Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the phrase “especially” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 4, at line 2, recites the limitation “the control handle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret this limitation as though it recites, “a control handle”.
Claim 7, at line 5, recites “the transmitted messages”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret this limitation as though it recites, “so that messages transmitted”.
Claim 7, at line 6, recites “the bits associated”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret this limitation as though it recites, “are associated with bits associated with the signals”.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cherepinsky, U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0168851.
Per Claim 1, Cherepinsky discloses a human-machine interface (Paragraph 22; Input Signal Management (ISM) 43), especially for a vehicle or for a device (aircraft 20), comprising at least one gripping element provided with at least one signal generation means (Paragraph 22; Collective controller/lever 46 and cyclic controller 50 of a helicopter represent physical components used by a pilot to control the helicopter. Manipulation of each of these components generates a signal within the helicopter.), a controller (Paragraph 24; main roto servo system 78), and a base ensuring the attachment and mobility of the gripping element as well as the passage of data connections (Paragraph 22, Fig. 2A; Lines 48, 52, and 56 connect the components of ISM 43 with the FCC 38.), wherein the gripping element integrates at least two data concentrators (Paragraph 21, Fig. 2A; Primary Flight control System (PFCS) 42 and Automatic Flight Augmentation and Cuing System (FACS) 44), each data concentrator being connected as an input in parallel to at least one signal generation means (Fig. 2A; Each data concentrator 42 and 44 is connected to each of the input generation components 46, 50, and 54 via lines 48, 52, and 56) and connected as an output to the controller through the base via at least one data bus (Paragraph 24, Fig. 2A; Each of PFCS 42 and FACS 44 are connected to roto servo system 78 via bus/lines 76.).
Per Claim 3, Cherepinsky discloses the human-machine interface according to claim 1, including at least one other computer or control means, each data bus being connected, in addition to the controller, to said at least one other computer or control means (Paragraph 25, Fig. 2A; tail roto servo system 84).
Per Claim 9, Cherepinsky discloses an aircraft (VTOL rotary-wing aircraft 20) comprising an interface according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the controller is a flight controller (Paragraph 20; “generate servo commands to control the aircraft 20”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherepinsky, U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0168851 in view of Waltner et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0325830.
Per Claim 2 Cherepinsky does not specifically teach wherein a signal generation means is selected from a tilt sensor of the gripping element relative to a rest position, a button, a multidirectional button, a force sensor, and a gripping sensor.
However, Waltner, of a common field of endeavor and assignee, teaches mode selection buttons 88 that can be integrated on the collective controller 18 or the cyclic controller 28, for defining an operational mode within the aircraft.
- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the input generation means (buttons) of Waltner onto the cyclic or collective controller of Cherepinsky because those respective controllers are well-known in the aviation arts to comprise buttons and the integration thereon consolidates the need for additional space within a cockpit to house said buttons. This combination also provides the buttons more conveniently located near the pilots hands which are located near/on the controllers already.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Per claim 4, no combination of Cherepinsky and the prior art teaches the means for checking a control handle, each being connected as an output to the controller, by an alternative data bus, when considered in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 3.
Per claims 5 and 6, no combination of Cherepinsky and the prior art teaches the communication means connected to the at least one signal generation means in parallel with the connection to the data concentrators, and each communication means being connected to the controller by a discrete connection (or communication bus), when considered in combination with the limitations of claim 1.
Per claim 7, no combination of Cherepinsky and the prior art teaches all of the limitations outlined within the claim when considered in combination with the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 8 inherits the allowable subject matter of claim 8.
- Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
/Brian T Misiura/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175