DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-17 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is related to a signal per se. The claims do not define a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium and is thus non-statutory for that reason (i.e., "When functional descriptive material is recorded on some non- transitory computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the non-transitory medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized"- Guidelines Annex IV).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (Hereafter, “Chang”) [US 2022/0329822 A1].
In regards to claim 17, the claim limitations and the recitation of, “a computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video encoding method…” is a non-functional descriptive material, wherein no functional relationship exists between the recording medium and the data. "To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated". MPEP §2111.05(i)(A). When a claimed "computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The recording medium storing the video bitstream in claim 17 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the bitstream and the recording medium. Therefore, the structure data is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a recording medium storing a video bitstream and is anticipated by Chang which recites a recording medium storing data ([0045] digital video that is encoded onto a data storage medium).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Hereafter, “Chang”) [US 2022/0329822 A1] in view of Esenlik et al. (Hereafter, “Esenlik” [US 2020/0236387 A1].
In regards to claim 1, Chang discloses a method of reconstructing a current block by a video decoding apparatus ([Abstract] A device for decoding video data … reconstruct the current block based on the prediction block.), the method comprising: decoding a merge index of the current block from a bitstream ([0100] Video decoder 300 may receive an index into the merge candidate list); generating a motion vector candidate list of the current block ([0100] video decoder 300 may construct a merge candidate list that includes motion vector information of spatially and temporally neighboring blocks), wherein the motion vector candidate list includes a preset number of motion vector candidates ([0087] The regular merge candidate list is constructed in the order of the following candidates: [0088] a. Spatial MVPs from spatial neighbor CUs: first 4 available candidates are selected among the order of Above neighbor CU (A), Left neighbor CU (L), Above-Right neighbor CU (AR), Left-Below neighbor CU (LB), Left-Above neighbor CU (LA). [0089] b. Temporal MVP from collocated CUs: Only one candidate is added. [0090] c. History-based MVP: The motion information of a previously coded block is stored in a table and used as MVP for the current CU. [0091] d. Pairwise average MVP: Pairwise average candidates are generated by averaging predefined pairs of candidates in the existing regular merge candidate list [0092] e. Zero MVs.), and a motion vector candidate is a uni-directional motion vector or bi-directional motion vectors ([0064] In some examples, video encoder 200 may predict the current CU using uni-directional prediction or bi-directional prediction. [0107] The uni-prediction candidate list is derived directly from the merge candidate list constructed as in merge mode, as illustrated in FIG. 8B.); performing an initial motion refinement on the motion vector candidates ([0026] template matching TM refinement is a technique that a video decoder utilizes to refine a motion vector for a current block by finding a closest match within a template [0167] In some examples, a first flag may be signaled to indicate whether TM refinement is applied to the current GPM coded block. If the first flag is true, TM refinement may be applied. For each GPM partition, whether TM refinement is applied is determined by the merge index.); reordering the motion vector candidates ([0167] Some reordering of the candidates may be applied. The reordering may be based on the TM cost of the merge candidates.); selecting motion information of the current block from the motion vector candidates by using the merge index ([0100] determine the motion vector information (e.g., MV data in FIG. 7) based on the index); and generating a prediction block of the current block by using a selected motion information ([0100] Video decoder 300 may determine an inter predictor (704) based on the motion vector information. [0101] Video decoder 300 may then combine the intra predictor and the inter predictor (706). For instance, FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the equation and weights that video decoder 300 may apply to combine the intra predictor and inter predictor. The result may be the prediction block that video decoder 300 utilizes for reconstructing the current block.), wherein performing the initial motion refinement or reordering the motion vector candidates comprises, when using a template matching ([0093] When TM is applied to merge mode, a separate TM merge candidate list is constructed by refining the MVPs of the regular merge candidates based on the template matching.): applying filtering to block partition boundaries within a template region of the current block ([0103] Video decoder 300 may generate a motion vector for the current block based on template matching. For example, video decoder 300 may determine an initial motion vector for the current block based on motion information in a merge candidate list. Video decoder 300 may receive an index into the merge candidate list that identifies the motion information (e.g., motion vector information). For generating the motion vector for the current block based on template matching, video decoder 300 may determine a search area in a reference picture based on the initial motion vector, determine reference templates within the search area that substantially match current templates within a current picture that includes the current block, and determine the motion vector for the current block based on the determined reference templates.).
Esenlik discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement or reordering the motion vector candidates ([0019] determine a refinement of the initial motion vector by template matching with said template in a search space) comprises, when using a template matching: applying filtering to block partition boundaries within a template region of the current block ([0019] Said search space is located on a position given by the initial motion vector and includes one or more fractional sample positions, wherein each of the fractional sample positions belonging to the search space is obtained by interpolation filtering with a filter of a predefined tap-size assessing integer samples only within a window, said window being formed by integer samples accessible for the template matching in said search space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Esenlik in order to improve motion refinement accuracy [See Esenlik].
In regards to claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement comprises, when the motion vector candidate is the uni-directional motion vector: deriving a reference block indicated by the uni-directional motion vector, and refining the uni-directional motion vector by using a template matching between a template of the current block and a corresponding template of the reference block ([0026] As described in more detail, template matching TM refinement is a technique that a video decoder utilizes to refine a motion vector for a current block by finding a closest match within a template. For example, the video decoder may determine an initial motion vector for the current block. The initial motion vector may define a search area, also called search range, within a reference picture. The search area may be a rectangular area around a sample in the reference picture pointed to by the initial motion vector. The video decoder may compare reference templates (e.g., templates in the reference picture) within the search area to current templates (e.g., templates in the current picture that includes the current block) to determine reference templates that substantially match the current templates (e.g., have the least difference in sample values with the current templates). The video decoder may determine a motion vector for the current block based on the determined reference templates. For instance, the motion vector may point to the determined reference templates in the reference picture. [0158] Then TM refinement is applied to a uni-directional GPM MV candidate using current block and reference block templates for matching process. The refined MV may be used as a candidate to form GPM prediction.).
In regards to claim 4, the limitations of claim 3 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement comprises: determining, based on a size or aspect ratio of the current block [Fig. 6], a search region within a reference picture that includes the reference block ([0080] Template matching TM is a decoder-side motion vector (MV) derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighboring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.); and performing the template matching within the search region ([0026] The initial motion vector may define a search area, also called search range, within a reference picture. The search area may be a rectangular area around a sample in the reference picture pointed to by the initial motion vector. The video decoder may compare reference templates (e.g., templates in the reference picture) within the search area to current templates (e.g., templates in the current picture that includes the current block) to determine reference templates that substantially match the current templates (e.g., have the least difference in sample values with the current templates). The video decoder may determine a motion vector for the current block based on the determined reference templates.).
In regards to claim 5, the limitations of claim 3 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein the template of the current block represents a template within a reconstructed region neighboring the current block ([Fig. 6 and 0026] current templates (e.g., templates in the current picture that includes the current block)), and the corresponding template of the reference block represents a template at a corresponding location neighboring the reference block ([Fig. 6 and 0026] reference templates (e.g., templates in the reference picture)).
In regards to claim 6, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement comprises, when the motion vector candidate is the bi-directional motion vectors: deriving reference blocks indicated by the bi-directional motion vectors ([0225] Moreover, for bi-directional inter-prediction, motion compensation unit 224 may retrieve data for two reference blocks identified by respective motion vectors and combine the retrieved data, e.g., through sample-by-sample averaging or weighted averaging.), and refining the bi-directional motion vectors by using a template matching between a template of the current block and corresponding templates of the reference blocks ([0080] The following describes template matching (TM) prediction. Template matching TM is a decoder-side motion vector (MV) derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighboring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.).
In regards to claim 7, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement comprises, when the motion vector candidate is the bi-directional motion vectors: deriving reference blocks indicated by the bi-directional motion vectors ([0225] Moreover, for bi-directional inter-prediction, motion compensation unit 224 may retrieve data for two reference blocks identified by respective motion vectors and combine the retrieved data, e.g., through sample-by-sample averaging or weighted averaging.), refining the bi-directional motion vectors by using a template matching between a template of the current block and corresponding templates of the reference blocks, and refining the refined bi- directional motion vectors a second time by using a bilateral matching between the reference blocks ([0080] The following describes template matching (TM) prediction. Template matching TM is a decoder-side motion vector (MV) derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighboring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.).
In regards to claim 8, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein reordering the motion vector candidates comprises: generating a reference block according to motion information of the motion vector candidate ([0080] Template matching TM is a decoder-side motion vector (MV) derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighboring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.); generating a template matching cost between a template of the current block and a corresponding template of the reference block; and reordering the motion vector candidates in an order of increasing template matching costs of the motion vector candidates ([0167] Some reordering of the candidates may be applied. The reordering may be based on the TM cost of the merge candidates.).
In regards to claim 10, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang fails to explicitly disclose wherein applying the filtering to the block partition boundaries comprises: filtering a template region of the current block in a vertical direction when the block partition boundaries are horizontal boundaries, and filtering the template region of the current block in a horizontal direction when the block partition boundaries are vertical boundaries.
Esenlik discloses wherein applying the filtering to the block partition boundaries comprises: filtering a template region of the current block in a vertical direction when the block partition boundaries are horizontal boundaries, and filtering the template region of the current block in a horizontal direction when the block partition boundaries are vertical boundaries ([0036] The search space may include a rectangular search sub-window of the window, wherein the refinement of the initial motion vector is determined by template matching with said template in the rectangular search sub-window such that the integer samples accessed for interpolation filtering of each fractional sample in the search sub-window are located within said window for the interpolation filter with the predefined tap-size. [0037] In one implementation, the refinement of the initial motion vector may be determined by template matching with said template in a search space which is iteratively extended in a direction given by one of more best matching positions of the search space in a most recent iteration, wherein the iteration is ended when at least one sample within the search space of the most recent iteration is outside the search sub-window. [0038] Moreover, for instance, the interpolation filter is a one-dimensional filter assessing K either horizontal or vertical integer samples when the fractional position is located on a respective horizontal or vertical line of integer samples. [0039] Advantageously, the search space further includes fractional positions located outside the sub-window either: adjacent on the top or on the bottom of the sub-window and located on the horizontal line of integer samples or adjacent on the left or on the right hand side of the sub-window and located on the vertical line of integer samples.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Esenlik in order to improve motion refinement accuracy [See Esenlik].
In regards to claim 11, the limitations of claim 10 have been addressed. Chang discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement or the reordering of the motion vector candidates comprises: generating a reference block based on motion information of the motion vector candidate ([0080] Template matching TM is a decoder-side motion vector (MV) derivation method to refine the motion information of the current CU by finding the closest match between a template (i.e., top and/or left neighboring blocks of the current CU) in the current picture and a block (i.e., same size to the template) in a reference picture.); and calculating a template matching cost between a filtered template region of the current block and a corresponding template region of the reference block ([0167] Some reordering of the candidates may be applied. The reordering may be based on the TM cost of the merge candidates.).
Esenlik discloses wherein performing the initial motion refinement or the reordering of the motion vector candidates ([0019] determine a refinement of the initial motion vector by template matching with said template in a search space) comprises: generating a reference block based on motion information of the motion vector candidate; and calculating a template matching cost between a filtered template region of the current block and a corresponding template region of the reference block ([0019] Said search space is located on a position given by the initial motion vector and includes one or more fractional sample positions, wherein each of the fractional sample positions belonging to the search space is obtained by interpolation filtering with a filter of a predefined tap-size assessing integer samples only within a window, said window being formed by integer samples accessible for the template matching in said search space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Esenlik in order to improve motion refinement accuracy [See Esenlik].
Claim 14 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in encoding form rather than decoding form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 14.
In regards to claim 15, the limitations of claim 14 have been addressed. Chang discloses further comprising: encoding the merge index ([0081] signaled merge index).
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Esenlik in further view of CHEN et al. (Hereafter, “Chen”) [US 2024/0031578 A1].
In regards to claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed. Chang fails to explicitly disclose further comprising, when the motion information of the current block is the bi-directional motion vectors: finally refining the bi-directional motion vectors by using at least one technique of a subblock-based bilateral matching or a bi-directional optical flow (BDOF).
Chen discloses further comprising, when the motion information of the current block is the bi-directional motion vectors: finally refining the bi-directional motion vectors by using at least one technique of a subblock-based bilateral matching or a bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) ([0022] The processing circuitry can determine motion information of a subblock in the plurality of subblocks based on the SbTMVP mode. The subblock is bi-predicted. The processing circuitry can apply at least one of (i) a bilateral matching (BM)-based motion vector (MV) refinement or (ii) a bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) mode to the subblock to update the motion information of the subblock and reconstruct the subblock based on the updated motion information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chang with the teachings of Chen in order to improve motion refinement for bi-prediction blocks [See Chen].
Claim 16 lists all the same elements of claim 2, but in encoding form rather than decoding form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 16.
Contact Information
/KAITLIN A RETALLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482