DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of these claims recite “is less than or 15 equal to”. The “15” appearing in each of these claims appear to be an accidental typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Moore (US 1,254,056 A).
Moore teaches (see fig. 1, page 1, lines 25-77) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting (adding) a solution containing metal (“electrolyte will preferably be copper sulfate solution”) existing in an ionic state into a container (1) where electrode plates (3 and 4) are disposed;
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode (“[d]esiring to secure the metal in a loose, powdery condition”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode by vibrating the cathode (“the tappet will spring downward under its own resilience to hit the cathode and remove the powder”).
Moore fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood that there would have been an inherently present delay between adding the electrolyte solution to the beaker and the onset of current in the process of Moore because for the current to be applied without a waiting step would have required applying the current to the electrodes in the dry state before the electrical circuit was completed by the liquid level reaching the bottom portions of the electrodes.
Alternatively, the claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Note that the claim language does not require the waiting step to have a duration effective to cause the electrolyte to be still/stationary as discussed in the specification.
Regarding claim 10, Moore teaches continuing deposition and removal after the powdery deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Cook (US 4,517,064 A).
(This rejection ground is made for the purpose of showing that the instant claims appear to be broader than those claims that had been previously indicated as allowable by other offices in that the instant claims do not require that the electrolyte become “still” or “stationary” prior to the passing a current step.)
Cook teaches (see figs. 1-7, col. 3, lines 27-40, col. 4, lines 8-23 and 34-40) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting a solution containing metal existing in an ionic state into a container (11) where electrodes (2 and 4) are disposed (“catholyte solution is fed … down past cathode 2”);
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode ( “producing a particulate crystalline metal product having limited adherence to the surface of a cathode”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode (“[m]esh member 16 is used to agitate the crystalline growths on cathode 2 so as to break off at least part of the growth causing it to fall to the bottom of the catholyte tank assembly (11)”).
Cook fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood that there would have been an inherently present delay between adding the electrolyte solution to the beaker and the onset of current in the process of Moore because for the current to be applied without a waiting step would have required applying the current to the electrodes in the dry state before the electrical circuit was completed by the liquid level reaching the bottom portions of the electrodes.
Alternatively, the claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Cook teaches (see col. 6, lines 30-36) continuing deposition and removal after the metal deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 1,254,056 A) in view of Clarke et al (US 2016/0294024 A1).
Moore teaches (see fig. 1, page 1, lines 25-77) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting (adding) a solution containing metal (“electrolyte will preferably be copper sulfate solution”) existing in an ionic state into a container (1) where electrode plates (3 and 4) are disposed;
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode (“[d]esiring to secure the metal in a loose, powdery condition”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode (“the tappet will spring downward under its own resilience to hit the cathode and remove the powder”).
Moore fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
The claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Moore teach removing the powdery deposit from the cathode by applying vibrations, thus failing to teach using bubbles to remove the powdery deposit.
Clarke et al teach (see abstract, fig. 1C, paragraphs [0035] and [0049]) that weakly-associated powdery metal deposited onto a cathode may be removed and recovered by various mechanisms known in the art, including by applying bubbles to the powdery deposit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied bubbles to the cathode of Moore for detaching the powdery deposit as suggested by Clarke et al because bubbles were known to be suitable for detaching a powdery metal deposit from the surface of the cathode. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 9, Moore teaches continuing deposition and removal after the powdery deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 1,254,056 A) in view of Slepian (US 1,440,502 A).
Moore teaches (see fig. 1, page 1, lines 25-77) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting (adding) a solution containing metal (“electrolyte will preferably be copper sulfate solution”) existing in an ionic state into a container (1) where electrode plates (3 and 4) are disposed;
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode (“[d]esiring to secure the metal in a loose, powdery condition”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode (“the tappet will spring downward under its own resilience to hit the cathode and remove the powder”).
Moore fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
The claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Moore teach removing the powdery deposit from the cathode by applying vibrations, thus failing to teach using polarity reversal of the electrodes to remove the powdery deposit.
Slepian teaches (see abstract, fig. 1, page 1, lines 27-37 and 88-108) that powdery metal electrodeposited onto an electrode plate may be removed and recovered by periodic reversal of the current (i.e. reversing the polarity as claimed by making the cathode/anode to be the anode/cathode in the subsequent step).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied current reversal to the electrodes of Moore for detaching the powdery deposit as suggested by Slepian because the current reversal was known to be suitable for detaching a powdery metal deposit from the surface of the electrode. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 11, Moore teaches continuing deposition and removal after the powdery deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook (US 4,517,064 A) in view of Clarke et al (US 2016/0294024 A1).
Cook teaches (see figs. 1-7, col. 3, lines 27-40, col. 4, lines 8-23 and 34-40) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting a solution containing metal existing in an ionic state into a container (11) where electrodes (2 and 4) are disposed (“catholyte solution is fed … down past cathode 2”);
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode ( “producing a particulate crystalline metal product having limited adherence to the surface of a cathode”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode (“[m]esh member 16 is used to agitate the crystalline growths on cathode 2 so as to break off at least part of the growth causing it to fall to the bottom of the catholyte tank assembly (11)”).
Cook fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
The claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Cook teach removing the particulate deposit from the cathode by applying vibrations, thus failing to teach using bubbles to remove the powdery deposit.
Clarke et al teach (see abstract, fig. 1C, paragraphs [0035] and [0049]) that weakly-associated powdery metal deposited onto a cathode may be removed and recovered by various mechanisms known in the art, including by applying bubbles to the powdery deposit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied bubbles to the cathode of Cook for detaching the not well adhered metal deposit as suggested by Clarke et al because bubbles were known to be suitable for detaching a not well adhered metal deposit from the surface of the cathode. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 9, Cook teaches (see col. 6, lines 30-36) continuing deposition and removal after the metal deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 1,254,056 A) in view of Slepian (US 1,440,502 A).
Cook teaches (see figs. 1-7, col. 3, lines 27-40, col. 4, lines 8-23 and 34-40) a metal recovery process comprising:
injecting a solution containing metal existing in an ionic state into a container (11) where electrodes (2 and 4) are disposed (“catholyte solution is fed … down past cathode 2”);
after the injecting step, passing a current between the electrode plates to form a sponge-like porous metal body on the cathode ( “producing a particulate crystalline metal product having limited adherence to the surface of a cathode”); and,
separating the sponge-like porous metal body from the cathode (“[m]esh member 16 is used to agitate the crystalline growths on cathode 2 so as to break off at least part of the growth causing it to fall to the bottom of the catholyte tank assembly (11)”).
Cook fails to expressly disclose a step of waiting for a certain time in between the injecting and passing steps.
The claim includes any delay in time, even as small as one picosecond. Applicant has not demonstrated that the waiting step of the claimed duration (any non-zero amount) produces a result different from a process wherein the current was started immediately. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Cook teach removing the powdery deposit from the cathode by applying vibrations, thus failing to teach using polarity reversal to remove the powdery deposit.
Slepian teaches (see abstract, fig. 1, page 1, lines 27-37 and 88-108) that powdery metal electrodeposited onto an electrode plate may be removed and recovered by periodic reversal of the current (i.e. reversing the polarity as claimed by making the cathode/anode to be the anode/cathode in the subsequent step).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied current reversal to the electrodes of Cook for detaching the powdery deposit as suggested by Slepian because the current reversal was known to be suitable for detaching a powdery metal deposit from the surface of the electrode. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 11, Cook teaches (see col. 6, lines 30-36) continuing deposition and removal after the metal deposit has been removed from the cathode electrode by the vibration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art failed to teach or suggest adding hydrogen peroxide to the solution, let alone measuring the concentration thereof and performing a step of replenishing the hydrogen peroxide.
Conclusion
/HARRY D WILKINS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794