DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 2-3 of claim 22, “this device being wherein it comprises a distribution module according to claim 1” should read “the device comprising the distribution module according to claim 1” for proper grammar. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oginski et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0036317).
Regarding claim 1, Oginski et al. discloses a distribution module for a device intended for applying a coloring agent for permanent makeup or tattooing (FIG. 1; [0043]), said distribution module comprising:
a channel (FIGs. 2-3: lumen of needle unit 2),
at least one needle (8), arranged in said channel (FIG. 3),
a plunger (14, 15, 16) arranged in said channel, upstream of said needle (FIG. 3), said needle being secured in translation to said plunger ([0047] 15 and 16 engage with 7, which is part of 8), the assembly formed by said needle and said plunger being movable longitudinally in said channel between a retracted position, in which a distal end of the needle is located inside said channel (FIGs. 6-7; [0046]), and an extended position, in which the distal end of the needle protrudes from said channel (FIG. 3),
a product reservoir (FIG. 1: the proximal end of 1), said reservoir comprising a lumen opening into said channel (FIG. 3: the proximal end of 1 has a lumen entering into the lumen of 2), and
an automatic valve (9) formed by the cooperation between at least one slit, arranged on the periphery of said plunger and said lumen (FIG. 3: 9 cooperates with the lumen of 2 past the distal end of 14), said at least one slit being arranged so as to be located in line with said lumen when said plunger is in a first immediate product supply zone, located between the retracted position and the extended position ([0044] as 14 moves 8 forward, 9 is stretched and in line with the lumen of 2), the lumen being closed by said plunger outside said first intermediate product supply zone ([0044] when 14 is not being moved forward, 14 is not in between the positions).
Regarding claim 2, Oginski et al. further discloses a front chamber arranged in said channel, downstream of said lumen (FIG. 3: the lumen of distal section 4), said slit being able to be located in said front chamber when said plunger is in a second intermediate product supply zone ([0044] 9 is stretched into the lumen of distal section 4 when 14 has fully extended 8).
Regarding claim 3, Oginski et al. further discloses one or more decompression chimneys (20) opening into said front chamber (FIG. 6: 20 opens into the lumen of 4).
Regarding claim 4, Oginski et al. further discloses said decompression chimney comprises a set of grooves (FIG. 7: 20 is shown with several grooves above the spring) to allow, by capillary action, the product to rise up the decompression chimney (FIG. 7: 20 is capable of allowing liquid to rise up through capillary action).
Regarding claim 5, Oginski et al. further discloses said decompression chimney is integrated into said reservoir (FIGs. 1, 3, and 7: 20 is part of 1, which has the lumen forming the fluid reservoir).
Regarding claim 6, Oginski et al. further discloses the cooperation of the slit and the lumen further allows air to return to the reservoir ([0044] when 9 is stretched, the lumens of 1 and 2 are exposed to the air, which can travel to the proximal end of 1).
Regarding claim 7, Oginski et al. further discloses said lumen is shut off by a plug (9) before said reservoir is used ([0044] 9 allows the lumen to be kept shut when the needle is still retracted).
Regarding claim 8, Oginski et al. further discloses said plunger comprises at least one slit (FIG. 5: the space between 15 and 16) having a constant shape extending over the entire circumference of the plunger (FIG. 5: the space between 15 and 16 has a constant shape laterally).
Regarding claim 9, Oginski et al. further discloses said plunger has a cylindrical shape (FIG. 5: 14 is cylindrical), said plunger comprising several slits of different dimensions, arranged at different positions around the circumference of the plunger (FIG. 5: the holes in 14 and the space between 15 and 16), the plunger being rotatable about its axis, to allow selection of the slit to be used for supplying the product (FIG. 5: 14, 15, and 16 are rotatable).
Regarding claim 10, Oginski et al. further discloses several needles arranged in the same plane ([0044] 8 can be comprised of multiple needles), said slit having a substantially rectangular shape and being arranged on said plunger so as to be located in line with said lumen when said plunger is located in said first intermediate product supply zone (FIGs. 5-6: the space between 15 and 16 is substantially rectangular in a lateral direction, and is arranged with 14 to be in line with the distal space in 4 when 8 is being extended).
Regarding claim 11, Oginski et al. further discloses the reservoir comprises a bottom (FIG. 3: the proximal end of 1 has a bottom), the reservoir and/or said bottom being inclined relative to the axis of said channel (FIG. 3: the bottom of the proximal end of 1 is curved, creating multiple angles of incline relative to the axis of the channel).
Regarding claim 12, Oginski et al. further discloses the angle of inclination between the bottom of said reservoir and the axis of said channel is comprised between 5 and 55 degrees (FIG. 3: the bottom of the proximal end of 1 is curved, creating multiple angles of incline relative to the axis of the channel, including between 5 and 55 degrees).
Regarding claim 13, Oginski et al. further discloses the bottom of the reservoir comprises a set of grooves (FIG. 3: 13 forms grooves in the bottom of the proximal end of 1) to allow, by capillary action, the rise of product to the bottom of said reservoir (FIG. 3: liquid is capable of rising by capillary cation from the grooves created by 13).
Regarding claim 14, Oginski et al. further discloses the reservoir is removable (FIGs. 1-2: 1 is detachable from 2).
Regarding claim 15, Oginski et al. further discloses said removable reservoir comprises a member (19) for connecting said removable reservoir to said distribution module ([0048] 19 holds 1 and 2 together), said connecting member comprising a shutter element for said lumen (FIG. 6: the body of 19), movable between a closed position, in which the shutter element shuts off said opening ([0048] when 19 is within 20), and an open position, in which the shutter element releases said opening ([0048] when 19 is disengages from 20), the shutter element being displaced from said closed position to said open position when said removable reservoir is mounted on said distribution module ([0048] 19 is moved out of engagement from 20 when 1 is mounted on 2).
Regarding claim 16, Oginski et al. further discloses said reservoir comprises means for distributing the product in said reservoir (as stated above, “means” is being interpreted under 112(f); ).
Regarding claim 17, Oginski et al. further discloses said reservoir comprises a plug ([0054] and FIG. 13: housing cover) removably mounted on a filling opening of said reservoir ([0054] the housing cover can be taken off of 1).
Regarding claim 18, Oginski et al. further discloses said reservoir comprises a cover allowing to close a filling opening of said reservoir ([0054] and FIG. 13: housing cover).
Regarding claim 19, Oginski et al. further discloses said reservoir comprises an air inlet hole (20).
Regarding claim 20, Oginski et al. further discloses said shutter element is arranged to close the air inlet hole when it is in said closed position (FIG. 6: 19 closes 20 when 19 is in 20), said shutter element being arranged to release the air inlet hole when it is in said open position (FIG. 6: 19 allows air through 20 when 19 is out of 20).
Regarding claim 21, Oginski et al. further discloses the front part of said channel has the shape of an elongated spout (FIG. 2: the distal portion of 2 is shaped as an elongated spout).
Regarding claim 22, Oginski et al. discloses a device intended for applying a coloring agent for permanent makeup or tattooing (FIG. 1), the device comprising a distribution module (claim 1 above) and a module for actuating the needle of the distribution module ([0054] drive unit 1).
Conclusion
/JAMES R MCGINNITY/Examiner, Art Unit 3771