Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: transfer unit and extraction unit in claim 1. As per specification, transfer unit is being interpreted as the transfer unit 400 includes a body 410, a first slider 420, a second slider 430, the needles 440, and a support plate 450 [0051] and extraction unit as rotatably coupled around the gantry as depicted in figure 8 [0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by KR20210073926A, herein referred to as ‘926.
Regarding claim 1, ‘926 discloses a system for injection molding an airbag box with an anti-scattering mesh member insert, the system (100) comprising: a mold for injection molding an airbag box (111) ; a seating base (see AD in figures 3 and 5) on which the anti-scattering mesh member is seated; a transfer unit (200) configured to be movable by the gantry and to transfer the anti-scattering mesh member, seated on the seating base, into the mold; and an extraction unit (300) configured to be movable by the gantry and to extract the injection molded airbag box from the mold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210073926A, herein referred to as ‘926 in view of Seebacher (US2020/0290256 A1).
Regarding claim 2, ‘926 teaches wherein the transfer unit comprises: a body rotatably coupled to the gantry (401); but doesn’t explicitly disclose a first slider provided in a pair on a first side of the body, wherein the first sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a second slider provided in a pair on a second side of the body, wherein the second sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a needle provided at each end of the first and second sliders; and a support plate positioned below the needle and configured to have a slit formed through which the needle passes.
Analogous art, Seebacher, discloses a first slider (6) provided in a pair on a first side of the body, wherein the first sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a second slider (7) provided in a pair on a second side of the body, wherein the second sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a needle (21) provided at each end of the first and second sliders; and a support plate (10) positioned below the needle and configured to have a slit formed through which the needle passes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated disclose a first slider provided in a pair on a first side of the body, wherein the first sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a second slider provided in a pair on a second side of the body, wherein the second sliders move in a diagonal direction away from each other; a needle provided at each end of the first and second sliders; and a support plate positioned below the needle and configured to have a slit formed through which the needle passes for the benefit of allowing molds to slide past each other easily [0021] as taught by Seebacher into the art taught by ‘926.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210073926A, herein referred to as ‘926 in view of Seebacher (US2020/0290256 A1), as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Zettel et al (US 2002/0174907 A1).
Regarding claim 3, ‘926 does not explicitly disclose a damper coupled to the body and positioned near the support plate. However, analogous art, Zettel, discloses using a dampers as an energy absorbers [0006]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated dampers in order to absorb energy from a crash as taught by Zettel into system taught by ‘926.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210073926A, herein referred to as ‘926 in view of Seebacher (US2020/0290256 A1), as applied to claim 2 and further in view of CN113211714A, herein referred to as ‘714.
Regarding claim 4, ‘926 discloses a through hole (111) formed on the top plate (AD) and through which the needle passes (112).
‘926 does not explicitly disclose wherein the seating base comprises: a top plate supported by legs and on which the anti-scattering mesh member is fixed; scattering mesh member to guide the anti-scattering mesh member; a through hole formed on the top plate and through which the needle passes; and a sensor provided on the top plate and configured to detect whether the anti-scattering mesh member is secured to the top plate. Analogous art, ‘714, discloses a top plate (65) supported by legs (see figure 1) and on which the anti-scattering mesh member is fixed (pg. 4 paragraph 6); scattering mesh member to guide the anti-scattering mesh member and a sensor (62) provided on the top plate and configured to detect whether the anti-scattering mesh member is secured to the top plate (figure 12). Further, MPEP 2144.04 states Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious. It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a top plate supported by legs and on which the anti-scattering mesh member is fixed; scattering mesh member to guide the anti-scattering mesh member; a through hole formed on the top plate and through which the needle passes; and a sensor provided on the top plate and configured to detect whether the anti-scattering mesh member is secured to the top plate as taught by ‘714 into the system taught by ‘926 for the benefit of ensuring the system is always running and production efficiency improves (pg.4 paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 5, ‘926 does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide pin is pushed downward by the support plate when the guide pin comes into contact with the support plate. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Conclusion
/FARAH TAUFIQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754