DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-21,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6334981 to Wieres in view of US Patent 7736717 to Muller.
As to claim 11, Wieres discloses A device for the aftertreatment of exhaust gases from an internal combustion engine, the device comprising: a casing tube (2); a metallic matrix through which gas can flow from a gas inlet side to a gas outlet side of said metallic matrix along a main flow direction (3); said metallic matrix being inserted into said casing tube (Fig 1,2); said metallic matrix being formed from a layer stack of a plurality of metal foils (Col 3, line 64-66); at least some of said metal foils being at least partially structured to form a plurality of flow channels between said metal foils, permitting gas to flow through said flow channels along the main flow direction from said gas inlet side to said gas outlet side of said metallic matrix (Col 1, Line 14-20); and an inner tube (1) disposed between said casing tube and said metallic matrix and forming an air gap between said inner tube and said casing tube (12 region; Col 2, Line 33-47).
Wieres does not expressly disclose said layer stack being wound around at least one pivot point, which is taught by Muller which uses a similar gap catalyst housing configuration (Fig 2).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Wieres to include said layer stack being wound around at least one pivot point using the teachings of Muller as this was a commonly known manner of constructing a catalyst at the time that allowed for efficient structural and use design while easing manufacturing requirements.
As to claim 12, Wieres discloses said air gap is formed circumferentially in a circumferential direction around said inner tube and extends in an axial direction at least along a section of the device (12).
As to claim 13, Wieres discloses said air gap extends from said gas inlet side along the main flow direction toward a center of the device (12, Fig 1).
As to claim 14, Wieres discloses said inner tube has a material thickness of less than 1 mm (Col 2, Line 65-67).
As to claim 15, Wieres discloses said inner tube has a material thickness of less than 0.6 mm (Col 2, Line 65-67).
As to claim 16, Wieres discloses said inner tube has a material thickness of less than 0.5 mm (Col 2, Line 65-67).
As to claim 17, Wieres discloses said air gap has a width in a radial direction of more than 1 mm (Claim 19).
As to claim 18, Wieres discloses said air gap has a width in a radial direction of more than 2 mm (Claim 19).
As to claim 19, Wieres discloses said air gap has a width in a radial direction of more than 3 mm and less than 5 mm (Claim 19 overlapping range).
As to claim 20, Wieres discloses said casing tube has a radially inwardly directed surface, and an insulating layer is disposed on said radially inwardly directed surface (Col 2, Line 33-38; Col 4, line 12-26).
As to claim 21, Wieres discloses said insulating layer has a lower thermal mass than said casing tube (Col 5, Line 7-14). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that an oxide film would have lower thermal mass (mass to store and retain heat) than the casing tube both due to their respective compositions (ie sheet metal vs an oxide film) and do to their physical mass (ie. Outer jacket thickness of 4mm Claim 19 vs an oxide film).
As to claim 24, Wieres discloses said casing tube has a cross-sectional taper in a region of said gas inlet side; said inner tube has an outer side; and said casing tube has an inner side abutting against said outer side of said inner tube (Fig 1).
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6334981 to Wieres in view of US Patent 7736717 to Muller as applied to claim 20 above and further in view of JPH10337 to Noda.
As to claim 22, Wieres discloses said insulating layer is formed by a coating of said casing tube (Col 2, Line 33-38; Col 4, line 12-26).
Wieres does not expressly disclose said insulating layer is formed by a ceramic coating of said casing tube which is taught by Noda (Par 0050).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wieres to include where the coating is a ceramic coating using the teachings of Noda so as to enhance the heat insulation properties to protect the system in a known manner.
Claims 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6334981 to Wieres in view of US Patent 7736717 to Muller as applied to claim 20 above and further in view of US Patent 6040064 to Bruck.
As to claim 23, Wieres discloses said insulating layer can be of many types of insulation but does not expressly disclose further comprises spacers, said insulating layer being formed by a plurality of thin metallic foils being spaced apart from each other at least in sections by said spacers.
Bruck discloses an insulating layer (23) being formed by a plurality of thin metallic foils (Col 6, line 10-17) being spaced apart from each other at least in sections by said spacers (5).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wieres to include further comprises spacers, said insulating layer being formed by a plurality of thin metallic foils being spaced apart from each other at least in sections by said spacers using the teachings of Bruck as this would have been a reasonable means to provide the desired insulation with predictable results while allowing for ease of construction and low cost of materials in a known manner.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746