DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goenka
et al. (US 2018/0347080).
Goenka et al. (hereinafter Goenka) discloses a pile yarn for
towel cloth, subparagraph 31 which is a pile yarn to be used for a towel cloth woven as a
pile woven fabric including a pile yarn, a warp ground yam (1020) and a weft ground
yarn (104), subparagraphs 32 and 60 wherein the pile yarn is a sheath-core spun yarn in
which a core cotton fiber is twisted in one direction about a sheath core spun yarn/sliver that is
arranged parallel to a yarn axis, subparagraphs 55 and 72 and as shown in figure 3a. The water
soluble fiber yarn is a water soluble PVA yarn being dissolved/dissolution when the pile woven
fabric is bleached, subparagraph 38.
However, Goenka does not show the water soluble fiber yarn wound in reverse direction in which the core cotton fiber is twisted. Subparagraph 55 of Goenka discloses the spun yarns can be twisted in reverse direction with S twist.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention that the water soluble fiber yarn wound over the core cotton fiber of Goenka can be reversed twisted in S counter-clock direction, etc. depending of draft speed of winding machine or as required for particular application thereof.
With regard to claim 2, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the pile yarn of Goenka is substantially air -spun yarn when being drafted through step 206, subparagraph 60.
With regard to claim 3, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the core and sheath fibers of Goenka as shown in figures 3A and 4A are substantially switched to each other by migration and/or blending as known in the textile art or as required for a particular application thereof.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goenka as
applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Debnath et al. (US 2019/0186054).
Goenka discloses the invention as set forth above except for having the pile yarn with a
twist multiplier for the sheath core spun yarn and the water soluble fiber yarn is in excess
of 0 and not more than 4.0.
Debnath et al, (hereinafter discloses) a pile yarn with a twist multiplier for the sheath
core spun yarn and the water soluble fibers between 3.3 to 3.8, subparagraph 62.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective
date of the claimed invention that the pile yarn with a twist multiplier for the sheath core
spun yarn and the water soluble fiber yarn of Goenka can be between 3.3 to 3.8 as taught
by Debnath being in excess of 0 and not more than 4.0 in order to uniformly and radially
distribute fibers across cross section of the yarn during roving or as required for a
particular application thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base
claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Each of the prior art references cited on PTO-892 discloses a pile yarn made
of weft and warp
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
December 12, 2025 /TAJASH D PATEL/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3732