DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment submitted on 06/02/2025. In virtue of this amendments:
Claims 2-8, 10-23 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-23 are pending;
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of GB2218185.3 filed on 12/02/2022 has been received/retrieved by the office.
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a 371 of PCT/GB2023/053109 filed on 12/01/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-23 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and/or cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim.
See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim have not been further treated on the merits.
Examiner notes, although claims 17-23 have not been treated on the merits, it appears to recites same limitation as in claims 1 and 9; and thus would be rejected in the same manner.
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the claim uses the term “if” which is improper, as it implies there is uncertainty of whether the event will happen, which renders the claim indefinite. The term should be replaced with “when” which refers to the time of a future situation or condition that is certain to happen.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2019/0394863A1 hereinafter “Elliot”
Regarding claim 1, Elliot discloses a screen module (¶34L1-6: the wireless controller may be a Tablet type screen (LCD touch screen) for use in a smart light switch (¶29L1-3: smart home control device connected between the electrical installation of the house and a smart bulb), the screen module comprising:
a display (¶34L3: LCD touch screen);
an input device (¶34L3: LCD touch screen);
an energy storage device (¶29L11: a battery of the wireless controller);
a screen module controller (¶31L8-9: the wireless controller contains smart electronics); and
a first screen module connector configured to be operably connected with a wall module (¶31L1-5: the dock is able to support and hold the wireless controller by magnetic means or by clips means), wherein the connector is configured to supply electrical power to the screen module from the wall module (¶31L5-8: when the wireless controller is coupled to the dock, a DC voltage is supplied to the wireless controller, which is used to energize the same and to charge its internal battery); wherein the screen module controller is operable to:
determine the charge state of the energy storage device; and
if electrical power is supplied to the first screen module connector and the determined charge state of the energy storage device indicates that the energy storage device is not fully charged, configure the screen module to use at least a portion of the supplied electrical power to charge to the energy storage device (¶31L8-12: charge in a stable and controlled way a battery that can be of the Ion-Lithium type, which is able to provide the wireless controller with enough charge for a full day); and wherein
the screen module controller is further operable to:
determine if the limit of the amount of electrical power being supplied to the screen module via the first screen module connector is at or above a threshold amount;
if the limit is determined to be at or above the threshold amount, configure the screen module to be powered by the electrical power supplied via the first screen module connector (¶31L5-8: when the wireless controller is coupled to the dock, a DC voltage is supplied to the wireless controller, which is used to energize the same and to charge its internal battery); and
if the limit is determined to be below the threshold amount, configure the screen module to be powered by the energy storage device. (¶31L12-16: user remove the wireless controller from the wall so that it can be used anywhere in the house) (Note: since the wireless controller is removed from the wall, there is no power given at from the connection, and thus being powered by its internal battery)
Regarding claim 2, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1, wherein
the input device is a touch screen. (¶34L3: LCD touch screen)
Regarding claim 4, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1,further comprising at least one sensor selected from a group comprising:
an air quality sensor (¶40L6-8: wireless controllers also contains a humidity sensor), a temperature sensor (¶40L6-8: wireless controllers also contains a temperature sensor), an infrared camera, a visible spectrum camera (¶38L3-4: a surveillance camera contained int eh wireless controller), a microphone (¶37L1-5: wireless control includes a high-fidelity microphone).
Regarding claim 7, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1,further comprising
a wireless communication controller configured to provide the screen module with wireless communication capability. (¶29L4: wireless controller; ¶27L1-22)
Regarding claim 8, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1,further comprising
a second screen module connector configured to be operably connected with a mount. (¶31L1-5: the dock is able to support and hold the wireless controller by magnetic means or by clips means)
Regarding claim 9, Elliot discloses a wall module (¶29L3: the dock) for use in a smart light switch (¶29L1-3: smart home control device connected between the electrical installation of the house and a smart bulb), the wall module comprising:
a wall module controller (¶29L3: the dock);
a first wall module connector configured to be operably connected to a screen module, wherein the connector is configured to supply electrical power to the screen module from the wall module (¶31L5-8: when the wireless controller is coupled to the dock, a DC voltage is supplied to the wireless controller, which is used to energize the same and to charge its internal battery); and
a first electrical connector configured to be operably connected to the electrical wiring of a lighting circuit (¶29L20-23: the dock comprise a high power module which activates or deactivates the current flow through the bulb); wherein the wall module controller is operable to:
selectively switch the connected lighting circuit between an on state and an off state (¶29L23: control its turning ON, OFF);
determine if a connected lighting circuit is in an on state or an off state; and
if the connected lighting circuit is determined to be in an off state, configure the wall module to limit the supply electrical power to the first wall module connector to below a threshold amount (¶30L1-7: continuously to keep their electronic functioning, even if the bulb is in its off state); or
if the connected lighting circuit is determined to be in an on state, configure the wall module to allow for the supply electrical power to the first wall module connector to equal or exceed the threshold amount. (¶33L1-15: control at all times turning ON and Off bulbs to which it is connected) (Note: inherently disclosed when bulb is ON, more power is required)
Regarding claim 10, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 9, wherein
the threshold amount is the maximum amount of electrical power that can be drawn from a connected lighting circuit, without causing any lights of the connected lighting circuit to produce visible light. (¶30L1-7: consume a small current continuously to keep their electronic circuitry functioning, even if the bulb is off)
Regarding claim 12, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 9,further comprising at least
one switch configured to allow a user to change the on/off state of a connected lighting circuit. (¶28L6-8: the power supply is able to control up to three independent load as in a 3 gang switch)
Regarding claim 13, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 9,further comprising
at least one additional electrical connector. (¶28L6-8: the power supply is able to control up to three independent load as in a 3 gang switch)
Regarding claim 14, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 13, wherein each of the at least one additional connectors are configured to be operably connected to a separate lighting circuit. (¶28L6-8: the power supply is able to control up to three independent load as in a 3 gang switch)
Regarding claim 15, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 9,further comprising
a second wall module connector configured to be operably connected to a mount. (¶28L1-11: a dock that will be installed on the electrical box by replacing a common wall switch)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot in view of US2022/0110197A1 hereinafter “Bard”
Regarding claim 3, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1,
Elliot does not explicitly disclose;
a haptic motor configured to give haptic feedback.
Bard discloses a control circuit for a lighting device wherein haptic feedback is given to user. (¶92L28-37: control circuit may may be configured to provide feedback; the feedback include a haptic feedback)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the wireless controller disclosed by Elliot to incorporate the haptic feedback disclosed by Bard.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this gives alert to user for better user experience.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot in view of US2020/0090662A1 hereinafter “Castro”
Regarding claim 5, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 4,
Elliot does not explicitly disclose;
a privacy switch configured to selectively disable one or more of the sensors.
Castro discloses a displace device (¶104L1: the display assistant device) wherein the device comprises
a privacy switch configured to selectively disable one or more of the sensors. (¶105L1-11: privacy control disposed on the rear surface is configured to mute one or more microphones, disables a camera)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the wireless controller disclosed by Elliot to incorporate the privacy control disclosed by Castro.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this provides the user with privacy protection. (Castro ¶105L1-3)
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot.
Regarding claim 6, Elliot discloses the screen module according to claim 1
Elliot does not explicitly disclose;
a speaker.
Elliot does disclose the wireless controller can be used for video intercom (¶38L2-4); therefore implicitly disclose that the wireless controller includes a speaker, and would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the wireless controller disclosed by Elliot to have a speaker.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because an intercom defined as an electronic voice communication system, thus would benefit from having a speaker.
Regarding claim 16, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 9,
Elliot does not explicitly disclose;
a wireless communication controller configured to provide the wall module with wireless communication capability.
Elliot does disclose the wireless controller includes wireless capability, therefore would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the dock to incorporate wireless communication as well.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this provides the user with more connectivity for different communication options.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elliot in view of US2020/0091729A1 hereinafter “Gao”
Regarding claim 16, Elliot discloses the wall module according to claim 10,
Elliot does not explicitly disclose;
the wall module controller is further configured such that, when connected to a lighting circuit, the wall module controller is able to determine the threshold amount.
Elliot does recognizes that smart bulb consumes small current continuously even when the blub is off, and Gao discloses a device wherein the minimum amount of power that needs to be delivered to a power receiver correct to reach a useful output can be determined by the circuitry. (¶74L14-18)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the wireless controller disclosed by Elliot to incorporate the function of calculating the minimum amount of power required to reach a useful amount as disclosed by Gao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the system to effectively use the least amount of power to keep everything function thus not to waste energy.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845