DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0238340).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn discloses an apparatus for supplying and pressurizing a gaseous fuel to an internal combustion engine comprising
a first supply (150) of the gaseous fuel storing the gaseous fuel as a compressed gas at a first storage pressure [0034];
a compressor (185) comprising an inlet and an outlet, the compressor selectively pressurizing the gaseous fuel at the inlet from the first supply and providing the gaseous fuel at a pressurized pressure at the outlet [0035]; and
a first pressure regulator (160) comprising an inlet and an outlet, the inlet configured to fluidly receive the gaseous fuel from the first supply at the first storage pressure or from the compressor at the pressurized pressure, the first pressure regulator regulates a pressure of the gaseous fuel at the inlet to a first regulated pressure at the outlet, the internal combustion engine (130) in fluid communication with the outlet to fluidly receive the gaseous fuel at the first regulated pressure [0033, 0035].
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McAlister (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0261304).
Regarding claim 1, McAlister discloses an apparatus for supplying and pressurizing a gaseous fuel to an internal combustion engine comprising
a first supply (102) of the gaseous fuel storing the gaseous fuel as a compressed gas at a first storage pressure [0014];
a compressor (112) comprising an inlet (113) and an outlet (115), the compressor selectively pressurizing the gaseous fuel at the inlet from the first supply and providing the gaseous fuel at a pressurized pressure at the outlet [0015]; and
a first pressure regulator (118) comprising an inlet and an outlet, the inlet configured to fluidly receive the gaseous fuel from the first supply at the first storage pressure or from the compressor at the pressurized pressure, the first pressure regulator regulates a pressure of the gaseous fuel at the inlet to a first regulated pressure at the outlet, the internal combustion engine in fluid communication with the outlet to fluidly receive the gaseous fuel at the first regulated pressure [0016, claim 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13-14, 17-22, 25-26, 29 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 33, 37-38, 40-41, 45 and 48 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claim 5 is the inclusion of the second supply which stores gaseous fuel as a compressed gas at a second storage pressure the apparatus having the function “wherein the first regulated pressure is greater than the second regulated pressure whereby when the delivery valve is in an open position the first pressure regulator is configured to supply a high-pressure flow to the internal combustion engine and when the delivery valve is in a close position the second pressure regulator is configured to supply a low pressure flow to the internal combustion engine.” Dunn discloses an apparatus for supplying and pressurizing a gaseous fuel to an internal combustion engine having a first supply, a second supply and two pressure regulators but does not disclose storing the fuels in the gaseous state for delivery in the gaseous state at the regulated pressures. McAlister discloses storing the the fuel in a first supply and a second supply in the gaseous state but does not disclose the function discussed above which requires bypassing a delivery valve. The primary reason for the allowance of claim 33 is the inclusion of the second supply which stores gaseous fuel as a compressed gas at a second storage pressure the method including the steps of commanding a third stage of operation or a fourth stage of operation based on comparison of the second storage pressure to an upper threshold pressure or a first regulated pressure. Dunn and McAlister are silent on the ability of both the first supply and the second supply to bypass a compressor to perform both a third stage and fourth stage of operation.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571) 272-8215. The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Lindsay M. Low can be reached on (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA CAMPBELL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747