DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, it is not clear whether the “milled silica” is referred to after the first or second milling steps. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clear as drafted.
Regarding claim 8, the ranges here for component b are not possible as it is not possible for there to be 40% of component a, and 90% of component b at the end points. When there is 40% of component a (the lower minimum point), the sum of all remaining components must be less than or equal to 100%.
Likewise, when there is 80% component a, and 20% of component b, there is no additional component allowed to be present. Also, when there is 50% of component c, the end point of either component a or component b is impossible to reach. Thus, the claim contains values that are not possible to be reached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Frahn et al. (US Patent No. 6,593,393), hereinafter Frahn.
Regarding claims 1-3, Frahn discloses a silica material (1:40-2:2) produced by a ball mill and an air jet mill in two steps (3:33-3:35). According to MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are not limited by the recited steps, but only the structure implied by the recited steps.
While Frahn discloses two distinct milling steps within a ball mill and an air jet mill (Example 1, 3:33-3:35), and demonstrates that the tapped density increases, and then decreases, the final density would be presumed to be as is claimed, having gone through the same two steps. Additionally or alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the tapped density of the product changes as it is milled.
Regarding claim 4, Frahn discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the tapped density of the milled silica is 20-100 g/l (specifically 52 g/l in Example 3 at 5:55 in the Table).
Regarding claims 5-6, Frahn discloses the subject matter of claim 5, and further discloses that the silica is silanized or surface modified using a silane, including hexamethyldisilane (1:20-1:23).
Regarding claim 7, Frahn discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the silica includes 10% of the weight (3:66-3:67) within a liquid curable composition.
Regarding claim 8, Frahn discloses the subject matter of claim 7, and further discloses that the composition includes an epoxyacrylate (Example 2, Experiment 1), 10% silica (3:65), 3% photoinitiator (4:32). Components D and F are optional (lower end point of 0%).
Regarding claim 9, Frahn discloses the subject matte rof claim 7, and further discloses depositing a layer of the material (4:31-4:36) and irradiating the material, as well as repeating the depositing (Experiment 3).
Regarding claim 10, Frahn discloses the subject matter of claim 7, and further discloses irradiating the composition (4:31-4:36). A coating is technically three dimensional, as it forms a layer of material.
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742