DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the real end position or the position after the connection is rotated, see 112 2nd paragraph rejection, and the holding device, as claimed in claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 are drawn to a guide system or method for guiding a Bowden cable plug-in connection to an end position in a vehicle component. The claim requires that after making contact with the bearing rib, the connection is then guided along a bearing face of the bearing rib to a defined end position; and once the end position is reached, the Bowden cable plug-in connection is rotated as far as the end position in the vehicle component.
At the instant, it is unclear what this end position is and how the plug-in connection is positioned into that position.
First, none of the drawings appear to show the end position as claimed, since the specification does not define it.
Here is the invention:
The plug-in connector is moved in the R1 direction until it contacts the guide rib 12.
Then, the plug-in connector is moved in the R2 direction, which “differs” from the R1 direction, until it contacts the bearing rib 10.
After that, the plug-in connector will ride along the bearing face 14, until it arrives in the position shown in fig 1.
So that is clear. However, the claim then requires that fig 1 position is “an end position” and when is reached, then the connection is rotated as far as the end position in the vehicle component.
Then, if the connection is further moved, then the position in fig 1 is not an end position; it is like a “pre-end position” or the like, since the end position is at the end of rotation.
Furthermore, the connection is not rotated as far as the end position. The connection is actually rotated as far as contacting the stop face 15, where the bearing rib is located.
Finally, the holding structure is required in order to finally complete the guidance of the connector.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim 8 requires that the bearing face of the bearing rib is inclined and/or rounded parallel to the guide face. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite. As illustrated, the bearing face is perpendicular to the guide face.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, a broad interpretation will be given. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4, 5, 7-10, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by FR 3047266 to U Shin.
Regarding claim 4, U Shin discloses a guide system for guiding a Bowden cable plug- in connection (1) to an end position in a vehicle component (3) of a transportation vehicle.
The guide system comprises a bearing rib (33) having a bearing face oriented at least in some sections of the bearing face at an angle to a vertical axis; and a guide rib (wall) having a guide face (surface of the wall) oriented perpendicularly or substantially perpendicularly to the bearing face of the bearing rib.
As to claim 5, U Shein discloses that the bearing rib and the guide rib are configured as two parts.
As to claims 7 and 18, U Shein discloses that the bearing face of the bearing rib is configured in a planar and/or curved manner, and/or wherein the guide face of the guide rib is configured in a planar manner.
As to claims 8 and 19, U Shein discloses that the guide system comprises a holding device (34, 44) configured such that the Bowden cable plug-in connection is rotatably fastened at an end position.
As to claims 9 and 20, U Shein discloses that the bearing face of the bearing rib is inclined and/or rounded perpendicular to the guide face.
As to claim 10, U Shein discloses that a Bowden cable system (1) comprises the guide system of claim 4 and a Bowden cable plug-in connection (4). The Bowden cable plug-in connection is mountable in inside door actuator using the guide system. Wherein, one side of the Bowden cable plug-in connection rests positively against guide face of the guide rib of the guide system at an end position following mounting.
As to claim 15, U Shein discloses that the Bowden cable plug-in connection is latched in at the end position to the transportation vehicle component in an installation device of an inside door actuator of a door of the transportation vehicle.
Claim(s) 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by FR 2964403 to Teixeira.
Regarding claim 4, Teixeira discloses a guide system for guiding a Bowden cable plug- in connection (4) to an end position in a vehicle component (6) of a transportation vehicle.
The guide system comprises a bearing rib having a bearing face (7) oriented at least in some sections of the bearing face at an angle to a vertical axis; and a guide rib (8) having a guide face oriented perpendicularly or substantially perpendicularly to the bearing face of the bearing rib.
As to claim 5, Teixeira discloses that the bearing rib and the guide rib are configured as two parts.
As to claims 6, 16 and 17, Teixeira discloses that the bearing rib and the guide rib are spaced apart from one another by a defined spacing in the normal direction of the guide face of the guide rib.
As to claims 7 and 18, Teixeira discloses that the bearing face of the bearing rib is configured in a planar and/or curved manner, and/or wherein the guide face of the guide rib is configured in a planar manner.
As to claims 8 and 19, Teixeira discloses that the guide system comprises a holding device configured such that the Bowden cable plug-in connection is rotatably fastened at an end position.
As to claims 9 and 20, Teixeira discloses that the bearing face of the bearing rib is inclined and/or rounded perpendicular to the guide face.
As to claim 10, Teixeira discloses that a Bowden cable system (3) comprises the guide system of claim 4 and a Bowden cable plug-in connection (4). The Bowden cable plug-in connection is mountable in inside door actuator using the guide system. Wherein, one side of the Bowden cable plug-in connection rests positively against guide face of the guide rib of the guide system at an end position following mounting.
As to claim 15, Teixeira discloses that the Bowden cable plug-in connection is latched in at the end position to the transportation vehicle component in an installation device of an inside door actuator of a door of the transportation vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1, as interpreted above, would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
At the instant, the prior art fails to disclose the movement as claimed and interpreted.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
September 20, 2026