DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Knoblauch et al., WO2006/122649.
Regarding claim 1, Knoblauch et al. discloses a speed reducer for a powertrain (see fig 1), comprising: a reduction device (fig 1) comprising a first toothed wheel (116) able to be rotated about a first axis of rotation (about 48), the first toothed wheel (116) comprising an annular groove (118) located about the first axis of rotation (as described above) on a flank (see fig 4) of the first toothed wheel (116), a deflector (128) comprising a ramp (inner portion of 128 – see fig 4) for guiding a lubricant (oil conducting), a portion of the ramp (as described above) being located inside the annular groove (118) of the first toothed wheel (116).
Regarding claim 2, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ramp (as described above) comprises a main guideway (region that catches fluid flow shown as non-cutout region in fig 4) and an axial protrusion (angled cutout region in fig 4 which conducts lubricant in the axial direction) extending the main guideway (as described above) and projecting axially (to the right in fig 4) from the main guideway (as described above), the axial protrusion (as described above) being arranged partly (see fig 4-5) the annular groove (118) of the first toothed wheel (116).
Regarding claim 3, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein the reduction device (see fig 1) comprises a second toothed wheel (wheel supporting 56) able to be rotated about a second axis of rotation (about 20) parallel (see fig 1) to the first axis of rotation (as described above), the second toothed wheel (as described above) comprising a toothed peripheral band (teeth on outer circumference of 56) arranged radially, with respect to this second axis (as described above), facing the main guideway (as described above) of the ramp (as described above).
Regarding claim 4, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the diameter of the second toothed wheel (as described above) is greater (see fig 1) than the diameter of the first toothed wheel (116), and the first axis of rotation (about 48) is arranged, when the reducer is in a position corresponding to that adopted when mounted on a vehicle parked horizontally (see fig 1), above the second axis (as described above).
Regarding claim 5, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first toothed wheel (116) and the second toothed wheel (wheel of 56) are offset axially (right to left in fig 1) relative to one another.
Regarding claim 6, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the second toothed wheel (wheel of 56) is a drive wheel (see fig 1) of a differential-drive device (18).
Regarding claim 7, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the toothset (as described above) of the second toothed wheel (as described above) is inclined (known from 134 in fig 5), the inclination of the toothset (see fig 1,5) being such that the lubricant is directed axially to the same side as the first toothed wheel (116).
Regarding claim 8, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 3, wherein the reduction device (as described above0 comprises a third toothed wheel (connected with 52) made to rotate about the first axis (about 48) of and meshing with the second toothed wheel (wheel of 56), the second toothed wheel (as described above) and the third toothed wheel (as described above) being arranged in the same plane (see fig 1), the third toothed wheel (as described above) being arranged beyond (see fig 1, 4-5) an upper end (top of 128) of the ramp (as described above)of the deflector (128).
Regarding claim 9, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein the deflector (128) comprises a shield (24) arranged to at least one side (see fig 4) of the main guideway (as described above) of the ramp (as described above) so as to prevent the lubricant from dropping off that side of the ramp (as described above).
Regarding claim 10, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 9, wherein the shield (24) is situated on the same side of the main guideway (as described above) of the ramp (as described above) as the first toothed wheel (116).
Regarding claim 11, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein, when viewed in the plane of the axial protrusion (see fig 4), the annular groove (as described above) has a cross section of a shape (see fig 4) that complements the edge of the axial protrusion (as described above).
Regarding claim 12, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reducer (as described above) comprises a housing (24) enclosing the reduction device (as described above), the deflector (128) being manufactured as a component distinct (see connection means shown in fig 2) from the housing (60).
Regarding claim 13, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 12, wherein the deflector (128) comprises a mounting portion (right side of 128 in fig 4 which is fixed to 24) comprising a plurality of fixing elements (shown as line with x on left end in fig 4) cooperating with complementary fixing elements (hole in 24) arranged in the housing (24) of the reducer.
Regarding claim 15, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 13, wherein the fixing elements (as described above) are mounting studs (see line with x at end shown in fig 4) and the complementary fixing elements (hole on 24) belonging to the housing (24) are mounting receptacles.
Regarding claim 16, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 12, wherein the reducer (as described above) comprises a first shaft (48) on which is mounted the first toothed wheel (116), and a first bearing (88) arranged to guide the rotation, about the first axis of rotation (about 48), of the first shaft (48), the first bearing (88) being mounted in a first receptacle (right side of 24 shown in fig 1) of the housing (24), and wherein an end region of the ramp (as described above) of the deflector (128) is arranged: axially along the first axis of rotation (about 48), between the first toothed wheel (116) and the first bearing (88), radially with respect to the first axis of rotation (as described above), closer to the axis of rotation (about 48) than the radially external periphery of the first bearing (88), radially closer to the axis of rotation (about 48) than the radially external periphery of the first toothed wheel (116).
Regarding claim 18, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first toothed wheel (116) comprises a hub (central region shown in fig 4), a toothed peripheral band (shown in fig 5) arranged radially to the outside of the hub (as described above), and a wheel disk (see central radial protruding region of 116 in fig 4) connecting the hub (as described above) and the toothed peripheral band (as described above), the annular groove (118) being delimited on one side of the first toothed wheel (right side in fig 4) by the hub (as described above), the wheel disk (as described above) and the toothed peripheral band (as described above).
Regarding claim 19, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first toothed wheel (116) and the second toothed wheel (as described above) are offset axially relative to one another (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, Knoblauch et al. discloses the speed reducer as claimed in claim 4, wherein the second toothed wheel (as described above) is a drive wheel of a differential-drive device (18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 is patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claim 14, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration wherein the housing of the reducer comprises a first part and a second part, these being assembled with one another, enclosing the reduction device, the fixing elements are arranged in such a way that at least one fixing element is fixed to the first part of the housing and at least one fixing element is fixed to the second part of the housing.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the lubrication system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 17 is patentable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not show or render obvious the combination set forth in claim 17, including every structural element recited in the claims, especially, the configuration wherein the reduction device comprises a first shaft on which is mounted the first toothed wheel, an input shaft parallel to the first shaft and a first double reduction stage comprising: on the one hand, for a first gear ratio, a first pinion coaxial with and unable to rotate independently of the input shaft and a fourth toothed wheel meshing with the first pinion and able to cause the first shaft to rotate about the first axis of rotation; and on the other hand, for a second gear ratio, a second pinion coaxial with and unable to rotate independently of the input shaft and the first toothed wheel meshing with the second pinion and able to cause the first shaft to rotate about the first axis of rotation, the reduction device comprising a ratio-selection device able to secure to the first shaft such that it cannot rotate independently thereof, either the first toothed wheel or the fourth toothed wheel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the elements of the lubrication system as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the system in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654