DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office Action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I: Figure 4 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-8 and 18 are drawn to non-elected Species II and are therefore withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 15 recites a “computer-readable storage medium”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer-readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of “computer-readable storage medium”, as variations of the term “computer-readable storage medium“ are not necessarily considered to limit a medium claim to non-transitory embodiments because many disclosures conflate storage media and signals, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to “computer-readable storage media”, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such computer-readable storage media that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § I01 by rewriting the claim to recite "non-transitory computer-readable storage medium" to the claim. Cf. Animals -Patentability, 1 077 0ff. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation "non-human" to a claim covering a multi-cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101). Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-13, 15-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0375253 A1 to Baek et al. (hereinafter "Baek") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0065554 A1 to Nilsson et al. (hereinafter "Nilsson"), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0110921 A1 to Mather et al. (hereinafter "Mather").
Regarding Claims 1, 15, and 16, Baek teaches a method, a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, and a computing device (Claims 1, 11; Figs. 1-6B; Para. 39-82 of Baek; electronic device 600 may include the memory 630, and the memory 630 may include a general region for storing a user application or the like, or a security region for storing security-sensitive information, such as information for fingerprint sensing) comprising: a fingerprint sensor; one or more processors; a first memory configured to store fingerprint information (Figs. 6A-11; Para. 77-122 of Baek; at least one sensor 650 may include the biosensor (e.g., fingerprint sensor) 651 for detecting the user's fingerprint through the display module 640 or the touch sensor 652 for detecting a user's touch… first processor 610 may perform the fingerprint authentication function through comparison of the acquired user's fingerprint with the fingerprint information stored in the memory 630); and a second memory that stores instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: authenticate a user of the computing device recognition (Figs. 6A-11; Para. 77-122 of Baek; electronic device 600 may include the memory 630, and the memory 630 may include a general region for storing a user application or the like, or a security region for storing security-sensitive information, such as information for fingerprint sensing… first processor 610 may perform the fingerprint authentication function through comparison of the acquired user's fingerprint with the fingerprint information stored in the memory 630); determine whether a touch input was detected by the fingerprint sensor (Figs. 6A-11; Para. 77-122 of Baek; if the user's touch input is detected, the electronic device 600 may perform filtering to determine whether the user's touch input is a user's unintended touch input (false touch). If it is determined that the user's touch input is a normal touch input, the electronic device 600 may activate the HBM by controlling the brightness of the display or the power. The electronic device 600 may acquire the user's fingerprint corresponding to the user's touch input in the HBM, and it may perform a user authentication function based on the acquired fingerprint… electronic device may compare the captured user's fingerprint information with fingerprint information stored in the memory, and it may notify the user of the result of the comparison. For example, if the user's fingerprint information coincides with the stored fingerprint information, the electronic device, at operation 827, may display a configured user interface (UI). If the user's fingerprint information does not coincide with the stored fingerprint information, the electronic device may provide an authentication error message to the user); responsive to determining that the touch input was detected, determine whether fingerprint information captured by the fingerprint sensor while the fingerprint sensor detected the touch input corresponds to any enrolled fingerprint from a set of enrolled fingerprints stored in the first memory of the computing device (Figs. 6A-11; Para. 77-122 of Baek; if the user's touch input is detected, the electronic device 600 may perform filtering to determine whether the user's touch input is a user's unintended touch input (false touch). If it is determined that the user's touch input is a normal touch input, the electronic device 600 may activate the HBM by controlling the brightness of the display or the power. The electronic device 600 may acquire the user's fingerprint corresponding to the user's touch input in the HBM, and it may perform a user authentication function based on the acquired fingerprint… electronic device may compare the captured user's fingerprint information with fingerprint information stored in the memory, and it may notify the user of the result of the comparison).
Baek does not explicitly disclose determining whether a touch input was detected by the fingerprint sensor within a predetermined period of time of the computing device authenticating the user; responsive to determining that the fingerprint information does not correspond to any enrolled fingerprint from the set of enrolled fingerprints, store in the first memory of the computing device the fingerprint information as an enrolled non-fingerprint.
However, Nilsson teaches determining whether a touch input was detected by a fingerprint sensor within a predetermined period of time of a computing device authenticating a user (Figs. 4-5; Para. 41-54 of Nilsson; user will not instantly remove her finger from the sensor but will remain in contact with the sensor 102 for a shorter (or longer) time period after the phone 100 has been unlocked; even if the user would remove her finger, there will still be a period of time when further fingerprint data can be captured. Thus, after the initial fingerprint data has been captured that resulted in the issued notification in the form of the phone 100 being unlocked, the sensor 102 will continue to capture fingerprint data in step S103, possibly up until the moment where the fingerprint sensor 102 no longer detects a finger contacting the fingerprint sensor).
Therefore, at the time when the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include determining whether a touch input was detected by the fingerprint sensor within a predetermined period of time of the computing device authenticating the user using the teachings of Nilsson in order to modify the device taught by Baek. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide an improved method of capturing fingerprint data of a user (Para. 2-5 of Nilsson).
The combination of Baek and Nilsson does not explicitly disclose responsive to determining that the fingerprint information does not correspond to any enrolled fingerprint from the set of enrolled fingerprints, store in the first memory of the computing device the fingerprint information as an enrolled non-fingerprint.
However, Mather teaches responsive to determining that fingerprint information does not correspond to any enrolled fingerprint from a set of enrolled fingerprints, storing in a first memory of a computing device the fingerprint information as an enrolled non-fingerprint (Fig. 3; Para. 77-90, 103-144 of Mather; finger detection algorithm can include the application of segmentation algorithms to distinguish the fingers from the background. This could be performed, for example, by dividing the image into homogeneous regions and then examining each region and classify it as finger or non-finger region… in the case of detecting all four fingers, the configured processor can compute a score to determine which set of four detections most likely represents a hand... If this score is poor (e.g., does not meet a prescribed threshold), or fingers are missing, the configured processor can apply further detections techniques... the configured processor can estimate missing finger locations according to the users known hand metrics, for instance, as determined from previous enrollment or authentication captures… given a correct model fit, confirmed by the user during system enrolment, the model is adjusted to better describe that individuals hand and finger shape… instead of limiting the matching process (e.g., step 330) to the comparison of the fingertip (e.g., distal phalange) regions, the comparison could include other parts of the hand in addition to the fingerprints or instead of the fingerprints. For example the region of interest could include any parts of the hand with detectable patterning, or the distal and intermediate phalanges, or the metacarpals).
Therefore, at the time when the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include responsive to determining that the fingerprint information does not correspond to any enrolled fingerprint from the set of enrolled fingerprints, store in the first memory of the computing device the fingerprint information as an enrolled non-fingerprint using the teachings of Mather in order to modify the device taught by the combination of Baek and Nilsson. The motivation to combine these analogous arts would have been to provide systems and methods for capturing and characterizing biometric features using images of fingers captured by an embedded camera of a mobile device such as a smartphone (Para. 2-12 of Mather).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination of Baek, Nilsson, and Mather teaches that the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: output, for display by a presence-sensitive display, a graphical user interface including an indication of a suggested hand portion for enrollment, wherein the one or more processors store the fingerprint information as the enrolled non-fingerprint at least partially based on the suggested hand portion being a non-fingerprint portion (Fig. 3; Para. 106-144 of Mather; For maximal finger print extraction quality a user can be prompted to place their hand and fingers at an optimal location relative to the position of both the illuminating light source and camera, for example, providing a visual guide or outline of the optimal finger-placement on the display of the device… separating the area of the hand that doesn't contain the fingertips which consists of the palm and lower phalanges (i.e, the proximal and intermediate)… during the enrollment procedure, the configured processor displaying an on screen finger guide can prompt the user to position one finger on screen at a time and the segmentation algorithm can be used to identify the distal phalange and fingerprint region of the fingers individually).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, the combination of Baek, Nilsson, and Mather teaches that the fingerprint sensor is located on a side portion or a rear portion of a housing of the computing device, wherein the side portion is disposed beside a front portion of the housing, wherein the rear portion is disposed opposite a front portion of the housing, and wherein the front portion of the housing includes a presence-sensitive display (Figs. 4-5; Para. 63-71 of Baek; In the electronic device according to various embodiments, the fingerprint sensor 580 may be deployed on the other side (e.g., rear side) of the display panel 540).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Baek, Nilsson, and Mather teaches that the fingerprint sensor is a through-display fingerprint sensor (Fig. 11-13; Para. 117-127 of Baek; electronic device may include a fingerprint sensor 1320 corresponding to a part of a display 1310, and it may detect user's touch input 1305 based on the fingerprint sensor).
Regarding Claims 12 and 21, the combination of Baek, Nilsson, and Mather teaches that the one or more processors authenticate the user of the computing device by using at least one of a password, an identifying number, fingerprint recognition, or facial recognition (Fig. 11; Para. 117-122 of Baek; first processor 610 may perform the fingerprint authentication function through comparison of the acquired user's fingerprint with the fingerprint information stored in the memory 630).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Baek, Nilsson, and Mather teaches that the touch input is by a proximal phalanx or an intermediate phalanx of a finger (Fig. 3; Para. 120-144 of Mather; region of interest could include any parts of the hand with detectable patterning, or the distal and intermediate phalanges, or the metacarpals).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references, either singularly or in combination, teach or fairly suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the touch input is a first touch input, wherein the fingerprint information is a first fingerprint information, and wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the fingerprint sensor of the computing device, a second touch input; while detecting the second touch input, obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, second fingerprint information; determining, by the computing device, whether the second fingerprint information corresponds to any enrolled fingerprint from the set of enrolled fingerprints; and responsive to determining that the second fingerprint information corresponds to any enrolled fingerprint from the set of enrolled fingerprints, discarding, by the computing device, the second fingerprint information.
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK SARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621