DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 5/29/2025 has been received and considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 4, the last two lines of the claim, --in--- should be inserted between “which is not” and “front of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: drive arrangement in claim 7, corresponding in structure to a spindle 48, spindle nut 50, magnetic coupling 44, and external drive per paragraph 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Usry (U.S. 3,700,209).
Usry discloses a valve (fig. 5) for regulating a fluid flow between a first (58) and a second port (56) of a valve housing, said valve comprising a piston (54, 62) movably arranged within a valve cylinder (44), the piston comprising a front surface (the surface for 54 near the point where the lead line is for 74 extending upward to the shoulder area that tapers inward at a 90 degree angle near numeral 72 in fig. 5, forming the cone shaped front surface), the piston being axially movable within the valve cylinder at least between an opened position in which said fluid can flow between said first and second ports and a closed position in which the front surface of the piston blocks a flow of the fluid (as is known in the art), a balance chamber (50) being arranged behind the piston, opposite to the front surface, and wherein the front surface of the piston comprises at least a first opening (67) with a first channel (the channel for the opening of 67 leading to 72) connected to the balance chamber and a second opening (69) with a second channel (the channel for the opening 69 leading to 72) connected to the balance chamber, each of said first and second opening being arranged at a distance from a center of the front surface of the piston, wherein the first opening is arranged at a first radial distance from the center of the front surface of the piston (fig. 5), and the second opening is arranged at a second radial distance from the center of the front surface of the piston (fig. 5), wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (notice that, from the radial center, which is an axis extending vertically in fig. 5, the radial distance of the first opening (67) is greater than the radial distance of the second opening (69) due to the conical shape).
Regarding claim 3, Usry further discloses wherein the piston has a radial extension (such as at the very tip near 74) measured at the front surface, wherein each of the first radial distance and the second radial distance are at least 40% of the radial extension (as the radial distances for the first and second openings are larger than the radial extension, they are at least 40% of the radial extension).
Regarding claim 4, Usry further discloses wherein the valve cylinder comprises one or more window openings (such as 68), wherein one of the first and second openings is arranged at a first position within the front surface of the piston which is in front of one of the window openings (69 is closer to the tip 74 which is in the front of 68), and wherein the other one of the first and second openings is arranged at a second position within the front surface of the piston which is not front of one of the window openings (67 is located more toward the rear and thus not in front of 68).
Regarding claim 5, Usry further discloses wherein the first and second openings are arranged at positions within the front surface of the piston defining a first radius from the center of the front surface of the piston to the first opening and a second radius from the center of the front surface of the piston to the second opening (fig. 5), wherein an angle formed between the first and second radii is greater than 20 degrees and less than 160 degrees (see the conical surface in fig. 5 along which 67 and 69 are located, the angle being approximately 70 degrees +/- 10 degrees which is well within the range of greater than 20 degrees and less than 160 degrees).
Regarding claim 6, Usry further discloses wherein the piston comprises a hollow space (72), and the channels connect the first and second opening to the hollow space.
Regarding claim 7, Usry further discloses wherein a drive arrangement (shaft 60) is provided to control an axial position of the piston.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usry.
Usry discloses the claimed invention but does not appear to disclose the first distance at least 3% greater than the second distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Usry such that the first distance at least 3% greater than the second distance (for instance, by changing the degree of angle for the conical head portion), since it has been held that a change of size/shape of a component generally involves only routine level of skill in the art. MPEP2144.04. The motivation for doing so would be to have a desired shape and size for the conical valve head to provide flow characteristics desired by a user for a particular application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Banks (U.S. 3,318,577) discloses a balanced valve.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753