DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the contact surface being a curved surface (see claim 3) and 5-12 pile guides (see claim 27) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the contact surface" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “similar apparatus.” Similar is a relative term of degree and it is unclear as to what features would qualify another apparatus as being “similar” to the claimed apparatus.
Claims 17-18 are rejected as a result of their dependency from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10, 12, 14, 16-18, 20, 22, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,625,983 to Lachance et al. (“Lachance”).
Regarding claim 1, Lachance discloses an apparatus 52 (see Figs. 7 and 8c) for engaging an upright element, the apparatus comprising: an engaging portion (54, 58, or both 54 and 58 collectively) having an open region (area between 54 and 58) configured to accept an upright element (see Fig. 8c) engaged by the apparatus from a generally lateral direction and make contact therewith, and one or more pile guides 60 associated with the engaging portion, the pile guides configured to guide a pile generally downwardly into an underlying substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Lachance discloses that the engaging portion 54, 58, or both 54 and 58 collectively) comprises a contact surface for contacting a lateral surface of the upright element.
Regarding claim 3, Lachance discloses that the contact surface is a planar surface, or a surface formed by two planar surface portions intersecting at an angle, or a surface formed by two planar surface portions intersecting at an angle of about 90 degrees, or a surface formed by two planar surface portions forming an internal corner.
Regarding claim 4, Lachance discloses that the contact surface is configured to contact part but not all of the outer lateral surface of the upright element.
Regarding claim 6, Lachance discloses that the engaging portion 54, 58 is, or comprises, a plate or other generally planar shape.
Regarding claim 10, Lachance discloses that the engaging portion comprises or is associated with a support (58 functions as a support, see Fig. 8b) for supporting a downwardly facing end of the upright element.
Regarding claim 12, Lachance discloses that the support is a ledge 58 associated with or connected to the contact surface.
Regarding claim 14, Lachance discloses that the upright element is a post, a pole, a column, or a stump.
Regarding claim 16, Lachance discloses a connection region 56 or 44 configured to connect the apparatus to another same or similar apparatus.
Regarding claim 17, Lachance discloses that the connection region comprises an aperture 56 configured to receive a fastener.
Regarding claim 18, Lachance discloses that the connection region comprises a protrusion 44, including a flange, a tab, an ear, or a lug.
Regarding claim 20, Lachance discloses an aperture 56 configured to receive a fastener extending into the upright member, wherein the aperture is within the engaging portion.
Regarding claim 22, Lachance discloses that the one or more pile guides 60 is/are connected to the engaging portion 58.
Regarding claim 24, Lachance discloses that the one or more pile guides 60 is/are a hollow elongate structure.
Regarding claim 25, Lachance discloses that a wall or part thereof of the one or more pile guides 60 is formed by the engaging portion or another part of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 26, Lachance discloses that the one or more pile guides 60 are configured so as to direct a pile into an underlying substrate at an angle to the vertical.
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12, 14, 16-18, 22, 24-26, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 1,077,028 to Bailey (“Bailey”).
Regarding claim 1, Bailey discloses an apparatus 3 for engaging an upright element, the apparatus comprising: an engaging portion 5 having an open region (groove 5) configured to accept an upright element 1 engaged by the apparatus from a generally lateral direction and make contact therewith, and one or more pile guides 9 associated with the engaging portion, the pile guides configured to guide a pile generally downwardly into an underlying substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Bailey discloses that the engaging portion 5 comprises a contact surface for contacting a lateral surface of the upright element.
Regarding claim 3, Bailey discloses that the contact surface (surface of 5 facing 1) is a curved surface.
Regarding claim 4, Bailey discloses that the contact surface (surface of 5 facing 1) is configured to contact part but not all of the outer lateral surface of the upright element.
Regarding claim 10, Bailey discloses that the engaging portion comprises or is associated with a support 6, 7 for supporting a downwardly facing end of the upright element.
Regarding claim 12, Bailey discloses that the support is a ledge 6, 7 associated with or connected to the contact surface.
Regarding claim 14, Bailey discloses that the upright element is a post, a pole, a column, or a stump.
Regarding claim 16, Bailey discloses a connection region 6, 7 configured to connect the apparatus to another same or similar apparatus.
Regarding claim 17, Bailey discloses that the connection region comprises an aperture (through which bolt 8 extends) configured to receive a fastener.
Regarding claim 18, Bailey discloses that the connection region comprises a protrusion 6, 7, including a flange, a tab, an ear, or a lug.
Regarding claim 22, Bailey discloses that the one or more pile guides 9 is/are connected to the engaging portion 5.
Regarding claim 24, Bailey discloses that the one or more pile guides 9 is/are a hollow elongate structure.
Regarding claim 25, Bailey discloses that a wall or part thereof of the one or more pile guides 9 is formed by the engaging portion or another part of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 26, Bailey discloses that the one or more pile guides 9 are configured so as to direct a pile into an underlying substrate at an angle to the vertical.
Regarding claim 30, Bailey discloses a system for engaging an upright element, the system comprising two apparatuses, each of the two apparatuses 3, 4 comprising: an engaging portion having an open region configured to accept an upright element 1 engaged by the apparatus 3, 4 from a generally lateral direction and make contact therewith, and one or more pile guides 9 associated with the engaging portion, the pile guides 9 configured to guide a pile 12 generally downwardly into an underlying substrate.
Regarding claim 31, Bailey discloses that the two apparatuses 3, 4 are substantially the same and/or mirror images of each other.
Regarding claim 32, Bailey discloses that the two apparatus 3, 4 are arranged in an opposing manner and connectable together about an upright member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lachance or Bailey.
Regarding claim 27, Lachance or Bailey does not disclose 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 or 12 pile guides. It has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the pile guides, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955). Additional pile guides would provide additional piles for added support to the upright structure.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633