DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the application on 05/29/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanamori et al, US PG-Publication (US 2019/0366872 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kanamori et al discloses a vehicle power supply control device (10-2) that controls power supply (23-1,23-n) to an in-vehicle device (24-1,24-n) (see Fig 3-9, par. [0073]-[0083], [0141],[0145],[0220]), comprising:
a switch (21) configured to turn on and off power supply (23-1,23-n) to the in-vehicle device (24-1,24-n) (see Figs 3-9 and par. [0154],[0227],[0288] disclosing power disconnection); and
a control unit (26) configured to acquire new device information pertaining to a new in-vehicle device that is newly connected (see new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]), from the new in-vehicle device, and to perform opening and closing control on the switch in accordance with the acquired new device information (see new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]),
in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)).
Regarding claim 2, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (26) acquires the new device information when power (23-1,23-n) is first supplied to the new in-vehicle device (see Figs 3-9 and new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]).
Regarding claim 3, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (26) performs the opening and closing control in accordance with basic information stored in advance in a storage unit (see Figs 1-3 and par. [0136]-[0139]), and when the new device information is acquired from the new in-vehicle device, the control unit (26) changes the basic information in accordance with the acquired new device information (see Figs 3-9 and new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]).
Regarding claim 4, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an opening and closing timing of a switch of the new in-vehicle device that turns on and off connection to the power supply control device (see new device control in par. [0083],[0124],[0141],[0143], [0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243], [0288]-[0289], [0299],[0302]).
Regarding claim 5, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to a current consumption value or a dark current value of the new in-vehicle device (see current consumption information and dark current in par. [0006], [0094],[0243],[0457],[0463],[0481],[0730]).
Regarding claim 6, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 1, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an activation time or a deactivation time of the new in-vehicle device (see time consideration in Figs 3-9 and par. [0139],[0160],[0178],[0184],[0289]).
Regarding claim 7, Kanamori et al discloses a computer program (see Figs 3-9 and par. [0243],[0451]) that enables a computer for a vehicle power supply control device (10-2) that controls power supply (23-1,23-n) to an in-vehicle device (24-1,24-n) (see Fig 3-9, par. [0073]-[0083], [0141],[0145],[0220]), to perform processing to:
acquire new device information pertaining to a new in-vehicle device that is newly connected, from the new in-vehicle device (see new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]); and
perform opening and closing control (26) on a switch (21) to turn on and off power supply (23-1,23-n) to the new in-vehicle device in accordance with the acquired new device information (see new device control in par. [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]).
Regarding claim 8, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 2, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an opening and closing timing of a switch (22,44) of the new in-vehicle device that turns on and off connection to the power supply control device (see new device control in par. [0123]-[0125], [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]).
Regarding claim 9, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 3, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an opening and closing timing of a switch (22,44) of the new in-vehicle device that turns on and off connection to the power supply control device (see new device control in par. [0123]-[0125], [0141],[0220],[0230],[0236]-[0238],[0240],[0243],[0302]).
Regarding claim 10, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 2, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to a current consumption value or a dark current value of the new in-vehicle device (see current consumption information and dark current in par. [0006], [0094],[0243],[0457],[0463],[0481],[0730])
Regarding claim 11, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 3, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to a current consumption value or a dark current value of the new in-vehicle device (see current consumption information and dark current in par. [0006], [0094],[0243],[0457],[0463],[0481],[0730]).
Regarding claim 12, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 2, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an activation time or a deactivation time of the new in-vehicle device (see time consideration in Figs 3-9 and par. [0139],[0160],[0178],[0184],[0289]).
Regarding claim 13, Kanamori et al discloses the power supply control device according to claim 3, wherein the new device information contains information pertaining to an activation time or a deactivation time of the new in-vehicle device (see time consideration in Figs 3-9 and par. [0139],[0160],[0178],[0184],[0289]).
Examiner Note
5. The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836