Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Continuity
The application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Application PCT/IB2023/062233, filed December 5, 2023, and published as WO 2024/121735 A1 on June 13, 2024.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the claimed foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) to Italian Application No. 102022000025131, filed December 6, 2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
An Information Disclosure Statement was filed May 30, 2025. The listed patent documents and international search materials were reviewed and considered.
Response to Amendment
The claim listing dated April 9, 2026, expressly states that it replaces all prior versions and listings of claims. Claims 1-14 are therefore examined in their currently amended form. Claims 1 and 12 are independent. Claims 13 and 14 depend from claim 12; claim 14 no longer refers alternatively to claim 13.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the opening through which the pocket communicates with the outside of the pouch, as recited in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because it depends from claim 1 but recites “each emitting device” and “each switching device,” neither of which is introduced by claim 1. Applicant should amend the dependency or otherwise provide proper antecedent structure for those terms. Appropriate correction is required. (object to reference numerals being recited, such as, in claims 8, 9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oskin et al. (US 20120146797 A1, “Oskin”) in view of Kaario (US 6563424 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Oskin teaches the claimed basic pouch/pocket structure. Oskin states that pocket 160 can “have the form of a pouch, sleeve, slit, or flap with an opening on at least one side” and can house sensing electrodes and control electronics ([0037]). Oskin further teaches first and second lateral sides of the pocket and a fourth edge open for entry and removal of an electrode ([0038]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the opposed lateral sides satisfy the recited front and rear faces and the open edge satisfies the recited communication of the pocket with the exterior.
Oskin also teaches the sensing and processing structure. Oskin states that “sensing electrodes 135 can sense electrocardiogram signals” used by control unit 130 to monitor cardiac activity ([0032]) and describes sensing electrodes that can sense cardiac, respiratory, or other information ([0033]). Oskin further states that control unit 130 “includes at least one processor” and “can monitor a subject's condition and control wearable therapeutic device 100 operations” ([0041]). Oskin therefore teaches detectors, detector-generated signals, and a processor/controller that receives and acts on sensed information.
Oskin also teaches releasable wearable hardware. Its electronic components may be fitted into open or closed pockets or attached using buckles, hook-and-loop fasteners, holsters, loops, pouches, or sleeves; Oskin also states that such components may be releasable from belt 110 or strap 145 ([0030]). Pocket openings may be secured by a “button, snap, hook and loop fastener, fastener, latch, or zipper” ([0037]). Oskin nevertheless does not expressly teach the claimed plurality of two-part connection elements arranged with pouch- side first portions on a common pouch face, nor does it expressly recite the claimed controller-to-detector request/response protocol in the same terms.
Kaario supplies the connector architecture. Its abstract states that “Snap button connectors having first and second portions are provided,” that each garment location includes a second portion, and that an information transmitting/receiving unit is connected to a first portion. Kaario further depicts a female first portion 51 and mating male second portion 52 (Figs. 2 and 4), and it expressly teaches multiple garment connector locations linked to controller 30. When the portions mate, the first and second portions provide the electrical and physical connection (col. 5, lines 60-65 - col. 6, lines 1-4; Figs. 2 and 4; claims 23 and 25).
Kaario also teaches a controller-to-device interrogation technique. Its controller detects connected devices and, when the logic circuit is activated, “interrogates the connected device to determine what kind of devices are connected” and whether they are compatible (col. 8, lines 12-24; Fig. 10). Kaario separately describes the method as activating logic that interrogates the connected device before establishing a communication path (col. 8, lines 55-65; Fig. 10). That disclosure supplies a known controller-generated request/poll followed by responsive device information.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Oskin's wearable sensing/pouch system with Kaario's separable snap-connector architecture. Oskin is the base wearable sensing device; Kaario teaches the missing known garment-electronics attachment elements. The prior art therefore contains the claimed wearable sensors/controller and the claimed type of two-part garment connector. Ordinary snap mounting and electrical interconnection would have allowed Kaario's first portions to be placed on the pouch and its mating second portions on the garment, with the sensors still sensing, the controller still processing signals, and the snaps still removably coupling electronic hardware to clothing. The resulting pouch would predictably be removable while maintaining the same known sensing and communication functions. This is combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A): each element was known, known mounting/interconnection methods were available, the elements would continue to perform their established functions, and the resulting removable wearable sensing assembly
would have been predictable.
It also would have been obvious to apply Kaario's interrogation technique to Oskin's controller-connected sensing devices so that the controller could command or poll the connected detector and receive responsive information. Oskin already provides the base processor-controlled sensing system; Kaario provides a known controller/device request-response technique applicable to garment- connected electronics. Applying that known technique would predictably provide controlled acquisition from a connected detector without changing the detector's sensing function. This is applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
To the extent claim 1 requires multiple detectors within one pouch or multiple identical snap first portions on a common pouch face, the record also supports predictable duplication. Oskin teaches both a pouch that houses sensing hardware and plural sensing electrodes, while Kaario expressly teaches multiple garment connector locations. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), discussed in MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B), held that mere duplication of a known part lacks patentable significance where each duplicate performs the same function and no unexpected new result is produced. The present facts are sufficiently similar only in that limited respect: each added detector continues sensing and each added snap continues providing the same removable attachment/communication function. The rejection does not rely on Harza as a per se rule; it relies primarily on the express plural-component teachings of Oskin and Kaario and the predictable operation of the duplicated components. The common-face placement aspect Is also consistent with the limited rearrangement principle in In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), discussed in MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). In those cases, relocating a known switch/contact was obvious where the change in position did not change how the device operated. Here, Oskin provides a pouch with defined faces and Kaario provides the known snap portions; locating the repeated first portions on the same selected pouch face leaves each snap's mechanical/electrical function unchanged. This supporting precedent is not a substitute for the documentary teachings and is not applied as a per se design- choice rule.
Regarding claim 2, Oskin teaches a wearable garment having body-facing and outward-facing surfaces. In particular, Oskin distinguishes a pocket side “facing the subject” from a side facing away from the subject ([0039]). Oskin does not teach the two-part connector arrangement used for claim 1 with the garment-side second connector portion specifically applied at the inner, body-facing garment surface.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches a second snap-button connector portion secured to garment fabric and removably mated with a first connector portion carried by the attached electronic device (Abstract; claims 23 and 25; Figs. 2 and 4-6). Kaario does not expressly limit that garment-side second portion to an inner or outer garment face.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place Kaario's known garment-side second connector portion on Oskin's expressly disclosed body-facing garment surface when the detachable pouch or wearable component is to be retained on that side. The second portion would remain secured to fabric and would mate with the first portion in the same manner taught by Kaario; only the selected garment surface changes. The expected result is the same removable electrical/mechanical connector operating at a known body-facing garment location. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A). The facts are also consistent with the limited relocation reasoning of In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), discussed in MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), because the connector's operation is unchanged by placement on the body- facing surface.
Regarding claim 3, Oskin teaches the complementary outward-facing garment surface. Oskin expressly Identifies a pocket side that “faces away from the subject” ([0039]) and teaches that components of the wearable device may be worn over the subject's clothes ([0029]). Oskin does not teach the two-part connector arrangement used for claim 1 with the garment-side second connector portion specifically applied at that environment-facing surface.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches garment-side second snap
portions secured to garment fabric and removably mated with first portions associated with wearable electronic devices (Abstract; claims 23 and 25; Figs. 1, 2, and 4-6). Kaario also depicts externally accessible garment connector locations, including a pocket and collar (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 1-14), but does not expressly characterize the connector surface using the claim's “environment-facing” terminology.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place Kaario's known garment-side second connector portion on Oskin's expressly disclosed outward-facing surface when external access to the detachable pouch or electronics is desired. The connector components would mate and conduct in the same manner and would continue to perform the same removable-coupling function. The predictable result is an externally accessible detachable wearable- electronics connection. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A). The conclusion is also consistent with Japikse and Kuhle, MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C), because the cited art supplies both the known connector and the alternative wearable surface, and relocating the connector does not change its operation.
Regarding claim 4, Oskin teaches releasable wearable components and teaches that pocket openings may be secured using a button, snap, hook-and-loop fastener, fastener, latch, or zipper ([0030]), [0037]). Oskin does not teach the claim-1 connection element as a first connector portion removably engaging a mating second connector portion by the claimed mechanical and/or magnetic engagement.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches the missing two-part mechanical engagement. Kaario's snap connector has a first portion separable from a mating second portion (Abstract; claims 23 and 31), and Figs. 2 and 4 show those portions brought into mating snap engagement. Because claim 4 recites mechanical and/or magnetic engagement, Kaario's mechanical snap directly satisfies one of the expressly claimed alternatives.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kaario's known mating snap portions as the removable connection elements in Oskin's wearable pouch system for the same reasons explained for claim 1. The snap portions would retain their established mechanical and electrical coupling functions, Oskin's pouch and sensing electronics would retain their established functions, and the predictable result would be a removable mechanically engaged garment attachment. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Oskin does not teach magnets housed in the first and second connector portions. The magnetic language of claim 5, however, is expressly conditional: a magnet is recited only “when the engagement between the first portion and the second portion is of magnetic type,” while claim 4 permits the removable engagement to be mechanical and/or magnetic. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the magnet condition is not operative for the mechanical-only alternative.
For the same reasons explained in claims 1 and 4, Kaario teaches a mechanical snap having mating first and second connector portions (Abstract; Figs. 2 and 4; claims 23 and 25). Kaario's mechanical engagement therefore satisfies the positively required scope of claim 5 in the mechanical- only branch without requiring a separate magnetic connector teaching.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kaario's mechanical snap in Oskin's wearable pouch system for the reasons explained for claims 1 and 4. Each snap portion performs its known removable-coupling function and yields the predictable mechanically engaged wearable assembly. The mechanical-only branch is therefore reached by the same Kaario snap modification already explained for claims 1 and 4. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A). See also MPEP § 2111.04.
Regarding claim 6, Oskin teaches wearable attachment structures but does not teach the added third/reference portion arranged with the garment and the two- part connection element in the manner recited.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches the first and second connector portions used to removably couple wearable electronics to garment fabric. Kaario additionally teaches the missing backing/cap structure used to secure a snap to fabric. In the Fig. 3 discussion, Kaario explains that a fabric layer is interposed between cap 72 and stud 73 and that forcing those parts together produces a snap portion secured to the fabric; Kaario likewise teaches socket 77 and cap 78 with fabric secured between them (col. 5, lines 36-50; Fig. 3). Kaario further shows garment fabric 75 and 76 secured with the snap structure in Figs. 5 and 6 (col. 6, lines 1-24; Figs. 5 and 6). Claim 25 similarly recites that a connector portion may be secured to garment fabric so that mating engagement physically couples the fabric. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “reference third portion” is not limited to a particular shape, transparency, or material. Kaario's cap/backing member is an additional portion directly engaged with garment fabric and the corresponding connector assembly and therefore teaches the positively recited structure. The raised-area number/Braille language is expressly optional. To the extent its informational meaning is considered, the semantic identification is printed matter. Under In re DiStefano, 808 F.3d 845, 117 USPQ2d 1265 (Fed. Cir. 2015), informational content is analyzed under the printed-matter doctrine, and under In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 217 USPQ 401 (Fed. Cir. 1983), patentable weight depends on a new and unobvious functional relationship with the substrate. Here, the connector attaches and conducts in the same manner regardless of which number or Braille meaning is conveyed; the physical raised structure would receive structural weight if required but claim 6 makes that feature optional.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kaario's conventional cap/backing arrangement with the Oskin-Kaario connector because Kaario teaches that arrangement as the ordinary way to secure the snap structure to fabric. The cap/backing portion retains its established fabric-retaining function, the first and second connector portions retain their coupling functions, and the predictable result is the known garment-fastener assembly used with the wearable pouch. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 7, Oskin teaches processor-controlled user-output devices in the wearable system. Control unit 130 controls wearable-device operations; alarm module 120 provides a warning that “may be audio, visual, haptic” ([0041]), and Oskin separately teaches notifications provided audibly, visually, or haptically ([0070]). Oskin does not teach a plurality of those emitting devices arranged at respective pouch-side first connector portions.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches multiple garment- electronics connector locations, each using first and second connector portions, and teaches information transmitting/receiving units connected to first portions of the snap connectors (Abstract; claims 31 and 33). Kaario therefore supplies the distributed connector locations at which the emitting devices can be mounted but does not itself require Oskin's particular user-notification emitters.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount known Oskin-type processor-controlled output devices at Kaario's existing distributed electronic-device connector locations. Oskin supplies known processor-controlled emitters suitable for wearer notification; Kaario supplies the known multi-location mounting and communication architecture. Ordinary electrical and mechanical integration would allow each emitter to remain a processor-controlled output device while each connector retains its garment attachment/communication function. The predictable result is localized output at multiple wearable connection positions. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A). The same factual record also supports applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, MPEP § 2143(I)(D), because Kaario's distributed mounting technique is applied to Oskin's already output-capable wearable system without changing the established function of either element.
Regarding claim 9, Oskin directly teaches the added breathable-fabric alternative. Oskin states that “garment 105 is formed from breathable fabric” ([0029]) and teaches pockets and pouches as part of the same wearable structure ([0030], [0037]). Because claim 9 uses “and/or” the breathable-fabric branch independently satisfies the added limitation. Oskin also separately teaches conductive thread 150 ([0034]) and conductive thread within a pocket side ([0039]), although the rejection does not depend on the emitter/switch antecedent branch identified under Claim Objections.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches the two-part garment connector architecture missing from Oskin and used in the base combination. Nothing in Kaario's snap architecture is incompatible with Oskin's breathable textile construction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kaario's connector architecture with Oskin's wearable structure while retaining Oskin's expressly disclosed breathable fabric. The fabric continues to provide its known wearable and ventilation properties, the connector portions continue to provide their known removable-coupling function, and the predictable result is the same removable wearable pouch formed in the breathable textile environment already taught by Oskin. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 10, Oskin teaches communication from the wearable system external destination: a notification may be provided “to a health care provider remote from the subject via a network connection” ([0070]). Oskin does not expressly teach the claimed I/O interface as a bidirectional interface that both transmits an output signal to a remote device and receives one or more input signals from that remote device for the data-control unit.
For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches garment electronics connected through controller 30. Kaario further teaches a garment pocket storing an electronic device “that can transmit and receive information” (col. 7, lines 1-14; Fig. 10) and a communications system in signal communication with connector locations and connected electronic devices (col. 7, lines 25-40; Fig. 10). Those teachings provide the bidirectional wearable-electronics communication capability missing from Oskin's expressly described remote notification.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Kaario's known transmitting/receiving interface technique to Oskin's remote-notification-capable wearable system so that the processor could both send information to and receive information from an external device. Oskin supplies a wearable processor already communicating outwardly; Kaario supplies the known bidirectional garment-electronics communication technique. The interface would perform its ordinary communication function, the sensing and attachment functions would remain unchanged, and bidirectional external data exchange would predictably result. This is applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 11, Oskin teaches wearable components associated with a garment, but Oskin does not teach the smart bag actually connected to the item of clothing by the two-part connector arrangement used for claim 1. For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches the connected operating state of that two-part garment connector. Kaario's abstract states that the second connector portion is secured to garment fabric and that information is delivered through the mating first and second portions. Claim 25 further teaches that, when the first and second portions are in mating engagement, the fabric secured to those portions is physically coupled. Figs. 4-6 likewise show the connector in its engaged garment state (col. 5, lines 60-65 - col. 6, lines 1-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place the Oskin-Kaario pouch in Kaario's expressly taught connected state because that is the ordinary operating condition for which Kaario's separable snap architecture is designed. The pouch, garment, and connector portions retain their established functions and produce the predictable assembled wearable system. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oskin in view of Kaario and Farine (US 20040013042 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Oskin teaches the wearable processor platform and also teaches a processor- responsive depressible user input: alarm module 120 or monitor 125 may include a button or touch screen, and “the subject can depress a button” to provide an input used by control unit 130 ([0042]). Oskin does not teach a plurality of those switching devices arranged at respective first connector portions and operated through pressure at the corresponding garment connection elements. For the same reasons explained in claim 1, Kaario teaches multiple first/second connector locations distributed on the garment. Kaario does not teach processor-readable user-pressure switches at those locations.
Farine teaches the missing multi-input user-switching technique. Farine discloses seven control keys, including six keys 14-19 arranged at corresponding interface positions ([0016]). The keys are user- actuated by placing a finger on the outer face over the selected key ([0017]). During the memory game, the player “gives a sequence of answers” by successively operating the corresponding keys while the microprocessor receives and evaluates those inputs ([0028]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 8 does not require a particular pressure threshold; ordinary finger pressure/contact sufficient to actuate the key satisfies the recited manual operation by pressure.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to place Farine-type processor-readable switches at Kaario's multiple connector locations in the Oskin wearable platform. Oskin supplies the processor and known depressible user input, Kaario supplies distributed garment-electronics positions, and Farine supplies the known technique of providing multiple corresponding manual inputs for processor evaluation. Ordinary switch mounting and wiring would allow each switch to remain a user-actuated input while each Kaario connector remains a garment attachment/communication point. The predictable result is multiple localized manual switching signals delivered to the wearable controller. This is combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(A), and also applying a known input technique to a known device ready for improvement, MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oskin in view of Kaario, Farine, and Terrell et al. (US 20100292006 A1, "Terrell").
Regarding claim 12, Oskin teaches operating a wearable electronic device that includes a pocket or pouch housing electronic components, a control unit 130, and output components including an alarm module 120 and monitor 125 ([0030], [0037], [0041]-[0042]). In use, control unit 130 processes sensed information and operates the wearable device, including outputting warnings through alarm module 120 and information through monitor 125 ([0032], [0041]); a user can also depress an input button associated with alarm module 120 or monitor 125 ([0042]). Oskin does not expressly teach applying a removable smart bag to an item of clothing through separable connector portions. Kaario teaches the method of removably coupling garment electronics at multiple garment locations through mating first and second snap-connector portions; it depicts a detachable pocket 15 secured on a garment sleeve and first/second connector structures connected to garment fabric (col. 3, lines 45-65; col. 4, lines 1-15; Figs. 1-2 and 4-6). Together these teachings address the claimed condition of using a smart bag when applied to an item of clothing. Oskin and Kaario do not, by themselves, teach the ordered control-signal emission, subsequent user switching and order storage, and comparison-and-result storage required by method steps A-C.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kaario's removable, distributed garment-connector technique when operating Oskin's wearable electronics, including the electronics housed in a pouch or pocket. As to the scope and content of the prior art, Oskin discloses processor-operated garment electronics with sensed inputs and audio/visual outputs ([0030], [0041]-[0042]), while Kaario discloses mating snap connectors that detachably attach electronic components or a pocket to clothing and provide electrical communication (Abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 45-65; col. 5, lines 60-65 through col. 6, lines 1-4). The difference at this stage is that Oskin does not specify Kaario's removable two-part garment attachment in the operating method. A person of ordinary skill, familiar with wearable sensors, garment fasteners, electrical interconnections, and controller-operated interfaces, could attach Oskin's electronics-bearing pouch by Kaario's conventional snap portions and connect them through known conductors. Such a person would have selected this arrangement to permit the wearable electronics to be mounted and removed at selected clothing locations while preserving Oskin's sensing, input, processing, and notification functions. Each connector would continue providing its known mechanical/electrical coupling function; the pouch and controller would continue their known functions, and removable operation would predictably result. This supplies an affirmative, non-hindsight reason to make the Oskin-Kaario modification and a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR; Graham v. John Deere Co.; MPEP § 2143(I)(A), (D); MPEP § 2141.
Regarding claim 12, Step A, Oskin provides a data control and processing unit 130 and distinct processor-controlled output devices, including alarm module 120 and monitor 125 ([0041]-[0042]), but does not teach the claimed delivery of control signals to plural emitters in a predefined sequence. Farine teaches a programmed controller 24 and memory 25 that generate and store an ordered cue sequence ([0026); Fig. 9), after which the processor "temporarily and successively displays all the values of the sequence" ((0027]) using controllable display members, including hands 3 and 4 and LCD 9 ([0015], [0024]; Fig. 9). Farine further operates an electro-acoustic transducer 32 to emit corresponding sequence sounds ([0024], [0040]). Thus, Farine teaches a method of sending ordered processor control commands to cause corresponding output emissions. Applying that ordered-output control to Oskin's multiple output devices, with Kaario's wearable mounting arrangement, yields the recited step A of causing respective emitting devices to emit signals in a predefined delivery order.
Regarding claim 12, Step B, Oskin teaches receiving user input when a user depresses an input button of alarm module 120 or monitor 125 ([0042]) but does not teach collecting a plurality of switching responses in arrival order after the cue sequence. Kaario teaches mechanically engaged first and second connector portions at multiple clothing locations (Figs. 1-2 and 4-6); Farine teaches user-actuated keys 14-19 and a subsequent answer phase after the displayed cue sequence, in which the player successively operates corresponding keys ([0016]-[0017], [0027]-[0028]; Fig. 10, steps 44-45). For implementation at the connector locations, a processor-readable switch of the type taught by Oskin or Farine can be placed adjacent to a mechanically accessible connector so user pressure at the connector produces an input signal; this is the proposed integration, not an express Farine teaching of a garment snap switch. Terrell teaches assigning timestamps to received inputs and buffering the "input sequence and corresponding timestamps into an input dataset" ([0067]-[0068]; Fig. 7, operations 501-505), thereby retaining their order of arrival. Farine's successive cue/answer phases and Terrell's defined response windows ([0073]-[0074]) support detecting such signals after a preset interval, and Terrell's buffering supplies the expressly claimed storing of their arrival order.
Regarding claim 12, step C, Farine teaches that its microprocessor "compares each answer with the corresponding stored value" following receipt of the user's response sequence ([0028]; Fig. 10, step 46), thereby providing comparison of the presented order with the received user-response order. Terrell teaches comparing timestamped input data with a corresponding prompted cue sequence ([0018]-[0019], [0072]-[0074]; Fig. 7, operation 511), determining a score from the comparison ([0076]; Fig. 7, operation 513), and software "configured to store the score for a participant" ([0065]-[0066]). Farine's microprocessor 24 and memory 25 ([0026]; Fig. 9), together with Terrell's controller-side comparison embodiment ([0019]), provide the known processing and memory operations for implementing comparison and storage within the data control and processing unit used for steps A and B. Storing the comparison-derived score is storing a result of the comparison under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Neither an additional remote computer nor a specific data-storage format is required by independent claim 12.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement Farine’s known ordered cue/response method with the output, input, and wearable attachment capabilities established by Oskin and Kaario, and to apply Terrell's timestamping, buffering, comparison-result storage, and defined input-window technique. Oskin provides wearable electronics and user input/output; Kaario provides removable garment connection; Farine provides the ordered cue, response, and comparison method; and Terrell provides an ordered input dataset, comparison-result storage, and temporal input handling. Both Farine and Terrell address evaluating user responses to electronically generated cues. Known controller programming, electrical interconnection, memory, and timer operations would have allowed the technique to operate on the wearable platform without altering the sensing, attachment, cue, or response functions. The skilled artisan would have selected a preset response-detection interval following the cue-output phase using Farine’s sequential phases and Terrell's time-window teaching, with a reasonable expectation of achieving predictable ordered-input capture and stored comparison feedback. This is combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and applying a known technique to a method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See KSR; MPEP § 2143(I)(A), (D).
Regarding claim 13, Oskin does not teach forwarding a comparison-based output to a remote device for subsequent processing through the recited I/O interface. Kaario teaches wearable electronics and a communication system with devices able to “transmit and receive information” (col. 7, lines 1-14 and 25-40; Fig. 10). Farine and Terrell supply the comparison-derived result of the method of claim 12. Accordingly, the added step D is assessed on the express language of claim 13, rather than as an inherited limitation of apparatus claim 10.
Terrell further teaches the specific result-forwarding step. Paragraph [0019] teaches comparing the input dataset with the cue sequence at the controller and “transmitting results of the comparison from the controller module to the computing system.” Claim 32 recites the same transmission. Terrell then teaches using the comparison to determine a participant score ([0020]; claim 33), which is subsequent processing of the transmitted result. Terrell additionally teaches two-way wireless communication ([0009]) and wired communication alternatives ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to route the comparison result generated by the claim-12 method through Kaario's known wearable communication interface according to Terrell's comparison-result transmission technique. Kaario supplies an external electronic-device communication path, and Terrell teaches forwarding a comparison result to a separate computing system for scoring or further processing. Ordinary interface formatting and signal transmission would have been sufficient, the underlying cue/response and comparison functions would remain unchanged, and remote processing of the comparison result would predictably result. This is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oskin in view of Kaario, Farine, Terrell, and Morrison et al. (US 4216965 A, “Morrison”).
Regarding claim 14, Oskin, Kaario, Farine, and Terrell teach the wearable cue/response and comparison method addressed for claim 12, but do not teach an acoustic output whose sound depends on whether the user's response order matches the predefined order. Farine teaches that the sequence method is already sound-capable: its electro-acoustic transducer emits notes corresponding to sequence values under microprocessor control ([0024]) and displayed sequence values may be accompanied by corresponding notes in the acoustic embodiment ([0040]). Farine therefore supplies a processor- controlled sound emitter but does not expressly make the sound character depend on the match/non-match result. Because claim 14 recites steps A0 and/or E, its step-E alternative is sufficient to establish the added limitation for the claimed alternative considered here.
Morrison teaches the missing comparison-result-dependent acoustic feedback. Morrison explains that during game play “a tone or tone sequence referred to as a melody is transmitted denoting a wrong push button operation” and “a correct sequence push button operation melody” is also provided (col. 6, lines 18-29). Morrison further states that the processor is programmed “to compare the push button operation with the proper sequence order” and to control those distinct melodies (col. 6, lines 29-36; Fig. 6). Morrison therefore expressly links the comparison outcome to different audible feedback for correct and incorrect sequence operation.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply Morrison's known comparison-result-dependent sound technique to Farine's already sound- capable sequence method implemented on the Oskin-Kaario-Terrell wearable platform. Farine supplies processor- controlled acoustic sequence output and the ordered cue/response comparison; Morrison supplies the known technique of selecting different acoustic outputs according to whether the participant's response is correct or incorrect. Implementing that technique requires ordinary programming and routing of the comparison result to the sound emitter, leaving the comparison and sound-emitter functions unchanged, and predictably provides immediate acoustic match/non-match feedback. This is applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results, MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the disclosure as follows:
Merkel et al. (US 20070032981 A1), “Wearable Fitness Device And Fitness Device Interchangeable With Plural Wearable Articles” - removable/interchangeable electronic fitness devices associated with wearable articles.
Adidas AG (EP 2505090 A2), “Sensor Garment” - smart-garment sensing structures, conductive textile interconnections, and releasably associated wearable electronics.
Zheng (US 20070198121 A1; US 7808385 B2), “Interactive Clothing System” - interactive clothing having multiple garment touch-pad locations, sensors, processor-controlled audio/visual outputs, and game/training interactions.
Marmaropoulos (US 7344379 B2), “Magnetic Electrical Interconnect” - separable garment electrical connector portions using magnetic coupling; particularly pertinent to the magnetic alternative in claim 5.
Morrison et al. (US 4207087 A), “Microcomputer Controlled Game” - processor comparison of participant-entered sequences and audible error/win signaling. This reference is cumulative to Morrison (US 4216965 A) for claim 14 and is not separately applied.
Trindade, I. G., Machado da Silva, J., Miguel, R., Pereira, M., Lucas, J., Oliveira, L., Valentim, B., Barreto, J., & Santos Silva, M. (2016). Design and evaluation of novel textile wearable systems for the surveillance of vital signals. Sensors, 16(10), 1573. https://doi.org/10.3390/s16101573
ANDREW JAMES ELLIOTT
Examiner
Art Unit 3711
/ANDREW JAMES ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711