DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahaffey et al. (US 2010/0090531 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US 2013/0273778 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Mahaffey discloses, in figure 4, a power supply unit (Fig. 1(a); power supply system 100) of a telecom power system (Par 0038), comprising: a power supply circuit (power circuit of Fig. 4) (Par 0049) comprising a first port (output port of 88) and a second port (output port of 90) (Par 0049), wherein the first port (output port of 88) is configured to provide a first voltage (19.5 VDC) and comprises a first output terminal (92) and a first ground terminal (Par 0050; ground contact (not shown)), the second port (output port of 90) is configured to provide a second voltage (16 VDC) and comprises a second output terminal (94) and a second ground terminal (Par 0050; ground contact (not shown)), the second voltage (16 VDC) is lower than the first voltage (19.5 VDC) (Par 0049), and the second ground terminal is capable to be connected or keep isolated from the first ground terminal (Par 0050; ground contact (not shown) of output of first terminal 92 is connected and share a common ground contact as the output of second terminal 94); and a power supply connector (Fig. 6b; 299) configured as an output connector (299) of the power supply unit (Par 0056), comprising: a first contact area (292), a second contact area (295); and a third contact area (294), wherein the first contact area (292), the second contact area (295) and the third contact (294) area are arranged sequentially (292, 295, 294 contacts are arranged sequentially order in output connector 299; see Fig. 6b).
Mahaffey does not disclose a first contact area, comprising a plurality of first pins electrically connected to the first ground terminal; a second contact area, comprising a plurality of second pins electrically connected to the first output terminal; and a third contact area, comprising a plurality of third pins, and the power supply connector has a distance between the second contact area and the third contact area.
However, Jiang discloses, in figure 1, a first contact area (22), comprising a plurality of first pins electrically connected to the first ground terminal (Par 0011-0013; “The terminals of the second signal terminal set 22 are also either positive or negative terminals, and each terminal of the set has a contact section 221 and a soldering section 222”…“the first and second signal terminal sets 21 and 22 have 7 terminals”); a second contact area (23), comprising a plurality of second pins (Par 0013; “The power terminal set 23 has 15 terminals”) electrically connected to the first output terminal (Par 0011; “Each terminal of the power terminal set 23 has a contact section 231 and a soldering section 232. The contact sections 231 are configured in the grooves 12 of the insulating base 1. The soldering sections 232 are extended outside of the insulating base 1.”); and a third contact area (21), comprising a plurality of third pins (Par 0011-0013), and the power supply connector (1) has a distance between the second contact area (23) and the third contact area (21) (Par 0011-0013; See Fig. 1 of the distance gap between power terminal set 23 and signal terminal set 21).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahaffey ‘s output connector by including a first contact area, comprising a plurality of first pins electrically connected to the first ground terminal; a second contact area, comprising a plurality of second pins electrically connected to the first output terminal; and a third contact area, comprising a plurality of third pins, and the power supply connector has a distance between the second contact area and the third contact area as taught by Jiang in order to improve and higher transmission speed and reduce cross interference between adjacent terminals (Jiang; Par 0004).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahaffey et al. (US 2010/0090531 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US 2013/0273778 A1) in further view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0155400 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Mahaffey and Jiang disclose the power supply unit according to claim 1. Mahaffey further discloses, in figure 4, wherein the first ground terminal and the second ground terminal join as an output ground node (Par 0050; ground contact (not shown) of output of first terminal 92 and second terminal 94 is connected and share a common ground contact as an output ground node), but does not disclose a floating chassis ground earth system.
However, Wang discloses, in figure 2, a floating chassis ground earth system (146) (Par 0056-0058).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahaffey ‘s output connector by including a floating chassis ground earth system as taught by Wang in order to determine the presence of improper voltage by the protection controller and to protect the high-voltage component from excessive voltages during the recharging sessions (Wang; Par 0010, 0044).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahaffey et al. (US 2010/0090531 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (US 2013/0273778 A1) in further view of Li et al. (US 2019/0149030 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Mahaffey and Jiang disclose the power supply unit according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first port is isolated from the second port through at least one capacitor.
However, Li discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first port (input of 10) is isolated from the second port (input of 20) through at least one capacitor (Fig. 3; C1) (Par 0029; “the isolated circuit 25 comprises a first capacitor C1 and a second capacitor C2. The first capacitor C1 comprises a first terminal 251 and a second terminal 253, wherein the first terminal 251 of the first capacitor C1 is coupled to the first input terminal of the isolated conversion circuit 23 and the output terminal of the first inverter circuit 21”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahaffey ‘s power supply system by including wherein the first port is isolated from the second port through at least one capacitor as taught by Li in order to reduce the cost and the volume of the electrical system (Li; Par 0028).
In regards to claim 4, Mahaffey, Jiang and Li disclose the power supply unit according to claim 3. Li further discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first output terminal (output terminal of P1 Vdc) is isolated from the second ground terminal (GND2) through a first capacitor (Fig. 3; C1) (Par 0025, 0029; output terminal of P1 is isolated from GND2 via capacitor C1), and the first ground terminal (GND1) is isolated from the second ground terminal (GND2) through a second capacitor (C2) (Par 0029; “the isolated circuit 25 is configured to isolate the first reference ground GND1 from the second reference ground GND2” thus the first reference ground GND1 is isolated from the second reference ground GND2 via second capacitor C2 of isolated circuit 25).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mahaffey ‘s power supply system by including wherein the first output terminal is isolated from the second ground terminal through a first capacitor, and the first ground terminal is isolated from the second ground terminal through a second capacitor as taught by Li in order to reduce the cost and the volume of the electrical system (Li; Par 0028).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 6,220,872 B1); discloses a modular power supply, having a standard structure to engage with a variety of sockets, includes a casing, a circuit board and a plural number of sockets. The casing has an upper case engageable with a lower case to house the circuit board in between. The circuit board has circuits to convert alternate current into direct current and a connector room at one end thereof for engaging with a socket. In the connector room, there are provided with a pair of spaced terminal seats which has a standard interval in between, and a ground seat. The sockets can include a two-port socket, a three-port socket and a coaxial socket. Each socket has two terminals with the standard interval for engaging with the terminal seats. The three-port socket further has a ground terminal which is engageable with the ground seat.
Luo et al. (US 2014/0346876 A1); discloses the disclosure provides a power supply circuit including an external power source, an ID pin provided in a universal serial bus (USB) port on a printed circuit board (PCB), and an internal power and signal management subsystem. The external power source is configured to power the internal power and signal management subsystem via the ID pin.
Aekins et al. (US 2007/0293094 A1); discloses a multiport connector assembly, used in telecommunication systems, that is designed to reduce electrical port to port crosstalk noise. The assembly is adapted to reduce noise from adjacent ports by placing balancing isolators and capacitor radiators in noise reducing regions of a printed circuit board. The signals are radiated in properly selected areas to rebalance the noise generated from adjacent transmission ports. By rebalancing noise inherently coupled by adjacency of transmitters, the port to port near-end crosstalk and far-end crosstalk noise is substantially reduced.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836