DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final rejection on the merits of this application. Claims 13-23 are currently pending, as discussed below.
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that the present application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/081159 filed on 11/08/2023 which claims foreign priority to patent application DE10 2023 100 792.0 filed on 01/13/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 05/30/2025, 06/20/2025 and 08/25/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller-Lerwe et al. (US 2020/0294325 A1 hereinafter Mueller-Lerwe).
Regarding Claim 13 (similarly claim 23), Mueller-Lerwe teaches An apparatus for obtaining a remote control function for a vehicle, wherein the remote control function is controlled through a communication connection between the vehicle and a device for controlling the remote control function (see at least Abstract), the apparatus comprising:
a controller (see at least Fig. 1 [0055]: autonomy unit controller 122), and
a memory storing software that configures the controller to (see at least Fig. 6 [0068]:memory 612 in which one or more sets of instructions such as software can be embedded.) :
determine when the communication connection is corrupted; (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0075-0091]: The autonomy unit controller determines whether the time period between the diagnostic signal and the return signal is greater than a latency threshold.)
interrupt the remote control function and communication between the device and the vehicle for controlling the remote control function in response to the determination that the communication connection is corrupted; (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0075-0091]: In response to the autonomy unit controller determining that the time period is greater than the latency threshold, the autonomy unit controller prevents the autonomy unit from causing movement of the vehicle during the remote motive controller session.)
detect when one or more continuation conditions for resuming the remote control function have been met; (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0075-0091]: The autonomy unit controller sends a notification to the mobile device to indicate to the user that the autonomy unit controller has detected an unacceptable amount of latency in communication. The autonomy unit controller determines if the acknowledgement input was received from the user to determine if corrective action taken by the user was successful in addressing the detected unacceptable amount of latency in communication between the mobile device and the vehicle.) and
resume the remote control function and communication between the device and the vehicle for controlling the remote control function. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0042, 0075-0091]: If the acknowledgement input was received from the user, the system determines if corrective action taken by the user was successful in addressing the detected unacceptable amount of latency in communication between the mobile device and the vehicle. If communication latency issue was resolved, movement of the vehicle via remote motive controlled is allowed.)
Regarding Claim 14, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the software further configures the controller to:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches determine that the communication connection is corrupted based on one or more of the following indicators: delays in receiving messages through the communication connection longer than a threshold period, a number/frequency of retransmissions of messages greater than a threshold number/frequency, corrupted messages received through the communication connection, and/or overloading the buffer for transmitting messages beyond a threshold level. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0075-0091]: The autonomy unit controller determines whether the time period between the diagnostic signal and the return signal is greater than a latency threshold. In some examples, if the unacceptable amount of latency communication delay between the vehicle and mobile devices persists after a predetermined number of attempts.)
Regarding Claim 15, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the software further configures the controller to:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches periodically receive or send messages in the course of communication between the device and the vehicle, wherein the messages contain data for controlling the remote control function and/or for determining the quality of the communication connection; (see at least [0039-0040]: The autonomy unit controller 122 of the illustrated examples initiates one or more timers and sends a series of pings to the mobile device via the communication module 118 to monitor for latency in communication with mobile device over a period of time while the autonomy unit 120 performs remote parking. Each of the pings sent by the communication module 118 includes a counter signal that facilitates identification of latency in communication between the mobile device and the vehicle 100.) and
stop the periodically receiving or sending of messages in response to determining that the communication connection is corrupted. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0075-0091]: In some examples, upon return to block 704 , the autonomy unit 120 waits a predetermined time (e.g., 1 to 5 seconds) to repeat the process in order to provide the user an opportunity to look for potential sources of non-remote motive control communication. In some examples, if the unacceptable amount of latency communication delay between the vehicle 100 and mobile device 204 persists after a predetermined number of attempts, the method 700 proceeds to block 722 and the current remote motive control session is aborted.)
Regarding Claim 17, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more continuation conditions for resuming the remote control function comprise:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches a first continuation condition relating to an interruption time period, starting when the remote control function and/or control communication were interrupted; and/or a second continuation condition relating to a maximum buffer capacity for sending control communication messages. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: the autonomy unit waits a predetermined time (e.g., 1 to 5 seconds) to repeat process in order to provide the user an opportunity to look for potential sources of non-remote motive control communication. If during a maneuver state (i.e., the pre-maneuver state) of the active remote motive control session the autonomy unit controller 122 determines the autonomy unit time period 406 is greater than the threshold 408 , the autonomy unit controller 122 sends a notification to the user of the mobile device 204 communicating that the vehicle is experiencing a processing delay. The user is then asked to stand-by while the autonomy unit 120 performs a self-check in attempt to correct the issue. The autonomy unit controller 122 will send a follow-up notification to the user of the mobile device 204 when the self-check is complete.)
Regarding Claim 18, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the software further configures the controller to:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches send a message to a user, through a user interface, indicating that the vehicle function has been interrupted in response to the determination that the communication connection is corrupted. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: The autonomy unit controller 122 sends a notification 504 to the mobile device 204 to indicate to the user 206 that the autonomy unit controller 122 has detected an unacceptable amount of latency in communication between the mobile device 204 and the vehicle 100. The autonomy unit controller 122 sends a notification (e.g., notification 504 of FIG. 5) to notify the user the remote motive control will remain paused for a predetermined amount of time in attempt to resolve the autonomy unit 120 processing delay.)
Regarding Claim 19, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the software further configures the controller to:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches bring the vehicle to a safe stop in response to the determination that the communication connection is corrupted. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: the autonomy unit controller determines whether the time period 308 between the diagnostic signal and the return signal is greater than a latency threshold. In response to the autonomy unit controller determining that the time period is greater than the latency threshold, the method proceeds to block at which the autonomy unit controller prevents the autonomy unit from causing movement of the vehicle during the remote motive control session.)
Regarding Claim 20, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches the remote control function comprises an automated parking maneuver for the vehicle, (see at least Fig. 2 [0039]: the autonomy unit controller initiates one or more timers and sends a series of pings to the mobile device via the communication module to monitor for latency in communication with mobile device over a period of time while the autonomy unit performs remote parking.)
the communication connection comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy communication connection, (see at least [0009]: the communication module is configured to wirelessly communicate via a Bluetooth® low energy protocol, a Classic Bluetooth® protocol, a Wi-Fi® protocol, a Wi-Fi® low power protocol, and an Ultra-Wide Band (UWB) protocol.) and/or the device contains a digital key according to a Car Connectivity Consortium standard.
Regarding Claim 21, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein:
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches the software further configures the controller to automatically interrupt and/or resume control communication and/or the remote control function without intervention by the user, (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: In response to the autonomy unit controller determining that the time period is greater than the latency threshold, the autonomy unit controller prevents the autonomy unit from causing movement of the vehicle during the remote motive control session.) and/or
the interruption of the control communication and/or the remote control function are such that data traffic in the frequency range of the communication connection and/or through the communication connection is reduced to resolve corruption in the communication connection. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: the notification sent to the mobile device includes a suggestion to the user that the mobile device is communicating (e.g., streaming over BLE) for non-remote motive control purposes. In some examples, the notification includes a list of potential sources of non-remote motive control communications such as but not limited to, streaming video data, streaming audio data, streaming GPS data, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 22, Mueller-Lerwe teaches the apparatus of claim 13,
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches An operator device for the user of a vehicle (see at least Fig. 2 [0039]: The vehicle 100 of the illustrated example also includes an autonomy unit controller 122 that monitors for latency in communication between the vehicle 100 and a mobile device (e.g., the mobile device 204 ) that is utilized by a user (e.g., the user 206 ) to initiate remote parking.), the operator device comprising:
a digital key for an access and/or control system for the vehicle, wherein the operator device can control at least one remote control function for the vehicle using the digital key; (see at least Fig. 2 [0031, 0045]: remote motive control (e.g., remote park-assist) of the autonomy unit 120 of the vehicle 100 performs remote parking when the user 206 is located outside of a cabin of the vehicle 100 . The user 206 utilizes the mobile device 204 to send an instruction to the vehicle to perform remote parking.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller-Lerwe in view of Vemuri et al. (US 2024/0195533 A1 hereinafter Vemuri).
Regarding Claim 16, Mueller-Lerwe teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the software further configures the controller to: in the framework of the control communication between the device and the vehicle,
Mueller-Lerwe further teaches stop requesting retransmission of a message in response to determining that the communication connection is corrupted. (see at least Fig. 7-8 [0061-0091]: the autonomy unit waits a predetermined time (e.g., 1 to 5 seconds) to repeat the process in order to provide the user an opportunity to look for potential sources of non-remote motive control communication. In some examples, if the unacceptable amount of latency communication delay between the vehicle and mobile device persists after a predetermined number of attempts, the method proceeds to block and the current remote motive control session is aborted. The autonomy unit controller 122 sends a notification (e.g., notification 504 of FIG. 5) to notify the user the remote motive control will remain paused for a predetermined amount of time in attempt to resolve the autonomy unit 120 processing delay. The autonomy unit controller 122 will abort the current remote motive control maneuver if the delay cannot be resolved in the predetermined amount of time.)
It may be alleged that Mueller-Lerwe does not explicitly teach check whether a message is corrupted;
request retransmission of the message if it has been corrupted; and
Vemuri is directed to optimization of vehicle communications employing retransmission request protocol, Vemuri teaches check whether a message is corrupted; request retransmission of the message if it has been corrupted; (see at least Fig. 2 [0023-0028]: a sender 62 (e.g., base station 32 ) transmits an information unit at a time to a receiver 64 (e.g., telematics unit 14 of the vehicle 12 ). The information unit may be a packet, data frame, transmission burst etc. After sending the information unit, the sender 62 waits for a reply from the receiver 64 . The newly received data may be combined with the previous erroneous data. In the retransmission request protocol 60 , a retransmission request is submitted to the sender 62 upon receipt of erroneous data.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mueller-Lerwe’s remote motive control system that monitors communication between vehicle and mobile device to incorporate the technique of checking whether a message is corrupted and requesting retransmission of the message if it has been corrupted as taught by Vemuri with reasonable expectation of success and doing so would improve communication reliability while providing positive confirmation of communication integrity.
Conclusion
/DANA F ARTIMEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667