DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/2/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the claims on 6/2/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 15 claims “A computer readable media… wherein the computer readable media stores one or more instructions.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, and absent an express definition in the Specification limiting “computer readable media” to non-transitory embodiments, this term encompasses transitory propagating signals, which are not directed to any of the four statutory categories of inventio (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and therefore not patent-eligible. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2007); MPEP 2106.03. This rejection may be overcome by amending claim 15 to positively recite that the computer readable media is “non-transitory,” provided such an amendment finds support in the Specification as filed.
Applicant can follow USPTO’s Subject Matter Eligibility for Computer Readable Media Guideline (http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/notices/101_crm_20100127.pdf) to overcome this 35 U.S.C 101 rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to for lack of proper antecedent basis. Claims 1 and 8, from which claims 4 and 11 respectively depend, establish “a unique pallet identification marker” and “the unique identification marker of the pallet.” Claims 4 and 11 subsequently refer to “the pallet identification mark”-a term not previously introduced. Applicant should amend “mark” to “marker” for consistency, or otherwise clarify the relationship between the two terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application 2022/0148156, Dwivedi et al. (hereinafter Dwivedi) in view of U.S. Patent 11164149 Williams et al. (hereinafter Williams) further in view of U.S. Patent 11836974 Perkins et al. (hereinafter Perkins).
2. Regarding Claim 1, Dwivedi discloses A method for counting items in a storehouse that includes a plurality of racks each including at least one pallet for storing one or more items, wherein each pallet is associated with a unique pallet identification marker and includes a plurality of layers of items arranged in one or more rows and columns (See [0032]-[0033], “an image capturing device (104) may be used to capture a plurality of images (105) comprising the one or more objects (102) stored on the pallet (101) in the inventory (100).”; Fig. 1. Further discloses cameras “at a plurality of predetermined locations such as on racks in the inventory (100).”, and that objects “may be stored on the pallet (101) at one or more levels of stacking.” The marker: “a Stock Keeping Unit (SKU) marker (103) may be associated with each of the one or more objects (102) stored on the pallet (101).”) , the method comprising:
enabling navigation of a remote imaging device based on the received input (Fig. 4A; [0058], “The one or more positions (401) are derived with the pallet (101) as the reference position.” Showing navigation of the imaging device relative to the identified pallet) for capturing a plurality of images of each of the one or more pallets;
for each of the one or more pallets:
receiving, from the remote imaging device, a plurality of images of the pallet ([0058], “the computing system (106) receives the plurality of images (105) from the image capturing device (104)… camera provided on the drone” Fig. 3: step 301);
selecting one or more images from the plurality of images and pre-processing the selected one or more images for accurately detecting one or more visible items present in the pre-processed images of the pallet ([0059], “the computing system (106) may identify the one or more images (105) which are blur-free and orthographic from the plurality of images (105)… which are blur-free and orthographic from the plurality of images.” [0034], “based on a sharpness value associated with a plurality of the pixels in an image.” Pre-processing: [0060],“the computing system (106) may retain one or more regions of an image… associated with the pallet (101).” Fig. 4B, such that “the one or more regions of the image outside the left edge, the right edge, the bottom edge and the top edge of the pallet (101) are removed.”);
processing the pre-processed images using a boundary detection model for determining bounding boxes of the one or more visible items present in the pre-processed images while removing… and removing items of neighboring pallets present in the pre-processed images ([0060], “one or more regions of the image within the left edge, the right edge, the bottom edge and the top edge of the pallet (101) are retained and the one or more regions of the image outside… are removed.” Which removes content belonging to neighboring pallets outside the identified pallet’s boundary.)
determining real-world three dimensional (3D) geographical coordinates of each bounding box by taking the unique identification marker of the pallet as a reference point (Fig. 4C; [0064], “The 3D location (402) may be measured using meters, centimeters, a count of pixels, a percentage with respect to a reference point such as the pallet marker (103).” Where the 3D location [0035], “distance (L) in x-direction, a distance (i.e. height (H)) in y-direction and a distance (i.e. depth (D)) in z-direction.”);
estimating height and depth levels of each of the one or more visible items using the real-world 3D geographical coordinates to generate a 2D top-view stacking pattern of each layer of items present in the pallet (““The Pattern – 1” and “The Pattern – 2” as shown in Fig. 4F denotes a top view of the one or more objects (102) stored on the pallet (101 at different levels (e.g., level – 1 and level-2)” see [0068]); and
determining a count of items present in the pallet by correlating the generated 2D top-view stacking pattern of each layer with one or more predefined stacking patterns (Fig. 4H; [0069]-[0070], “the computing system (106) selects one of the reference stacking pattern (406) for each level.” And subsequently [0080, “aggregates the first count and the second count to determine the stock (108) in the pallet (101).” Reads on the claimed count determination by correlation with predefined/reference stacking patterns.)
Dwivedi does not explicitly disclose receiving an input for counting items stored in one or more pallets of the plurality of racks, wherein the input includes at least one of location information and identification information of the one or more pallets;
processing the pre-processed images using a boundary detection model for determining bounding boxes… partially visible items present in the pre-processed images, removing side surfaces of the one or more visible items,
However, Williams teaches receiving an input for counting items stored in one or more pallets of the plurality of racks, wherein the input includes at least one of location information and identification information of the one or more pallets (Col. 18 lines 20-28, “controller 102 is configured to cause the aerial drone 100 to follow a flight path 1702 that causes the aerial drone 100 scan identifiers 1706 of inventory items 1704 located in a subset of the aisles of the storage facility 1700. In another implementation shown in FIG. 18, the controller 102 is configured to cause the aerial drone 100 to follow a flight path 1802 that causes the aerial drone 100 to travel to a particular (e.g., user selected or program selected) inventory item 1804.” Additionally states that Col. 8 lines 30-32, “the aerial drone 100 may be dispatched to a selected position within a selected aisle (e.g., using column and row selection, or the like).”);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D’s pallet-counting method by dispatching the drone-mounted image capturing device of D to a pallet selected via an input, as taught by Williams, because D already contemplates a drone-mounted camera and Williams teaches that dispatching a warehouse drone “to a selected position within a selected aisle (e.g., using column and row selection…)” allows an operator to audit a specific, identified pallet on demand rather than the entire facility- a predictable and desirable efficiency improvement using a known warehouse-drone navigation technique for its intended purpose.
Further, Perkins teaches processing the pre-processed images using a boundary detection model for determining bounding boxes (Col. 2 lines 30-35, “determining the corners for the rectangle within the respective monocular image frame includes using a machine learning model to determine the corners for the rectangle within the respective monocular image frame. The machine learning model may be a trained deep learning neural network.” The model outputting corners, faces, and a “box estimation” for boxes stacked on a pallet 30.” Reading on claimed boundary detection model and bounding boxes); … partially visible items present in the pre-processed images, removing side surfaces of the one or more visible items (Col. 12 lines 50-53, “the images 176a-b may be cropped to isolate the area of interest that includes the target box 202.” Handling of a box that is “missing…a box in the top right of the box stack” and boxes “setback towards a background,” i.e., accounting for occluded/partially-obscured boxes when generating the box estimate).
It further would have been obvious to substitute Dwivedi’s SKU-marker based item localization with Perkins’ deep-learning box-corner/box-estimation model, because Perkins is directed to solving substantially the same problem Dwivedi’s own disclosure identifies-accurate detection of stacked boxes on a pallet, including when markers are occluded or difficult to read -by detecting the carton’s geometry directly. Combining Perkins’ box detector as the front-end “boundary detection model” feeding Dwivedi’s unchanged downstream 3D-coordinate/stacking-pattern/ counting logic amounts to the predictable use of a known image-processing technique (deep-learning box/ corner detection) to improve a similar system (marker/vision-based pallet item counting) in the same way, yielding no more than the expected result of a more robust visible detection front end. See KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
3. Claim 8 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 1.
4. Claim 15 is an CRM claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 1.
5. Regarding Claim 2, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins discloses The method as claimed in claim 1,
Dwivedi discloses wherein selecting the one or more images includes:
[2a] filtering out non-blurred images from the plurality of images based on sharpness of image edges ([0034], “one or more images (105) which are blur-free may be identified based on a sharpness value associated with a plurality of the pixels in an image using one or more image processing techniques such as filtering, wavelet transforms, autocorrelation and the like.” Fig. 3: step 301); and
[2b] selecting the one or more images from the non-blurred images (blur-free) based on at least one of (only needs to teach one of the three sub-criteria):
[2b-i] determining that each of the one or more images includes the unique identification marker of the pallet;
[2b-ii] determining that each of the one or more images includes a full Field of View (FOV) of the pallet ([0058], “The plurality of images (105) captured by the image capturing device (104) in the one or more positions (401) includes the entire pallet (101) associated with the one or more objects (102). The entire pallet (101) is determined using at least one of a left edge of the pallet (101), a right edge of the pallet (101), a pallet marker (103) indicative of bottom edge of the pallet (101), the racks, a pallet marker (103) associated with another pallet (101) indicative of the top edge of the pallet (101) and the like.” Fig. 3: step 301/ Fig. 4A: discussion in [0058]); and
[2b-iii] determining that each of the one or more images includes non-noisy or readable frames.
6. Claim 9 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 2.
7. Regarding Claim 3, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins discloses The method as claimed in claim 1,
Dwivedi discloses wherein pre-processing the selected one or more images (only one of the two sub-limitations required) includes:
extracting a region of interest by masking unwanted portions from each of the selected one or more images while taking the unique pallet identification marker as a reference point ([0060], “the computing system (106) may retain one or more regions of an image… associated with the pallet (101) … one or more regions of the image within the left edge, the right edge, the bottom edge and the top edge of the pallet (101) are retained and the one or more regions of the image outside… are removed.” [0058], “The entire pallet (101) is determined using at least one of a left edge of the pallet (101), a right edge of the pallet (101), a pallet marker (103) indicative of bottom edge of the pallet (101), the racks, a pallet marker (103) associated with another pallet (101) indicative of the top edge of the pallet (101) and the like.”); and
However, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins performing gamma correction on each of the selected one or more images for enhancing image brightness.
Rejected on Official Notice per the statement above: gamma correction for image-brightness enhancement was well known in the art at the time of filing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply gamma correction to Dwivedi’s masked, marker-referenced image regions before further processing, because gamma correction is a well-known technique for improving image quality and recognition accuracy in digital image processing generally, and Dwivedi’s own disclosed pipeline already depends on image quality for correct operation. Dwivedi explicitly filters images based on a sharpness value to identify blur-free images before processing, confirming that image quality is recognized precondition for accurate downstream processing in this system. Applying a routine, well-known brightness-normalization technique to improve the quality of images entering that same pipeline, for the well-known purposes of improving image quality for better recognition, consistent with the well-established function gamma correction serves in the art is the application of a known technique to a known method to yield predictably result. SEE KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex INC., 550 U.S> 398 (2007).
8. Claim 10 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 3.
9. Regarding Claim 6, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins discloses The method as claimed in claim 1,
Williams discloses further including:
[6a] communicating with the remote imaging device to align a position of the remote imaging device (Col. 16 lines 26-32, “The controller 102 is then configured to cause the aerial drone 100 to maintain an alignment between the optical sensor 116 and the first identifier 1104 (e.g., by maintaining the current position of the aerial drone 100) for a predetermined time period or until the first identifier 1104 is recognized.”)
[6b] at a fixed distance away from the unique pallet identification marker for (Dwivedi: [0058], “The one or more positions (401) are derived with the pallet (101) as the reference position.” Establishing that capture position (which necessarily includes distance) is set relative to the marker/pallet as the reference. Williams: Col. 16 lines 29-30, “maintaining the current position of the aerial drone 100) for a predetermined time period.” Establishing that, once positioned, the drone holds that position constant for the duration of the capture, rather than continuously varying it.
Dwivedi discloses [6c]-capturing full Field of View (FOV) orthographic images of the pallet ([0034], “one or more images (105) which are orthographic may be identified from the plurality of images (105).” [0058], “The plurality of images (105) captured by the image capturing device (104) in the one or more positions (401) includes the entire pallet (101) associated with the one or more objects (102).”) .
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine William’s position holding technique with Dwivedi’s marker-referenced position derivation, because Dwivedi already requires the imaging device’s position relative to the pallet marker to be known in order to perform its 3D coordinate math, and Williams supplies the specific mechanism-holding the drone’s position constant during capture – for making that known position stable and repeatable rather than in continuously in flux.
10. Claim 13 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 6.
11. Claim(s) 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 10984378, Eckman et al. (hereinafter Eckman).
12. Regarding Claim 4, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins discloses The method as claimed in claim 1,
Dwivedi discloses wherein pre-processing the selected one or more images includes:
[4a] processing each of the selected one or more images to decode pallet information present in the pallet identification mark ([0067], “the computing system (106) may detect the identification value (403) in the SKU marker (103) associated with each of the one or more visible objects (102A)” [0032], “a Stock Keeping Unit (SKU) marker (103) may be associated with each of the one or more objects (102) stored on the pallet (101) in the inventory (100).” [0058], “a pallet marker (103) indicative of bottom edge of the pallet (101)”); and
[4b] correlating the decoded pallet information with a prestored mapping table to identify a corresponding Stock Keeping Unit identify (SKU-ID) of items stored in the pallet ([0068], “the computing system (106) may use the identification value (403) to identify one or more details (404) associated with the one or more objects (102) as shown in FIG. 4E. The one or more details (404) comprises at least a dimension (405) of the one or more objects (102)… The one or more details (404) may be stored in the storage medium (107) as shown in FIG. 4E. Further, the computing system (106) obtains the stacking pattern (406) for the one or more objects (102) corresponding to the each level from the one or more levels of stacking in the pallet (101),
Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins does not explicitly discloses wherein the SKU-ID provides information regarding [i] a type of items stored in the pallet,
[ii] a maximum number of items stored in the pallet, and one or more predefined stacking patterns associated with the items stored in the pallet.
Further, Eckman teaches wherein the SKU-ID provides information regarding [i] a type of items stored in the pallet (Col. 3 lines 39-48, “The contents of the pallet can include (i) a type of goods and (ii) a quantity of the type of goods contained in the pallet. The type of goods can be identified based, at least in part, on optical identification of one or more goods identifying markings from the images of the pallet… The one or more goods identifying markings can include a barcode identifying a SKU corresponding to the type of goods.”),
[ii] a maximum number of items stored in the pallet, and one or more predefined stacking patterns associated with the items stored in the pallet (Col. 3 Lines 40-56, “a quantity of the type of goods contained in the pallet… Determining the quantity of the type of goods can include identifying (i) a number of boxes contained within a layer of the pallet… and (ii) a number of layers of boxes contained within the pallet based on the size of the pallet and the size of the containers.”).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA combining Dwivedi’s SKY-triggered retrieval of stored pre-product details (dimension, stacking pattern) with Eckman’s disclosure that quantity of goods is a standard SKU-correlated data filed tracked in a warehouse pallet-profiling system, to also store and expected/maximum per-SKU quantity value retrievable alongside the dimension and stacking-pattern data Dwivedi already looks up, since a full pallet’s expected item count is a foreseeable, routine data field to maintain in the same product record used for dimension and stacking-pattern lookup.
13. Claim 11 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 4.
14. Regarding Claim 5, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins further in view of Eckman discloses The method as claimed in claim 4,
Dwivedi discloses wherein determining the count of items present in the pallet includes:
[5a]- identifying a corresponding reference stacking pattern for each layer by correlating the generated 2D top-view stacking pattern of each layer with the one or more predefined stacking patterns ([0070], “the computing system (106) selects one of the reference stacking pattern (406) having a minimum aggregated error as the stacking pattern (406) for each level from the one or more stacking patterns.”;
[5b]-identifying missing items (removed objects) in each layer by comparing the 3D geographical coordinates corresponding to the one or more visible items with corresponding reference stacking pattern of that layer ([0077], “the computing system (106) may identify the one or more objects (102) in front of the one or more visible objects (102A) as the one or more removed objects (412) using the forward scanning technique.”); and
[5c]-determining the count of items present in the pallet by subtracting a count of missing items of each layer from the maximum number of items ([0080], “the computing system (106) aggregates the first count [e.g., hidden objects 411] and the second count [e.g., visible objects 102A] to determine the stock (108) in the pallet (101).”).
15. Claim 12 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 5.
16. Regarding Claim 7, Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins discloses The method as claimed in claim 1, further including:
Williams discloses [7a] updating one or more databases associated with the storehouse (Col. 13 lines 57-63, “the communications interface 108 may be configured to transmit information from the controller 102/drone 100 to a warehouse management system (WMS) 2900 (sometimes referred to as an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system) for storing and/or updating information based on the information transmitted by the controller 102/drone 100.”), wherein the one or more databases include
Dwivedi discloses [7b-i] location information of each rack ([0033], “image capturing devices may be provided at a plurality of predetermined locations such as on racks in the inventory (100).”),
Dwivedi discloses [7b-viii] predefined stacking patterns associated with each type of items ([0068], “The one or more details (404) comprises at least a dimension (405) of the one or more objects (102) and the stacking pattern (406) for each level of stacking on the pallet (101). The one or more details (404) may be stored in the storage medium (107)”).
Dwivedi in view of Williams further in view of Perkins [7b-ii] dimensions of each rack, [7b-iii] location information of each pallet, [7b-iv ] dimensions of each pallet, [7b-v] identification information of each pallet
Further, Eckman teaches [7b-ii] dimensions of each rack (Col. 1 lines 26-29, “the dimension information for a pallet can be used to select an appropriately sized storage location in a warehouse for a pallet (e.g., rack location).”),
Further, Eckman teaches [7b-iii] location information of each pallet, [7b-iv ] dimensions of each pallet, [7b-v] identification information of each pallet (Col. 16 lines49-53, “Some of those parameters can include, but are not limited to, a pallet identification number 302, weight 304, dimensions 306 of the pallet… location 308 of the pallet in the warehouse.”),
Further, Eckman teaches [7b-vi] a maximum number of items stored in each pallet, [7b-vii] a type of items stored in each pallet (Col. 3 lines 39-43, “The contents of the pallet can include (i) a type of goods and (ii) a quantity of the type of goods contained in the pallet. The type of goods can be identified based, at least in part, on optical identification of one or more goods identifying markings from the images of the pallet.”),
It would have been obvious to a POSITA combining Dwivedi’s SKY-triggered retrieval of stored pre-product details (dimension, stacking pattern) with Eckman’s disclosure that quantity of goods is a standard SKU-correlated data filed tracked in a warehouse pallet-profiling system, to also store and expected/maximum per-SKU quantity value retrievable alongside the dimension and stacking-pattern data Dwivedi already looks up, since a full pallet’s expected item count is a foreseeable, routine data field to maintain in the same product record used for dimension and stacking-pattern lookup.
17. Claim 14 is an apparatus claim, rejected with respect to the same limitation rejected in method claim 7.
Conclusion
/OMER KHALID/Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422