DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
While it is clear that claim 1 directs to a method, the preamble includes elements of a system in a way that suggests mixing of statutory categories. That is, the preamble should not include features of the system used in performing the method so that there is no contention of the statutory category to which the claim belongs.
Claim 12 is missing a period at the end of the claim
Appropriate correction is required.
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The claim set includes two claims numbered as “Claim 8”.
Examiner has renumbered the claims following the first instance of “Claim 8”. That is currently claims 1-16, comprising a duplicate numbering of claim 8 will be renumber to comprise claims 1-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites performing a computerized tomography (CT) scan of the tissue of the animal body to generate the three-dimensional model. It is unclear if the recitation of “computerized tomography (CT)” refers to the industry known imaging modality of computed tomography (CT). Furthermore, it is unclear if the limitation means that the three-dimensional model is generated from CT data or that the three-dimensional model is generated by a particular system, that is, “computerized tomography” that generates three-dimensional models as claimed. For purposes of the examination the limitation is being interpreted as generation of a model.
Claim 9 recites affixing the rigid guide tube to the animal body proximate to the opening in the animal body. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation of “the opening”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Roosbroeck, et al., US 20220110508 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Van Roosbroeck teaches a method for determining positional information of a steerable assembly within a body (abstract and [0005]), the steerable assembly comprising an elongated structure and an implement arranged at a distal end of the elongated structure (see abstract for the medical device), the method comprising:
providing a plurality of fiber bragg grating sensors in or on the elongated structure [0005];
passing the elongated structure (i) through a rigid guide tube arranged at a fixed position relative to an opening in the body and (ii) into an interior of the body [0009];
detecting a location of a fiber bragg grating sensor coincident with a gate position of the rigid guide tube to define an origin of the elongated structure [0028];
using the plurality of fiber bragg grating sensors, sensing one or more conditions indicative of at least one of force, shape, or strain experienced by the fiber bragg grating sensors during insertion of the elongated structure into the interior of the body ([0006] discloses sensing shape information and [0032] discloses sensing strain);
determining a three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly from (i) the sensed one or more conditions indicative of at least one of force, shape, or strain experienced by the fiber bragg grating sensors, and (ii) the origin of the elongated structure [0091] and fig. 6; and
superimposing the three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly on a three-dimensional model of the body [0038].
Regarding claim 2, Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the rigid guide tube comprises a bore extending between a proximal end and a distal end thereof, wherein at least a portion of a path of the bore between the proximal end and the distal end comprises a curved path (see figs. 1, 4 and [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Van Roosbroeck further teaches sensing relative position and relative orientation between the rigid guide tube and the body, and responsive to such sensing, updating the determination of the three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly ([0005], [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Van Roosbroeck further teaches providing a visual output of the three-dimension trajectory of the steerable assembly superimposed on the three-dimensional model of the body (see fig. 6 and [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body [0020], further comprising performing a computerized tomography (CT) scan of the tissue of the animal body to generate the three-dimensional model (see fig. 6 and [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body [0020], further comprising performing one or more tissue imaging steps after or during the passing the elongated body structure into the tissue of the animal body, and responsively updating the three-dimensional model of the tissue of the animal body [0079].
Regarding claim 9, Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body, and the method further comprises affixing the rigid guide tube to the animal body proximate to the opening in the animal body [0030].
Regarding claim 10, Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the opening in the animal body comprises an incision [0030].
Regarding claim 12, Van Roosbroeck a system for determining positional information of a steerable assembly within an interior of a body (see abstract for the medical device), the system comprising:
an elongated structure comprising an implement arranged at a distal end thereof [0005], and comprising a plurality of fiber bragg grating sensors in or on the elongated structure [0005], [0009];
a rigid guide tube configured to be arranged at a fixed position relative to an opening in the body[0009], the rigid guide tube comprising comprises a bore extending between a proximal end and a distal end thereof ([0009], figs. 1, 4 and [0056]),
wherein at least a portion of a path of the bore between the proximal end and the distal end comprises a non-linear path, and the bore is configured to permit passage of the elongated structure (see figs. 1, 4 and [0056]);
a fiber bragg grating detector configured to receive signals from the plurality of fiber bragg grating sensors indicative of at least one of force, shape, or strain experienced by the fiber bragg grating sensors during insertion of the elongated structure into the interior of the body ([0006] discloses sensing shape information and [0032] discloses sensing strain); and
at least one processor configured to:
detect a location of a fiber bragg grating sensor coincident with a gate position of the rigid guide tube to define an origin of the elongated structure [0028];
determine a three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly from (i) the sensed one or more conditions indicative of at least one of force, shape, or strain experienced by the fiber bragg grating sensors, and (ii) the origin of the elongated structure [0091] and fig. 6; and
superimpose the three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly on a three-dimensional model of the body [0038].
Regarding claim 13, Van Roosbroeck wherein at least a portion of a path of the bore between the proximal end and the distal end comprises a curved path (see figs. 1, 4 and [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Van Roosbroeck further teaches a display device [0105] configured to provide a visual output of the three-dimensional trajectory of the steerable assembly superimposed on the three-dimensional model of the body (see fig. 6 and [0091])..
Regarding claim 17, Van Roosbroeck wherein the elongated body structure comprises one or more of a hollow tube, a catheter, an electrical conductor, and a camera [0005].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Roosbroeck in view of Netravali, et al., US 20210330399 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Van Roosbroeck teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body [0020], and
Van Roosbroeck fails to teach that the method further comprises: affixing a plurality of motion capture tags to the animal body; sensing position of the plurality of motion capture tags; and adjusting one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags, and optionally adjusting relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Netravali teaches methods, non-transitory computer readable media, surgical tracking devices, and systems that facilitate improved tracking in surgical environments are disclosed. With this technology, a fiber optic shape sensing (FOSS) device is rigidly attached to patient anatomy and/or surgical instrument(s) to facilitate location and/or flexibility tracking (abstract), the method further comprises:
affixing a plurality of motion capture tags to the animal body [0071]-[0072];
sensing position of the plurality of motion capture tags [0072]; and
adjusting one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags, and optionally adjusting relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body [0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Van Roosbroeck, such that the method further comprises: affixing a plurality of motion capture tags to the animal body; sensing position of the plurality of motion capture tags; and adjusting one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags, and optionally adjusting relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body, as taught by Netravali, as such modification would improve the accuracy of determinations of the positions of the instrument and region of interest [0004]-[0005].
Regarding claim 5, Van Roosbroeck in view of Netravali teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above.
Van Roosbroeck further teaches sensing a condition indicative of respiration rate and/or respiration amplitude of the animal body, and responsive to the sensing, adjusting one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the tissue of the animal body [0020]-[0021].
Regarding claim 14, Van Roosbroeck teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above.
Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body [0020], and the system further comprises: a plurality of motion capture tags configured to be affixed to the animal body; and a motion capture detector configured to sense position of the plurality of motion capture tags; wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags, and optionally adjust relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Netravali teaches methods, non-transitory computer readable media, surgical tracking devices, and systems that facilitate improved tracking in surgical environments are disclosed. With this technology, a fiber optic shape sensing (FOSS) device is rigidly attached to patient anatomy and/or surgical instrument(s) to facilitate location and/or flexibility tracking (abstract), the method further comprises:
a plurality of motion capture tags configured to be affixed to the animal body [0071]-[0072];
and a motion capture detector configured to sense position of the plurality of motion capture tags; wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags [0072]; and
optionally adjust relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body [0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Van Roosbroeck, such that the system further comprises: a plurality of motion capture tags configured to be affixed to the animal body; and a motion capture detector configured to sense position of the plurality of motion capture tags; wherein the at least one processor is further configured to adjust one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the animal body using the sensed position of the plurality of motion capture tags, and optionally adjust relative position and/or orientation of the rigid guide tube relative to the animal body, as taught by Netravali, as such modification would improve the accuracy of determinations of the positions of the instrument and region of interest [0004]-[0005].
Regarding claim 15, Van Roosbroeck in view of Netravali teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above.
Van Roosbroeck further teaches wherein the body comprises an animal body [0020], and the system further comprises at least one respiration sensor configured to sense a condition indicative of respiration rate and/or respiration amplitude of the animal body, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, responsive to such sensing, adjust one or more properties of the three-dimensional model of the tissue of the animal body [0020]-[0021].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Roosbroeck in view of Zhao, et al., US 20210059779 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Van Roosbroeck teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Van Roosbroeck fails to teach wherein: the steerable assembly comprises a premagnetized material proximate to the distal end; and the method further comprises altering strength and/or position of at least one magnetic field source external to the body to interact with the premagnetized material to effectuate movement of the implement within the body.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Zhao teaches Robotic devices and methods for performing minimally invasive procedures on the vascular system, particularly cerebrovascular and endovascular neurosurgical procedures, where a submillimeter-scale continuum robotic device is configured and adapted for active steering and navigation based on external magnetic actuation (see abstract). Zhao further teaches wherein: the steerable assembly comprises a premagnetized material proximate to the distal end; and the method further comprises altering strength and/or position of at least one magnetic field source external to the body to interact with the premagnetized material to effectuate movement of the implement within the body [0110].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Van Roosbroeck wherein: the steerable assembly comprises a premagnetized material proximate to the distal end; and the method further comprises altering strength and/or position of at least one magnetic field source external to the body to interact with the premagnetized material to effectuate movement of the implement within the body, as taught by Zhao, improve the accuracy of navigation of the medical instrument while still maintaining increased safety during the procedure [0042].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 12011233 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in the claims mentioned above of the instant application are also recited in the claims mentioned above of the U.S. Patent.
Conclusion
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797