Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 84 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 84, the combination of these two phrases “the guide pin” and “the lock pin” of the first connection portion and the second connection portion of the extension lack proper antecedent basis because the instant specification fails to provide support for each of the first and second connection portions includes the guide pin and the lock pin as in claims 83 and 84.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 64-66, 68, 70-71, 73-75 and 77-79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Srichai (2023/0399142) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Srichai in view of The Official Notice.
As to claim 64, Srichai discloses a collapsible crate (100) comprising a first side frame (150A; 150B) having an end portion (158; 180) and an upper portion (156) extending from the end portion; and a base (116) including a supporting surface and a receptacle (102, 112) below the supporting surface for positioning the first side frame, the base including one or more locking recesses (within the vertical posts 110 and the ledge 126; Figs. 1 & 3) positioned below the supporting surface to receive the end portion (180) of the first side frame. Srichai further discloses the first side frame movable between a first configuration with the end portion of the first side frame is received in the one or more locking recesses of the base such that at least a portion of the first side frame extends above the supporting surface of the base (Fig. 1) and a second configuration with the end portion and at least a portion of the upper portion of the first side frame are within the receptacle of the base (Fig. 2).
As to claim 65, Srichai further discloses the first side frame includes a first leg (180) and a second leg (180) and the end portion of the first side frame includes an end portion of the first leg (Figs. 1B-1E) and an end portion of the second leg (Figs. 1B-1E), and in the first configuration the end portions of the first and second legs are received in the one or more locking recesses (Fig. 1).
As to claim 66, Srichai discloses the one or more locking recesses of the base include support walls (the vertical post 110 and the retaining latches 130, 140; Figs. 1B-1C) that engage that engage the end portions of the first leg and second leg when in the first configuration to inhibit the first side frame from pivoting relative to the base.
As to claim 68, Srichai discloses the end portion of the first side frame includes guide pins (182; Fig. 5D) and the base includes guide slots (along the ledges 126) receiving the guide pins, the guide slots directing movement of the end portion of the first side frame between the first and second configurations.
As to claim 70, Srichai further discloses the first side frame includes a first leg (180) and a second leg (180) and the receptacle of the base includes a first set of tracks (126, 126) for receiving the first and second legs of the first side frame. The collapsible crate further comprising a second side frame (150A; 150B) having a first leg (180) and second leg (180), and the receptacle of the base includes a second set of tracks (126, 126) for receiving the first and second legs of the second side frame, and the first set of tracks are in substantially the same plane as the second set of tracks (Figs. 1C & 1D).
As to claim 71, Srichai further discloses an upper portion of the first side frame comprises a stacking protrusion (186) for insertion into a recess of a base of another collapsible crate when in the first configuration.
As to claim 73, Srichai discloses the base includes recesses (188) for receiving protrusions of a second collapsible crate as claimed.
As to claim 74, Srichai further discloses the base includes at least one stop protrusion (128; Fig. 3B) as claimed.
As to claim 75, Srichai discloses the collapsible crate as above having most of the limitations of the claim except for a support bar to support the first side frame in the first configuration, the support bar having a first end attached to the upper portion of the first side frame and a second end removably attachable to the base as claimed. The Official Notice is taken of an old and conventional practice of providing a collapsible crate comprising a support bar for supporting a side frame in an upright position and the support bar having a first end attached to the side frame and a second end attached to a base of the collapsible crate for better support the side frame in the upright position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of The Official Notice to modify the collapsible crate of Srichal so the collapsible crate is constructed to include a support bar to support the first side frame in the first configuration and the support bar having a first end attached to the upper portion of the first side frame and a second end removably attachable to the base to provide an additional strength and rigidity to the collapsible crate, and also to facilitate folding between the first and second configurations.
As to claims 77 and 78, Srichal further discloses a locking mechanism (106; Figs. 1B & 4A) operable to reversibly secure the first side frame in the first configuration and/or second configuration. The locking mechanism includes a retractable locking pin (164, 168) to be inserted into a lock opening (158A; 118) of the first side frame to secure the end portion of the first side frame in the locking recesses of the base.
As to claim 79, Srichal discloses the locking mechanism includes a retractable locking pin (164, 168) that is able to be extended into a path of the first side frame (158A; 118) to inhibit the first side frame from moving from the second configuration.
Claim(s) 81, 83, and 85-86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Christman Jr. (5,190,171).
As to claim 81, Christman discloses a crate (10; Fig. 1) comprising a base (14-30) having a supporting surface (22-28), a first side frame (32, 34) connected to a first end portion of the base and extending upward from the supporting surface; a second side frame (32, 34) connected to a second end portion of the base opposite the first end portion and extending upward from the supporting surface; and an extension (12, 20, 30; a front section of the upper shelf 12) having a first connection portion (30) and a second connection portion (30), the first connection portion mountable to the first side frame and the second connection portion mountable to the second side frame such that the extension extends between the first and second side frames, the extension extending upward from the first and second side frames.
As to claim 83, Christman discloses the first side frame includes an attachment opening (the opening at the top of the vertical tubular member 32), the first connection portion of the extension including a lock pin (30) insertable into the attachment opening of the first side frame and the second connection portion of the extension including a lock pin (30) insertable into the attachment opening (the opening at the top of the vertical tubular member 32) of the second side frame.
As to claim 85, Christman further discloses the extension includes stacking protrusions (30) for insertion into a recess of a base of another crate.
As to claim 86, Christman further discloses a second extension (a rear section of the upper shelf 12; Fig. 1 below) having a first connection portion (30) and a second connection portion (30), the first connection portion mountable to the first side frame and the second connection portion mountable to the second side frame such that the second extension extends between the first and second side frames, the second extension extending upward from the first and second side frames.
Claim(s) 81-82, and 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Speicher (4,703,702).
As to claim 81, Speicher discloses a crate (Figs. 1-3) comprising a base (14, 18, 36; a lower pallet and pallet base 18, 36) having a supporting surface (36), a first side frame (51, 52, 56, 62-64) connected to a first end portion of the base and extending upward from the supporting surface; a second side frame (53, 54, 56, 62, 65-66) connected to a second end portion of the base opposite the first end portion and extending upward from the supporting surface; and an extension (12, 18, 36; a front section of the upper pallet and pallet base 18, 36) having a first connection portion (25) and a second connection portion (26), the first connection portion mountable to the first side frame and the second connection portion mountable to the second side frame such that the extension extends between the first and second side frames, the extension extending upward from the first and second side frames.
As to claim 82, Speicher further discloses the first side frame includes a stacking protrusion (63; 64) and the second side frame includes a stacking protrusion (65; 66), the first connection portion of the extension including a recess (each tubular connector 24-27 includes a recess at the lower end of the tubular connector; Figs. 1 & 3) for receiving the stacking protrusion (64) of the first side frame and the second connection portion including a recess (each tubular connector 24-27 includes a recess at the lower end of the tubular connector; Figs. 1 & 3) for receiving the stacking protrusion (65) of the second side frame.
As to claim 86, Speicher further discloses a second extension (12, 18, 36; a rear section of the upper pallet and pallet base 18, 36) having a first connection portion (24) and a second connection portion (27), the first connection portion mountable to the first side frame and the second connection portion mountable to the second side frame such that the second extension extends between the first and second side frames, the second extension extending upward from the first and second side frames.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-29, 31, 33-34, 36-38 and 64-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,600,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because structural limitations in the claims of the instant patent application are fully disclosed and claimed by the patents.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 84 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736