DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para [0008] sets forth Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 4. It fails to set forth Fig. 3 and there isn’t a Fig. 4 in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6, line 2 sets forth “the cutters that are movable along the arms.” However, the specification fails to set forth what limitation moves the cutters along the arms. Specifically, the specification does not detail the control unit [4] also moving the cutters [21 and 22] along the arms [10 and 11], or another limitation responsible for this movement. As the drawings also fail to show a limitation responsible for the movement of the cutters [21 and 22], the claim is rejected for containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the arms" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Due to dependency on claim 2, claim 3 is rejected as well.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first arms" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Due to dependency on claim 4, claims 5-6 are rejected as well.
Claim 5, line 2 recites “additional cutters that are arranged on the arms.”, but is dependent on claim 4 that sets forth “additional arms” and “the first arms.” It is unclear which set of arms the additional cutters are arranged on and therefore the claim is rejected for being indefinite.
For the purpose of the examination, the examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean the additional cutters are arranged on the additional arms.
Claim 6, line 2 recites “the cutters that are movable along the arms.” However, it is unclear if the cutters in claim 6 are the “additional cutters” from claim 5 or the cutter from claim 1. Further, it is unclear if the arms are the “additional arms” or “the first arms” from claim 4; therefore, the claim is rejected for being indefinite.
For the purpose of the examination, the examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean the additional cutters of claim 5 are movable along the additional arms of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O’Brien et al. (US 2798354 A).
Regarding claim 1, O’Brien et al. teaches a hedge trimmer (see Fig. 7), comprising a rail ([42, 50 and 53], series of bars to support the cutter) that runs longitudinally ([42] runs longitudinally, see Fig. 7) and is attached to support legs ([28], see Fig. 1) anchored to the ground (through wheels [24], provides stability for the rail), a control unit ([100, 110 and 112]; motor to control the cutter, see Col. 4, lines 20-30) designed to move along the rail (see Fig. 7 and Col. 4, lines 17-20), and where a cutter ([104], see Col. 4, lines 17-22) arranged on the control unit is arranged to cut or prune the top of the hedge.
Examiner’s Note: while the support legs [28] are not shown in Fig. 7, the assembly contains the same structure of the embodiment of Figs. 1-6 (see Col. 4, lines 11-17).
Regarding claim 2, O’Brien et al. teaches the arms [44 and 48] that are attached to the control unit ([100, 110 and 112;p attached to control unit through connection to rail [42, 50 and 53]).
Regarding claim 3, O’Brien et al. teaches the arms [44 and 48] which are extendable (see Col. 2, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 4, O’Brien et al. teaches additional arms ([70 and 72], see Figs. 4 and 7) that are attached to the first arms ([44 and 48]; through rail [42, 50 and 53]) and extending downwards along the sides of the hedge (extend downwards to trim the sides of the hedge through cutter [84], see Figs 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, O’Brien et al. teaches additional cutters ([82], one on either side, see Col. 3, lines 63-66) that are arranged on the arms [70 and 72].
Regarding claim 6, O’Brien et al. teaches the cutters ([82], one on either side) that are movable along the arms ([70 and 72]; through the telescopic nature of the arms, see Col. 3, lines 49-71).
Regarding claim 7, O’Brien et al. teaches the control unit ([100, 110 and 112]; motor to control the cutter, see Col. 4, lines 20-30) that includes a battery (not explicitly shown, but as the motor is electric, is inherently present, see Col. 4, lines 30-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Brien et al. (US 2798354 A) in view of Wang (CN 106342564 A).
Regarding claim 8, O’Brien et al. discloses the hedge trimmer as applied above, but fails to disclose the control unit includes a computing unit.
Wang discloses a similar hedge trimmer (see Fig. 1) wherein the control unit ([12-14], motor to control the cutter, see para. [0018], lines 22-23) includes a computing unit ([12], see para. [0018], lines 22-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the computing unit of Wang on the control unit of O’Brien et al. in order to start the motor and therefore the cutter for trimming of the hedge (see Wang et al. para. [0019], lines 8-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for the full list of references.
Reference CN 105432336 A discloses a similar hedge trimmer (see Fig. 1) comprising of a rail [5], legs [3], and a cutter [71].
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671