DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20, 22, 24-26 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitchen (US 2021/0213146).
Regarding claim 16, Kitchen discloses a wound dressing (1, 11) (Fig. 1) ([0015]; [0009], the electrified surface can be used as a bandage; [0017], medical gauze) for covering a wound ([0009], bandage; [0038], wound healing properties; capable of intended use), wherein the wound dressing comprises: a first layer (13, 12, 11) (annotated Fig. 1; it is noted that Fig. 1 is a pillowcase, however the specification discloses that the object body 11 may be a bandage or medical gauze)
configured for covering a wound ([0009], [0017], bandage or a piece of medical gauze; capable of intended use); a first electric lead (61) ([0021]; lead is defined as a wire, cable, or other conductor for making an electrical connection, collinsdictionary.com and the electric terminals 61 and 62 are a pair of wires for electrical connection per [0021] and are thus leads) contacting the first layer (Fig. 1); a second electric lead (62) (see above for description of 61 and 62 being leads) contacting the first layer (Fig. 1) at a location spaced apart from the first electric lead (Fig. 1); and an electric interface (51, 52) ([0020], electrical connector); wherein the first layer is electrically conductive (12) ([0016], the conductive feature is integrated into at least one specific surface) and provides an uninterrupted resistive conductor between the first electric lead and the second electric lead ([0016], the power supply applies a specified current through the conductive feature; [0021], electrical current carried across the conductive feature 12, [0015]; The at least one resistor 3 is used to appropriately restrict an electrical current through the present invention in order to prevent the short circuit of any electrical components of the present; Thus the first layer 13 of which the conductor is a part of provides an uninterrupted resistive conductor between the first and second electric leads; [0022], Additionally the surface that carries a microcurrent can be comprised of a fabric which has been rendered conductive by using conductive fibers and thus there is provided an uninterrupted resistive conductor in that the fabric itself is resistive and has conductive particles in to conduct a current); wherein the electric interface is coupled to the first electric lead and the second electric lead (annotated Fig. 1; [0020], the conductive feature 12 is wired to the first electrical connecter to form an electrical connection with the power supply [0021]; The first electrical terminal 61 and the second electrical terminal 62 are positioned opposite to each other across the specific surface 13, which allows an electrical current to be carried from one side of the conductive feature 12 to the other side of the conductive feature 12; NOTE: it is implied in the text and seen in Fig. 1 that as the electrical terminals [first and second leads] are connected to the connector [electric interface] which is connected to the power supply and are connected to the first layer that the conductive feature is coupled to the connector [electric interface] via the terminals [first and second leads] and thus the electric interface is coupled to the first and second leads), and is configured to be operationally coupled to an electric power source (Fig. 1, [0020], the power source is electrically wired to the second electrical connector 52) that is configured to generate an electric current passing through the first layer between the first electric lead and the second electric lead ([0021], an electrical current is carried across the conductive feature via the electrical terminals connectors and power source); and wherein the first layer is inert to the electric current passing through the first layer (as best as can be understood by Applicant’s specification [page 5, line 36 to page 6, line 9] the first layer being inert means no chemicals or substances are released from the first layer by the electrical current passing through the first layer and, worded differently, the first layer may be arranged to maintain its structural or chemical properties at a conduction of an electric current through the first layer and as in Kitchen there has be no disclosure that the first layer has chemicals or substances released it discloses that it is inert per Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claim 17, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the first layer defines a wound area for covering the wound ([0017], open wound; NOTE: area for covering the open wound is a wound area), the wound area having a first side (Fig. 1, left side) and an opposite second side (Fig.1, right side), and wherein the first electric lead is positioned at the first side (lead 61 is positioned at the first side [left side]) and the second electric lead is positioned at the second side (lead 62 is positioned at the second side [right side]).
Regarding claim 18, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the first layer has an inner surface and an outer surface (annotated Fig. 1 below),
and wherein the first electric lead and the second electric lead contact the outer surface of the first layer ([0021], annotated Fig. 1 above where the leads 61 and 62 are mounted on surface 11 which is a part of the first layer).
Regarding claim 19, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein first layer has an inner surface and an outer surface (see annotated Fig. 1 above with regard to claim 18), and wherein the first electric lead and the second electric lead are embedded in the first layer between the inner surface and the outer surface ([0021], the first and second electric terminals can be embedded into the seams of the textile).
Regarding claim 20, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the wound dressing is a single-layer dressing (Fig. 1 shows a single layer 13, 11 , 12 in that they are all connected into a single layer).
Regarding claim 22, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the wound dressing further comprises: an outer additional layer (71) attached to the first layer (Fig. 1), wherein the outer additional layer is electrically insulating ([0021], first insulative rivet is a layer; layer is defined as something lying over or under something, dictionary.com and as the rivet is insulative and is lying over layer 13 it is an electrically insulating layer).
Regarding claim 24, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the wound dressing further comprises: an inner additional layer (71) (Fig. 1, rivet 71 is an inner additional layer as it has an inner surface and can be considered inner depending on positioning) attached to the first layer ([0021]; attached via object body 11 which can be medial gauze), wherein the inner additional layer is electrically insulating ([0021], first insulative rivet is a layer; layer is defined as something lying over or under something, dictionary.com and as the rivet is insulative and is lying over layer 13 it is an electrically insulating layer).
Regarding claim 25, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the electric interface is configured for a wired power transfer from the electric power source ([0020], the first electrical connector [interface] is detachably and electrically engaged to the second connector so that the closed circuit 4 is completed between the resistor the conductive feature and the power supply); wherein the electric interface comprises a first fixed connector part (51) and a second fixed connector part (52); wherein each of the first fixed connector part and the second fixed connector part is a single-terminal connector part ([0020]; Fig. 2, as the connectors connect to each other they form a single-terminal connector part when connected); wherein the first fixed connector part is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead, and the second fixed connector part is coupled to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead (a lead is a wire, cable, or other conductor for making an electrical connection, collinsdictionary.com; [0020], as the resistor and the conductive feature 12 are electrically wired to the first electrical connector 51, which allows the resistor 3 and the conductive feature 12 to readily form an electrical connection with the power supply, it is implied that there is a third electrical lead [wire, cable or other conductor for making an electrical connection] coupling the first fixed connector part to the first electric lead [which is in electrical communication with the conductive feature 12, as described in Kitchen, [0021] and above with regard to the claim 16 element of the first layer providing an uninterrupted resistive conductor]; and per [0021], the second connector is coupled to the first connector via a pair of banana plugs [per the definition of a lead a banana plug is a wire, cable or other conductor for making an electrical connection] and as the first connector is coupled to the first and second electrical leads it is implied that the second connector is coupled to the second electric lead via a fourth electric lead [one of the banana plugs] of the connector which is coupled to the first and second electric leads); wherein the first layer defines a wound area configured for covering the wound ([0017], open wound; NOTE: area for covering the open wound is a wound area); and wherein the first fixed connector part the and second fixed connector part are spaced apart from the wound area (Fig. 1; [0017], the skin bracing object 1 is a textile [such as medical gauze] that adjusts to the contours of the skin, the gauze 11 [body of the skin bracing object] would be in contact with the skin and the first and second connector parts which are shown in Fig. 1 to be spaced apart from the object body 11 which contours the skin [which includes a wound area] and thus the connector parts would be spaced apart from the wound area).
Regarding claim 26, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the electric interface is configured for a wired power transfer from the electric power source (Fig. 1, [0020], the first electrical connector is detachably and electrically engaged to the second connector so that the closed circuit 4 is completed between the resistor the conductive feature and the power supply); wherein the electric interface comprises a single fixed connector part (Fig. 1, [0020], electrical connectors 51, 52 are connected to each other and thus form a single fixed connector part); wherein the single fixed connector part is a two-terminal connector part (a terminal is defined as an electrical apparatus for convenience in making connections, merriamwebster.com; [0020], two banana plugs are two terminals in that they make electrical connections); wherein the fixed connector part is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead (a lead is a wire, cable, or other conductor for making an electrical connection, collinsdictionary.com; [0020], as the resistor and the conductive feature 12 are electrically wired to the first electrical connector 51, which allows the resistor 3 and the conductive feature 12 to readily form an electrical connection with the power supply, it is implied that there is a third electrical lead [wire, cable or other conductor for making an electrical connection] coupling the first fixed connector part to the first electric lead [which is in electrical communication with the conductive feature 12, as described in Kitchen, [0021] and above with regard to the claim 16 element of the first layer providing an uninterrupted resistive conductor); and to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead ([0021], the single fixed connector includes two parts coupled together via a pair of banana plugs [per the definition of a lead a banana plug is a wire, cable or other conductor for making an electrical connection] and as the first connector of the single fixed part is coupled to the first and second electrical leads it is implied that the second connector of the single fixed part is coupled to the second electric lead via a fourth electric lead [one of the banana plugs] of the connector which is coupled to the second electric leads as the connector is coupled to the first lead which is coupled to the second lead per [0021] which discloses electrical current is carried across the conductive feature 12 via the first and second electric terminals [leads]); wherein the first layer defines a wound area configured for covering the wound ([0017], open wound; NOTE: area for covering the open wound is a wound area); and wherein the fixed connector part is spaced apart from the wound area (Fig. 1; [0017], the skin bracing object 1 is a textile [such as medical gauze] that adjusts to the contours of the skin, the gauze 11 [body of the skin bracing object] would be in contact with the skin and the first and second connector parts which are shown in Fig. 1 to be spaced apart from the object body 11 which contours the skin [which includes a wound area] and thus the connectors would be spaced apart from the wound area).
Regarding claim 29, Kitchen discloses a wound dressing system (1, 11, 12, 13) (Fig. 1) ([0015]; [0009], the electrified surface can be used as a bandage; [0017] medical gauze), comprising: (1) a wound dressing (11) ([0017]), comprising:(a) a first layer (13, 12, 11) configured for covering a wound ([0009], [0017], bandage or a piece of medical gauze; capable of intended use); (b) a first electric lead (61) ([0021]; lead is defined as a wire, cable, or other conductor for making an electrical connection, collinsdictionar.com and the electric terminals 61 and 62 are a pair of wires for electrical connection per [0021] and are thus leads) contacting the first layer; annotated Fig. 1 above with regard to claim 16); (c) a second electric lead (62) (see above for description of 61 and 62 being leads) contacting the first layer (annotated Fig. 1) at a location spaced apart from the first electric lead (annotated Fig. 1 above with regard to claim 16); and(d) an electric interface (51, 52) ([0020], electrical connector); wherein the first layer is electrically conductive (12) ([0016], the conductive feature is integrated into at least one specific surface) and constitutes an uninterrupted resistive conductor ([0016], the power supply applies a specified current through the conductive feature; [0021], electrical current carried across the conductive feature 12, [0015]; The at least one resistor 3 is used to appropriately restrict an electrical current through the present invention in order to prevent the short circuit of any electrical components of the present; Thus the first layer 13 of which the conductor is a part of provides an uninterrupted resistive conductor; [0022], Additionally the surface that carries a microcurrent can be comprised of a fabric which has been rendered conductive by using conductive fibers and thus there is provided an uninterrupted resistive conductor in that the fabric itself is resistive and has conductive particles in to conduct a current) between the first electric lead and the second electric lead (Fig. 1, element 13 is in between the two leads); and wherein the electric interface is coupled to the first electric lead and the second electric lead (annotated Fig. 1; [0020], the conductive feature 12 is wired to the first electrical connecter to form an electrical connection with the power supply [0021]; The first electrical terminal 61 and the second electrical terminal 62 are positioned opposite to each other across the specific surface 13, which allows an electrical current to be carried from one side of the conductive feature 12 to the other side of the conductive feature 12; NOTE: it is implied in the text and seen in Fig. 1 that as the electrical terminals [first and second leads] are connected to the connector [electric interface] which is connected to the power supply and are connected to the first layer that the conductive feature is coupled to the connector [electric interface] via the terminals [first and second leads] and thus the electric interface is coupled to the first and second leads); and wherein the first layer is inert to an electric current passing through the first layer (as best as can be understood by Applicant’s specification [page 5, line 36 to page 6, line 9]the first layer being inert means no chemicals or substances are released from the first layer by the electrical current passing through the first layer and, worded differently, the first layer may be arranged to maintain its structural or chemical properties at a conduction of an electric current through the first layer and as in Kitchen there has be no disclosure that the first layer has chemicals or substances released it discloses that it is inert per Applicant’s specification); and (2) an electric power source operationally coupled to the electric interface and configured for generating an electric current between the first electric lead and the second electric lead via the first layer ([0021], an electrical current is carried across the conductive feature via the electrical terminals connectors and power source) for reducing microbiological growth in or on the first layer (capable of intended use; [0016]; [0009]).
Regarding claim 30, Kitchen discloses a method for reducing microbiological growth in or on a wound dressing (1) ([0008]; [0009]; [0015]), wherein the method comprises: (1) providing a wound dressing comprising: (a) a first layer (13, 12, 11) configured for covering a wound ([0009], [0017], bandage or a piece of medical gauze; capable of intended use; annotated Fig. 1 with regard to claim 16 above); (b) a first electric lead (61) ([0021]; lead is defined as a wire, cable, or other conductor for making an electrical connection, collinsdictionar.com and the electric terminals 61 and 62 are a pair of wires for electrical connection per [0021] and are thus leads) contacting the first layer (annotated Fig. 1 above with regard to claim 16, leads contact the first layer which element 11 is a part of; [0021] first and second terminals mounted onto the object body); (c) a second electric lead (62) (see above for description of 61 and 62 being leads) contacting the first layer (Fig. 1, [0021]; see above regarding first terminal) at a location spaced apart from the first electric lead (annotated Fig. 1 above); and(d) an electric interface (51, 52) ([0020], electrical connector); wherein the first layer is electrically conductive (12) ([0016], the conductive feature is integrated into at least one specific surface) and constitutes an uninterrupted resistive conductor between the first electric lead and the second electric lead ([0016], the power supply applies a specified current through the conductive feature; [0021], electrical current carried across the conductive feature 12, [0015]; The at least one resistor 3 is used to appropriately restrict an electrical current through the present invention in order to prevent the short circuit of any electrical components of the present; Thus the first layer 13 of which the conductor is a part of provides an uninterrupted resistive conductor; [0022], Additionally the surface that carries a microcurrent can be comprised of a fabric which has been rendered conductive by using conductive fibers and thus there is provided an uninterrupted resistive conductor in that the fabric itself is resistive and has conductive particles in to conduct a current);); wherein the electric interface is coupled to the first electric lead and the second electric lead (Fig. 1; [0020], the conductive feature 12 is wired to the to the first electrical connecter to form an electrical connection with the power supply [0021]; The first electrical terminal 61 and the second electrical terminal 62 are positioned opposite to each other across the specific surface 13, which allows an electrical current to be carried from one side of the conductive feature 12 to the other side of the conductive feature 12; NOTE: it is implied in the text and seen in Fig. 1 that as the electrical terminals [first and second leads] are connected to the connector [electric interface] which is connected to the power supply and are connected to the first layer that the conductive feature is coupled to the connector [electric interface] via the terminals [first and second leads [leads which are defined as electrical conductors] and thus the electric interface is coupled to the first and second leads) and is configured to be operationally coupled to an electric power source (Fig. 1, [0020], the power source is electrically wired to the second electrical connector 52) so as to generate an electric current passing through the first layer between the first electric lead and the second electric lead ([0016], the power supply applies a specified current through the conductive feature; [0021], electrical current carried across the conductive feature 12, [0015]; The at least one resistor 3 is used to appropriately restrict an electrical current through the present invention in order to prevent the short circuit of any electrical components of the present; Thus the first layer 13 of which the conductive feature is a part of provides an electric current passing through the first layer 13 between the first and second electric leads); and wherein the first layer is inert to the electric current passing through the first layer (as best as can be understood by Applicant’s specification [page 5, line 36 to page 6, line 9]the first layer being inert means no chemicals or substances are released from the first layer by the electrical current passing through the first layer and, worded differently, the first layer may be arranged to maintain its structural or chemical properties at a conduction of an electric current through the first layer and as in Kitchen there has be no disclosure that the first layer has chemicals or substances released it discloses that it is inert per Applicant’s specification); (2 )applying the wound dressing so as to cover a wound ([0017], textile such as a medical gauze adjusts to the contours of the skin and disinfect an open wound); and (3) operating the electric power source to generate an electric current in the first layer ([0019], the current is modified by the power supply to electrify pathogens in physical contact with the specific surface 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchen (US (US 2021/0213146) as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Daskal (US 2005/0085751).
Regarding claim 21, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen does not disclose wherein the first layer is adhesive.
Daskal teaches an analogous wound dressing (10) ([0044]) that comprises an analogous first layer (20) configured for covering a wound ([0044]); an analogous first electric lead (14) contacting the first layer (Fig. 1, [0044]); an analogous second electric lead (16) contacting the first layer ([0044]), wherein the first layer is adhesive ([0047], adhesive covering a portion of the first layer 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the first layer of the wound dressing of Kitchen is adhesive, as taught by Daskal, in order to provide an improved wound dressing that facilitates the dressing adhering to the wounds or surrounding skin/tissue (Daskal, [0047]).
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchen (US (US 2021/0213146) as applied to claim 16 above, in view of Daskal (US 2005/0085751) and in further view of Yamahiro (US 2007/0135602).
Regarding claim 22, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen does not explicitly disclose an outer additional layer attached to the first layer, wherein the outer additional layer is electrically insulating
Daskal teaches an analogous wound dressing (10) ([0044]) that comprises an analogous first layer (20) configured for covering a wound ([0044]); an analogous first electric lead (14) contacting the first layer (Fig. 1, [0044]); an analogous second electric lead (16) contacting the first layer ([0044]), wherein the wound dressing further comprises: an outer additional layer (22) attached to the first layer (Fig. 1; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the wound dressing of Kitchen further comprises: an additional outer layer attached to the first layer, as taught by Daskal, in order to provide an improved wound dressing that facilitates the dressing adhering to the wounds or surrounding skin/tissue (Daskal, [0047]).
Kitchen in view of Daskal discloses the invention as described above.
Kitchen in view of Daskal does not disclose wherein the outer additional layer is electrically insulating.
Yamahiro teaches an analogous wound dressing (bandage, [0006]) comprising an analogous outer layer ([0006], adhesive) that is electrically insulating ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the outer additional layer of Kitchen in view of Daskal is electrically insulating, as taught by Yamihiro, in order to provide an improved wound dressing that has excellent heat and cold resistance, no skin irritation and electrical insulating properties (Yamahiro, [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, Kitchen in view of Daskal and in further view of Yamihiro discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 22.
The combination further discloses wherein the outer additional layer is an adhesive backing layer extending from the first layer (The combination teaches an outer additional layer [adhesive layer 22 of Daskal] extending from the first layer of Kitchen and the adhesive layer 22 of Daskal is an adhesive backing layer in that it backs the first layer of Kitchen in the combination).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitchen (US (US 2021/0213146) in view of Case-Gustafson (US 2015/0182384) as evidenced by Moreshead (US 2016/0106577).
Regarding claim 27, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen does not disclose wherein the electric interface is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source; wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver configured for wireless electric power transfer; and wherein the first electric lead and the second electric lead form part of the receiver.
Case-Gustafon teaches an analogous dressing ([0062]; skin covering element), wherein the analogous dressing comprises an analogous first layer ([0062], first and second electrically conductive region), an analogous first lead contacting the first layer ([0062]; jumper element comprises an electrically conductive material [per definition of a lead as in claim 16 a jumper element that is electrically conductive is a lead]; [0062], there are one or more of a jumper element so there is a first lead and a second lead and as seen in Fig. 9, a lead 970 [jumper] contacts a first layer); an analogous second lead contacting the first layer ([0021], one of the jumper elements, see description above with regard to the first jumper element); an analogous electric interface ([0062], electrical interface), wherein the electric interface is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source ([0062], the jumper element is received by the electrical interface and is arranged to receive electric power from an external source through inductive means; NOTE: inductive means are wireless as evidenced by Moreshead, [0040]); wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver configured for wireless electric power transfer ([0062], it is inherent that there is a received configured for wireless electric power transfer as the jumper element which is a part of the electrical interface is configured to receive power inductively/wireless and thus has a receiver); and wherein the first electric lead and the second electric lead form part of the receiver ([0062], one or more jumpers [analogous leads] receive electric power from an external source wireless and it is implied that they form part of the receiver as they receive power through an external source through inductive/wireless means).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that the electric interface of the wound dressing of Kitchen is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source; wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver configured for wireless electric power transfer; and wherein the first electric lead and the second electric lead form part of the receiver, as taught by Case-Gustafon, in order to provide an improved wound dressing that facilitate transmitting electrical signals via inductive communication (Case-Gustafon, [0062]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 28, Kitchen discloses the invention as described above with regard to claim 16.
Kitchen further discloses wherein the electric interface is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead (see description above with regard to claim 26) and to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead (see description above with regard to claim 26); and wherein the electric interface is positioned between the first electric lead and the second electric lead (Fig. 1).
Kitchen does not disclose wherein the electric interface is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source; wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver for wireless electric power transfer; wherein the receiver is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead and to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead; and wherein the receiver is positioned between the first electric lead and the second electric lead.
Case-Gustafon teaches an analogous dressing ([0062]; skin covering element), wherein the analogous dressing comprises an analogous first layer ([0062], first and second electrically conductive region), an analogous first lead contacting the first layer ([0062]; jumper element comprises an electrically conductive material [per definition of a lead as in claim 16 a jumper element that is electrically conductive is a lead]; [0062], there are one or more of a jumper element so there is a first lead and a second lead and as seen in Fig. 9, a lead 970 [jumper] contacts a first layer); an analogous second lead ([0021], one of the jumper elements, see description above with regard to the first jumper element; an analogous electric interface ([0062], electrical interface); wherein the electric interface is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source ([0062], the jumper element is received by the electrical interface and is arranged to receive electric power from an external source through inductive means; NOTE: inductive means are wireless as evidenced by Moreshead, [0040); wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver for wireless electric power transfer ([0062], it is inherent that there is a receiver configured for wireless electric power transfer as the jumper element which is a part of the electrical interface is configured to receive power inductively/wireless and thus has a receiver).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide that that the electric interface of the wound dressing of Kitchen is configured for a wireless power transfer from the electric power source; wherein the electric interface comprises a receiver configured for wireless electric power transfer, as taught by Case-Gustafon, in order to provide an improved wound dressing that facilitates transmitting electrical signals via inductive communication (Case-Gustafon, [0062]; [0063]).
Kitchen in view of Case-Gustafon discloses the invention as described above. The combination further discloses wherein the receiver is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead and to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead (as the connector [electric interface] of Kitchen is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead and to a second electric lead by a fourth electric lead [Kitchen discloses these elements as described above with regard to this claim and clam 26], and as Case-Gustafon teaches the electric interface comprises a receiver it would follow that the electric interface of Kitchen comprises a receiver in the combination, and thus the receiver is coupled to the first electric lead by a third electric lead and to the second electric lead by a fourth electric lead as the electric interface of Kitchen is coupled in this way and thus so too is the receiver which the electric interface comprises in the combination); and wherein the receiver is positioned between the first electric lead and the second electric lead (in the combination Kitchen discloses the electric interface is positioned between the first electric lead and the second electric lead and in the combination Case-Gustafon teaches the electric interface comprises a receiver thus in the combination the receiver is positioned between the first electric lead and the second electric lead).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Karuta (US 2009/0204189) discloses a wound dressing (1) (Fig. 3) ([0042], therapeutic device adhered to the surface of a living body or living tissue to cure the living body; dressing is defined as material used to dress or cover a wound, dictioanary.com; NOTE: as the device is adhered to tissue of a body it is capable of intended use of covering a wound) for covering a wound ([0042], adhered to the human body, capable of intended use; as all the claimed limitations are met, the apparatus meets the intended use), wherein the wound dressing comprises: a first layer (13c, 12, 11) (annotated Fig. 3) configured for covering a wound ([0042], [0042], adhered to the human body, capable of intended use); a first electric lead (13a) (Fig. 3 above; NOTE: Applicant’s specification, page 2, lines 24-29 recites that the terms lead and electrode are replaceable with each other so here a lead is equivalent to an electrode) contacting the first layer (Fig. 3, electrode 13a is within layer 1 and is thus contacting it); a second electric lead (13b) (Fig. 3; see description above pertaining to a lead being an electrode per Applicant’s specification) contacting the first layer (Fig. 3, electrode 13b is within layer 1 and is thus contacting it) at a location spaced apart from the first electric lead (annotated Fig. 3); and an electric interface ([0083], see wire in Fig. 1 connected to current control means which is connected to an electric power source at one end and to a device 1 at the other end).
Smithers (US 2008/0275374) discloses a wound dressing (2) (Fig. 1) for covering a wound ([0025], [0033], bandage is in an operative position about the wound), wherein the wound dressing comprises: a first layer (13, 11) configured for covering a wound ([0035], bandage in operative position about the wound, capable of intended use); a first electric lead (26a) contacting the first layer (35); a second electric lead (26B) contacting the first layer (35) at a location spaced apart from the first electric lead (Fig. 1); and an electric interface (34).
/G.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/ALIREZA NIA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786