to decode the scalable video bit-stream generated from an encoding apparatus as disclosed according to the first aspect of the present invention.)
Chiu do not explicitly teach or primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions greater than 2.
Regarding “or primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions greater than 2;” (Part of OR condition. No rejection is required. In other words, N>2 is an optional embodiment)
Boyce is also added solely to confirm that in SVC, a scaling ratio of exactly 1 is an art-recognized, valid member of the set of contemplated scaling parameters – not an operation falling outside the concept of “scaling”, Please see: Boyce page 28, col. 1 para 2: 1) Collocated Sample Position Determination: SHVC supports generalized spatial scalability, including arbitrary spatial resolution ratio (with the only restriction being that the horizontal and vertical spatial ratios must be greater than or equal to 1). This directly corroborating the Examiner’s construction of limitation: “scaling an original video bitstream based on N first preset scaling parameters to obtain N primary scaled video bitstreams with different resolutions, wherein N is a positive integer equal to 2”.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate that in SVC, a scaling ratio of exactly 1 is an art recognized. This is introduced to provide evidence needed for examiner’s claim construction.
Regarding to claim 4 and 17:
4. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the reference primary scaled video bitstream is a primary scaled video bitstream with a lowest resolution in the N primary scaled video bitstreams. (Chiu Fig. 1 shows FsubB is down scaled version of input bitstream before entering to encoder. After that bitstream gets upscale at 160. This makes encoder input primary scaled video bitstream with a lowest resolution)
Claims 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016), further in view of Tourapis (U.S. Pub. No. 20140003528 A1).
Regarding to claim 2 and 15:
2. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, Chiu do not explicitly teach further comprising: performing image enhancement on each of the N primary scaled video bitstreams
before scaling the reference primary scaled video bitstream.
However Tourapis teach further comprising: performing image enhancement on each of the N primary scaled video bitstreams (Tourapis [0072] FIG. 13A shows an exemplary encoder system involving enhancement layer pre-processing. Higher bit depth content input into the enhancement layer can be processed using, for example, motion compensated temporal filtering (MCTF) (1310) to produce pre-processed enhancement layer pictures. In FIG. 13A, these pre-processed enhancement layer pictures serve as inputs to an enhancement layer encoder (1320) and a tone mapping and/or color conversion module (1330) (for tone mapping and/or color converting from the enhancement layer to the base layer). Base layer pictures, formed from information from the original higher bit depth content (1350) and the pre-processed enhancement layer pictures, can then be input into a base layer encoder (1340).) before scaling the reference primary scaled video bitstream. (Tourapis [0036] A plurality of methods can be specified for the inverse tone mapping methods such as, for example, linear scaling and clipping, linear interpolation, look-up table mapping, color format conversion, Nth order polynomial, and splines. More specifically: a) Linear scaling and clipping: the current sample predictor y with a bit depth of M is obtained from its corresponding sample x in the base layer which has a bit depth of N:
y=min(2.sup.M-Nx,2.sup.M-1))
The motivation for combining Chiu and Boyce as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 2. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce and Tourapis in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate performing image enhancement on each of the N primary scaled video bitstreams before scaling the reference primary scaled video bitstream. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Claims 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016), further in view of Schmit (U.S. Pub. No. 20090060032 A1).
Regarding to claim 3 and 16:
3. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, Chiu do not explicitly teach further comprising: acquiring a video bitstream to be processed; and decoding the video bitstream to be processed to obtain the original video bitstream.
However Schmit teach further comprising: acquiring a video bitstream to be processed; and decoding the video bitstream to be processed to obtain the original video bitstream. (Schmit [0033] FIG. 4 illustrates a video edit pipeline that implements a video decode process, according to an embodiment. For system 400 two bitstreams 402 and 408 are input into respective video decode processes 404 and 412. Each decoded stream is then scaled in a respective video scaler process 406 and 414. If the bitstreams 402 and 408 represent images or scenes that are to be blended, the decoded and scaled data is then input to a video blend and effects process 416. The blended image data can then be sent to a display 422, or encoded to a different format using video encoder process 418 to produce data of a second format in bitstream 420. The optional display allows for previewing of the output bitstream 420 prior to encoding. The two input bitstreams 402 and 408 may represent two video scenes that are to be blended together such as a background and foreground image, or they can represent the instance of overlap between the transition of one scene (bitstream #1) to another scene (bitstream #2).)
The motivation for combining Chiu and Boyce as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 3. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce and Schmit in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate acquiring a video bitstream to be processed; and decoding the video bitstream to be processed to obtain the original video bitstream. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Claims 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016), further in view of Van der (U.S. Pub. No. 20160050443 A1).
Regarding to claim 5 and 18:
5. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, Chiu do not explicitly teach wherein the video compression data comprises first video compression data; wherein compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream to obtain the video compression data comprises: compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream.
However Van der teach wherein the video compression data comprises first video compression data; wherein compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream to obtain the video compression data comprises: compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream. (Van der [0064] In a coded bitstream, setting syntax element “qpprime_y_zero_transquant_bypass_flag,” or, in some examples, syntax element “cu_transquant_bypass_flag,” in an SPS associated with one or more blocks of video data to a value of “1” can specify that, if a luma QP, or “QP′.sub.Y,” value for a current block of video data is equal to “0,” a lossless coding process shall be applied to code the block. In the lossless coding mode, the scaling and transform processes and the in-loop filter processes described above can be bypassed.) based on an intra lossless compression mode to obtain the first video compression data. (Van der [0088] In the example of FIG. 2, video encoder 20 includes mode select unit 40, motion estimation unit 42, motion compensation unit 44, intra-prediction module 46, IPCM encoding unit 48A, lossless encoding unit 48B, reference picture memory 66, summer 50, transform module 52, quantization unit 54, and entropy encoding unit 56. For video block reconstruction, video encoder 20 also includes inverse quantization unit 58, inverse transform module 60, and summer 62. A deblocking filter 64 is also included to filter block boundaries to remove blockiness artifacts from reconstructed video.)
The motivation for combining Chiu and Boyce as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce and Van der in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream to obtain the video compression data comprises: compressing the reference primary scaled video bitstream. This functionality will improve user experience with predictable results.
Claims 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016), further in view of Lai (U.S. Pub. No. 20080002773 A1).
Regarding to claim 6 and 19:
6. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the video compression data comprises second video compression data; wherein compressing the N-1 residual video bitstreams to obtain the video compression data comprises: (Chiu [0016] The encoding unit 130 is configured to execute a pre-determined video encoding algorithm to encode the downscaled video frame F.sub.B such that image information of the downscaled video frame F.sub.B is incorporated into the base layer bit-stream 116. In practical implementation of the encoding unit 130, the pre-determined video encoding algorithm that is employed may be an algorithm that complies with a published video standard, e.g., the H.264/AVC standard. By adopting the H.264/AVC standard for the pre-determined video encoding algorithm, the resultant encoding unit 130 is a non-scalable one. H.264/AVC standard teach time-domain to frequency- domain compression)
Chiu do not explicitly teach compressing the N-1 residual video bitstreams based on a time-domain to frequency- domain compression mode to obtain the second video compression data.
However Lai teach compressing the N-1 residual video bitstreams based on a time-domain to frequency- domain compression mode to obtain the second video compression data. (Lai [0006] Block motion compensation methods typically decompose a picture into macroblocks where each macroblock contains four 8.times.8 luminance (Y) blocks plus two 8.times.8 chrominance (Cb and Cr or U and V) blocks, although other block sizes, such as 4.times.4, are also used in H.264/AVC. The residual (prediction error) block can then be encoded (i.e., block transformation, transform coefficient quantization, entropy encoding). The transform of a block converts the pixel values of a block from the spatial domain [time domain} into a frequency domain for quantization; this takes advantage of decorrelation and energy compaction of transforms such as the two-dimensional discrete cosine transform (DCT) or an integer transform approximating a DCT. For example, in MPEG and H.263, 8.times.8 blocks of DCT-coefficients are quantized, scanned into a one-dimensional sequence, and coded by using variable length coding (VLC). H.264/AVC uses an integer approximation to a 4.times.4 DCT for each of sixteen 4.times.4 Y blocks and eight 4.times.4 chrominance blocks per macroblock. Thus an inter-coded block is encoded as motion vector(s) plus quantized transformed residual (prediction error) block.)
The motivation for combining Chiu and Boyce as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce and Lai in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate compressing the N-1 residual video bitstreams based on a time-domain to frequency- domain compression mode to obtain the second video compression data. This functionality will improve reliability with predictable results.
Claims 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu (U.S. Pub. No. 20150030072 A1), in view of Boyce (Overview of SHVC: Scalable Extensions of the High Efficiency Video Coding Standard - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 26, NO. 1, JANUARY 2016), further in view of Gupte (Memory Bandwidth and Power Reduction Using Lossy Reference Frame Compression in Video Encoding - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CIRCUITS AND SYSTEMS FOR VIDEO TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 21, NO. 2, FEBRUARY 2011).
Regarding to claim 7 and 20:
7. Chiu teach the method of claim 1, Chiu do not explicitly teach further comprising: storing the video compression data in a Double Data Rate (DDR) memory.
However Gupte teach further comprising: storing the video compression data in a Double Data Rate (DDR) memory. (Gupte II. DDR Bandwidth Requirement in Video Encode Application A. Nature of DDR Traffic in Encoder During ME, luma data from reference frames is fetched from the DDR. Most ME algorithms typically use a rectangular region called “search window” within the reference frame to search for a good match with current macroblock (MB).)
The motivation for combining Chiu and Boyce as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 7. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chiu, further incorporating Boyce and Gupte in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate storing the video compression data in a Double Data Rate (DDR) memory. This functionality will improve speed with predictable results.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 8-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Chiu teach a method for video transcoding, comprising: reading video compression data from a Double Data Rate (DDR) memory, (Gupte II. DDR Bandwidth Requirement in Video Encode Application A. Nature of DDR Traffic in Encoder During ME, luma data from reference frames is fetched from the DDR. Most ME algorithms typically use a rectangular region called “search window” within the reference frame to search for a good match with current macroblock (MB).)
wherein the video compression data is obtained according to the method of claim 1; decompressing the video compression data to obtain a reference primary scaled video bitstream and N-1 residual video bitstreams, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
Prior art does not teach recovering N primary scaled video bitstreams based on the reference primary scaled video bitstream and the N-1 residual video bitstreams; and encoding each of the recovered N primary scaled video bitstreams to obtain N encoded video bitstreams.
Regarding to claim 9-13:
Claims 9-13 are objected because of dependency to claim 8.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20160073120 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because dependent claims are better covered by primary reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896