DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and all subsequent dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation “characterized by the fact that it comprises at least one insertion assembly associated with said base frame ” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what “it” is referring to. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this limitation to apply to the entirety of the device.
Regarding claim 9, the claim limitation “said strip of papermaking material (C) being intended, in use, to adhere to each of said dispensing ducts” renders the claim indefinite, as nothing in the specification corresponds to “adherence” as the word is commonly used (according to Miriam Webster, “to hold fast or stick by or as if by gluing, suction, grasping, or fusing”). Rather, according to the specification, mere contact is required, rather than some form of “adherence: - “This means that, the strip of papermaking material C adheres to the dispensing ducts 25 by wrapping around the interlocking seat 27.”
Examiner’s Note – The following antecedent basis rejections represent the Examiner’s best effort to catch all of the instances. It is entirely possible that other instances of lack of antecedent basis exist that were not caught by the Examiner.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said scoop portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, and 15 recite the limitation "said storage portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-6 recite the limitation "said housing seat". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8, 11, 13 recite the limitation "said dispensing ducts". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said positioning portion". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said interlocking seat". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said dosing means ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said containment body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said sealing assembly". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Novak, US 20120055493.
Regarding claim 1, Novak discloses: Plant for the manufacture of a sachet (Figs. 20-22, tobacco product 110, 210, and 410) for the containment of a fluid foodstuff (Figs. 20-22, tobacco material 130, 230, and 430), particularly for granular, powdery, creamy, liquid products or the like, comprising at least one base frame ([0042] “FIGS. 1-5 illustrate an apparatus for manufacturing smokeless tobacco products, incorporating one or more objects, according to one aspect of the present disclosure, the apparatus being indicated generally by the numeral 1.”) provided with:
- at least one supply and movement assembly ([0043] “As such, as the pouch material 20 is unwound from the first bobbin 10, the pouch material 20 is directed around an arrangement of roller members 16, otherwise referred to herein as a dancer assembly 17. The forming unit 50 is configured to cooperate with the first bobbin 10 and the dancer assembly 17 to take up slack in the pouch material 20 and to maintain a certain amount of longitudinal tension on the pouch material 20 as the pouch material 20 is unwound from the first bobbin 10 and fed to the forming unit 50, for example, by a drive system.”) of at least one strip made of papermaking material (“pouch material 20”);
- at least one forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”) of said strip of papermaking material to obtain a containment casing ([0045], “pouch member portion 116”) of a fluid foodstuff (granular tobacco - see 103 below), particularly for granular, powdery, creamy, liquid products or the like;
- at least one dispensing assembly ([0044], “tobacco insertion unit 300”) of said fluid foodstuff;
characterized by the fact that it comprises at least one insertion assembly ([0044], “object insertion unit 500“) associated with said base frame and adapted to allow the insertion of said scoop element ([0050] objects 100 – see 103 below) within said containment casing.
Novak does not explicitly disclose: a fluid foodstuff, a scoop element.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to before the time of filing to substitute a granular or powdered foodstuff for tobacco and further substituted a scoop element for “an object”, because Applicant has not disclosed that the particular type of powdered substance provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the
art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with tobacco and “an object” because it is irrelevant what is being inserted, so long as it performs equally well. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Novak to utilize a different type of insertable power and object.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Novak further discloses: said insertion assembly comprises at least one storage portion ([0050] “As shown in FIG. 7, the apparatus 1 may include an object hopper assembly 700 for supplying objects 100 to the object insertion unit 500”) of a plurality of scoop elements ([0050] objects 100).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Novak further discloses: the fact that said insertion assembly comprises at least one storage portion ([0050] “As shown in FIG. 7, the apparatus 1 may include an object hopper assembly 700 for supplying objects 100 to the object insertion unit 500”) of a plurality of scoop elements ([0050] objects 100).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Novak further discloses: said storage portion comprises at least one housing seat (Fig. 9, connector members 590) of said scoop elements ([0050] objects 100).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Novak further discloses: said housing seat (Fig. 9, connector members 590) has a pair of side walls (Fig. 9, tubular transport members 702) configured to allow said scoop element to be housed in a vertical position.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Novak further discloses: said storage portion ([0050] “As shown in FIG. 7, the apparatus 1 may include an object hopper assembly 700 for supplying objects 100 to the object insertion unit 500”) comprises a plurality of housing seats (Fig. 9, connector members 590) adjacent to each other.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Novak further discloses: said storage portion ([0050] “As shown in FIG. 7, the apparatus 1 may include an object hopper assembly 700 for supplying objects 100 to the object insertion unit 500”) comprises a comb element coupled with movement means adapted to allow the positioning of each of said scoop elements in an insertion position ([0055] “According to one aspect, the object inlet 506 may be disposed within a distribution channel 516 defined by the body member 502. In such an aspect, the object insertion unit 500 may also include a translating member 530 configured to be received within the distribution channel 516. The translating member 530 may be translatable or otherwise movable (i.e., laterally) within the distribution channel 516 along a longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530. In this regard, the translating member 530 can be moved between a first position and a second position, as particularly shown in FIGS. 17 and 18. The translating member 530 may also define first and second ports 532, 534 extending therethrough, wherein the first and second ports 532, 534 have parallel axes 533, 535 in perpendicular relation to the longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530 and are also spaced apart along the longitudinal axis 540.”).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Novak further discloses: said dispensing assembly ([0044], “tobacco insertion unit 300”) comprises at least one containment body (Fig. 6, tobacco hopper 302) of said fluid foodstuff coupled to said forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”), said dispensing ducts (Fig. 15, 504, 504a, 504b, 510, 514, 520 flowing into hollow shaft 54) being arranged inferiorly to said containment body.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Novak further discloses: said forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”) comprises a plurality of dispensing ducts (Fig. 15, 504, 504a, 504b, 510, 514, 520 flowing into hollow shaft 54) in fluidic communication with said dispensing assembly ([0044], “tobacco insertion unit 300”), said strip of papermaking material (C) being intended, in use, to adhere to each of said dispensing ducts (“[0044] The forming unit 50 may include one or more roller members 52 configured to direct the pouch material 20 about a hollow shaft 54 such that the continuous supply of the pouch material 20 can be formed into the continuous tubular member 25. The forming unit 50 may include a sealing device 60 configured to seal, fix, or otherwise engage the lateral edges of the pouch material 20 to form a longitudinally-extending seam, thereby forming the longitudinally-extending continuous tubular member 25. A tobacco insertion unit 300 is configured to introduce tobacco material into the continuous tubular member 25 through the hollow shaft 54. An object insertion unit 500 is configured to introduce objects into the continuous tubular member 25, also through the hollow shaft 54. The tobacco insertion unit 300 may be directly or indirectly engaged with the hollow shaft 54. Further, the object insertion unit 500 may be directly or indirectly engaged with the hollow shaft 54.”).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Novak further discloses: said storage portion ([0050] “As shown in FIG. 7, the apparatus 1 may include an object hopper assembly 700 for supplying objects 100 to the object insertion unit 500”) is arranged substantially orthogonally to said forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Novak further discloses: each of said dispensing ducts (Fig. 15, 504, 504a, 504b, 510, 514, 520 flowing into hollow shaft 54) comprises a positioning portion (Fig. 9, distribution channel 516) of said scoop element.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Novak further discloses: said positioning portion (Fig. 9, distribution channel 516) comprises at least one interlocking seat ([0055] “According to one aspect, the object inlet 506 may be disposed within a distribution channel 516 defined by the body member 502. In such an aspect, the object insertion unit 500 may also include a translating member 530 configured to be received within the distribution channel 516. The translating member 530 may be translatable or otherwise movable (i.e., laterally) within the distribution channel 516 along a longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530. In this regard, the translating member 530 can be moved between a first position and a second position, as particularly shown in FIGS. 17 and 18. The translating member 530 may also define first and second ports 532, 534 extending therethrough, wherein the first and second ports 532, 534 have parallel axes 533, 535 in perpendicular relation to the longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530 and are also spaced apart along the longitudinal axis 540.”) of said scoop element, said insertion position being defined where there is said interlocking seat.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Novak further discloses: said dispensing ducts (Fig. 15, 504, 504a, 504b, 510, 514, 520 flowing into hollow shaft 54) …
between: - said insertion position wherein said scoop element is housed in said interlocking seat facing said storage portion; and - said dispensing position wherein said scoop element is housed in said interlocking seat opposite said storage portion (20) ([0055] “According to one aspect, the object inlet 506 may be disposed within a distribution channel 516 defined by the body member 502. In such an aspect, the object insertion unit 500 may also include a translating member 530 configured to be received within the distribution channel 516. The translating member 530 may be translatable or otherwise movable (i.e., laterally) within the distribution channel 516 along a longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530. In this regard, the translating member 530 can be moved between a first position and a second position, as particularly shown in FIGS. 17 and 18. The translating member 530 may also define first and second ports 532, 534 extending therethrough, wherein the first and second ports 532, 534 have parallel axes 533, 535 in perpendicular relation to the longitudinal axis 540 of the translating member 530 and are also spaced apart along the longitudinal axis 540.”).
Novak does not explicitly disclose: rotational means and are adapted to allow the rotation thereof.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize a rotating means in place of the translating member of Novak, representing a simple substitution of one movement means for another. The Examiner notes that the Novak reference does in fact allude to this alteration – “The translating member 530 may be translatable or otherwise movable (i.e., laterally) within the distribution channel 516”.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Novak further discloses: the fact that said forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”) comprises movement means (Fig. 1, roller members 16) of said containment casing from a forming position wherein said strip of papermaking material is arranged where there is said storage portion (Fig. 1, bobbin 10) to a sealing position wherein said containment casing is arranged where there is a sealing assembly (Fig. 4, closing and dividing unit 600) arranged inferiorly to said storage portion.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Novak further discloses: said dispensing assembly ([0044], “tobacco insertion unit 300”) is arranged above said storage portion (Fig. 1, bobbin 10) and said forming assembly ([0044] “The forming unit 50”).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Novak further discloses: said dispensing assembly ([0044], “tobacco insertion unit 300”) comprises dosing means of said fluid foodstuff ([0047] “In operation, a charge of tobacco material (i.e., an amount suitable for an individual pouch member portion 116”).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Novak further discloses: said dosing means ([0047] “In operation, a charge of tobacco material (i.e., an amount suitable for an individual pouch member portion 116”) comprise at least one rotating body arranged where the bottom of said containment body (Fig. 6, tobacco hopper 302) is located and provided with a plurality of dosing seats (Fig. 6, cavities 304).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Novak further discloses: said sealing assembly (Fig. 4, closing and dividing unit 600) comprises sealing means adapted to make at least one of either a longitudinal seal or an ending seal on said containment casing (see [0045-0046]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wade, US 5203459 in view of Fiordispino, IT 201800005895.
Regarding claim 19, Wade discloses: Sachet (Figs. 1-8, apparatus 10) for the containment of a fluid foodstuff, particularly for granular, powdery, creamy, liquid products or the like, comprising at least one containment casing (Figs. 1-8, serving container 11),
adapted to contain a predefined amount of a fluid foodstuff (Fig. 2, “F”) and defining a containment volume (Fig. 2, 12-14), characterized by the fact that it comprises at least one scoop element (Fig. 2, spatula 20) housed within said containment volume and adapted to allow, as a result of an external pressure exerted on said containment casing by a hand of a user, the tear-opening thereof to allow the outflow of said fluid foodstuff (see Figs. 5-8).
Wade does not explicitly disclose: made at least partly of a paper-like material.
Fiordispino teaches: made at least partly of a paper-like material (translation, “Please note that in one embodiment, the wrapper is made of any food-grade material, such as pressed paper (as shown in the figures).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize the paper-like material as taught by Fiordispino in the container of Wade, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows the device to be made in an inexpensive, readily available material, the properties of which are commonly known in the art. The Examiner notes that the use of paper, while not specifically discussed in the creation of the Wade device, is discussed with regard to similar devices - (Col. 1, line 47, “Tunick, U.S. Pat. No. 1,708,456 discloses a folding paper spoon which in the unfolded condition has a folding handle with a bowl at one end and a disk at the opposite end and is used for packaging pre-measured amounts of medical powders. The handle is folded in the middle and the disk snaps fits onto the bowl to cover and seal the bowl containing the powder.”).
Regarding claim 20, Wade further discloses: said scoop element (Fig. 2, spatula 20) comprises a main body (Fig. 2, handle portion 22) having an elongated conformation and provided with a first end (Fig. 2, head 21) and with a second end (Fig. 2, far end of handle portion 22) opposite each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee, US 7374040, discloses a similar powder and dispensing device.
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731