DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The office action is being examined in response to the application filed by the Applicant on June 3, 2025.
Claims 1-32 are pending and have been examined.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
The Examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Ivonnemary Rivera González.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 3, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The references cited in the PCT international search reports by the WIPO on the issue dates of June 3, 2025 and as listed in the DO/EO acceptance file received in August 6, 2026 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The analysis of this claimed invention recited in the claims begins in view of independent claim 1, the most representative claim of the independent claims set 1 and 26, as follows:
At Step 1: Claims 1 - 25 falls under statutory category of a process, while claims 26 - 32 are directed to an article of manufacture.
At Step 2A Prong 1: The following claims recite an abstract idea in the following limitations:
From Claim 1 (representative of claim 26):
…receiving…a request to connect a first profile with a second profile associated…;
causing, based on the first profile…presentation of a first application profile; and
causing…presentation of a first native profile, wherein information associated with the first application profile and the first native profile is controlled based on information associated with the first profile.
From Claim 18:
…receiving…a request to connect a first profile with a second profile, wherein the first profile and the second profile are associated with each other…
presenting…the second profile; and
presenting…the second profile, wherein:
information associated with the second profile is controlled…
Generally, and as disclosed in the specification in ¶0068 – 69, this claimed invention provides a “software application enables a person to build their own comprehensive and updatable profile, and share it with others” and “automatically synchronizes contact information in real-time or near real-time because the amount of time used to update all contacts is significantly reduced, thereby using less processing resources and memory resources.” However, the abstract idea(s) of a certain method of organizing human activity (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II) are/is recited in claim 1 in the form of “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people”. Specifically, the abstract idea is recited in the step(s) that are directed in part to “receiving” connection requests from users to “present” their profiles in an application and their native (i.e. local) profiles that are controlled based on information associated with a corresponding profile. Thus, managing and sharing user contacts clearly encompasses social activities. Similarly, these steps also fall under the abstract idea sub-group of “commercial or legal interactions” since managing user contacts encompasses commercial interactions related to business relations (i.e. facilitating business connections between users; see ¶0067 from Applicant disclosure).
At Step 2A Prong 2: For independent claims 1, 18 and 26, The judicial exception(s) or abstract idea previously identified is not integrated into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04 (d)). The claims recite the additional element(s) of a tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions and a processing device (from claim 26); a first user interface, a cloud-based computing system and a second user interface of a native application (from claim 18); a first application executing on a first computing device; a second application executing on a second computing device and a native application (from claims 1, 18 and 26). These additional elements, individually and in combination, and while considering the claims as a whole, are merely used as a tool to perform the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Specifically, these steps are recited as being performed by the computer. The computer connected to applications and native applications that are recited at a high level of generality that is being used as a tool to perform the generic computer functions for managing and synchronizing user contact information that is further displayed to user requesting a connection with another user. Thus, these steps mentioned above are further describing and applying the abstract idea without placing any limits on how the technological components are being improved, while distinguishing in the claim language, the performing limitations from functions that generic computer components can perform.
Step 2B: For independent claims 1, 18 and 26, these claims do not provide an inventive concept. The recited additional elements of the claim(s) are the following: a tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions and a processing device (from claim 26); a first user interface, a cloud-based computing system and a second user interface of a native application (from claim 18); a first application executing on a first computing device; a second application executing on a second computing device and a native application (from claims 1, 18 and 26). These additional elements are not sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception or abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05). Because, as indicated in Step 2A Prong 2, these additional element(s) claimed are merely, instructions to “apply” the abstract ideas, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer, which do not provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
For dependent claims 2-25 and 26 - 32, the same analysis is incorporated. Due to their dependency to the independent claims analyzed, these claims cover or fall under the same abstract idea(s) of a method of organizing human activity. They describe additional limitations steps of:
Claims 2-25 and 26 - 32: further describes the abstract ideas previously identified for the claimed method of “operating system agnostic contact management and synchronization between devices” (see ¶0002 from Applicant specs) and merely recites steps for receiving and executing requests for deletion, updates and synchronization, and connection between user/entity/animal profiles, presenting native profiles in a contact list including owner’s controlling settings, presenting push notifications and updates of other connected users and their social media activities. Thus, being directed to the abstract idea group of “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” as it is managing and sharing user contacts which encompasses social activities as well as commercial interactions related to business relations (i.e. facilitating business connections between users).
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: For dependent claims 2-25 and 26 - 32, these claims recite the additional elements of: a cloud-based computing system (from claims 5 and 30); using one or more application programming interfaces associated with an operating system executing on the second computing device (from claims 6 and 31); the first application comprises at least one of a stand-alone application installed on an operating system of the first computing device, or a website executing on a browser installed on the operating system of the first computing device (from claims 7 and 32); an application or website (from claim 22); a second computing device executing a second application (from claim 25). These additional elements of claims 5 – 7, 22 and 30 – 32 which are directed to the computer architecture used to maintain profile connections, access their data and display it is generally linking the use of the abstract idea for implementing the cloud management actions to a particular technological environment or field of use such as cloud computing technology with applications/APIs in computer environments. See MPEP 2106.05(h) for examples (iv), (ix) and (x)). As for the in claim 25, these recited are invoking computers merely used as a tool to perform or “apply” the abstract idea(s) to the existing process of executing the claimed functions of managing contact information, as similarly discussed in the independent claims. Thus, amounting to no more than mere instructions to “apply” the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f) and (f)(2)). Accordingly, for the same reasons stated above, these additional element(s) claimed cannot provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 23 and 25 - 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fultz (U.S. Pub No. 20170366641 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 26:
Fultz which discloses “methods, systems, and computer program products for implementing a social networking platform that provides universal profiles” (see ¶0005; Fultz), thus teaches:
receiving, via a first application executing on a first computing device, a request to connect a first profile with a second profile associated with a second application executing on a second computing device; (In ¶0039 - 40; Fig. 3A: teaches in Fig. 3A a second user is viewing Joe user’s “universal profile” from their first application in their device (see ¶0023 and ¶0027 also) and has not “connected to Joe User (i.e., has not established any channels with Joe User)” (see ¶0037), which “in response to the selection of any of these elements, a corresponding request can be generated and sent to Joe User to inform Joe User of the other user's desire to obtain his phone number or email address or to connect on LinkedIn or Facebook”, in accordance with examples given in ¶0071, ¶0090 and ¶0093 from Applicant disclosure while interpreting the first/second “application” as the instant invention app called “KeepUpp application” that each corresponding user has installed. Further, “universal profile manager 101 can respond to Joe User's acceptance of a request to connect on a particular social networking platform by performing the necessary interactions with the corresponding social network API component to create the connection in the particular social networking platform.” See ¶0055 – 56 for an example “of the process for automatically creating a channel in response to accessing a user's profile with another social networking platform” wherein the “Joe User has independently connected with User 6 on LinkedIn. For example, Joe User could have logged into the LinkedIn website and connected with User 6 outside of social networking platform 100” of this invention app. Also, refer to ¶0078 wherein “user can be allowed to share his or her universal profile” by way of “a unique URL that can be provided on a webpage or included in an email or text.”)
causing, based on the first profile and via the second application executing on the second computing device, presentation of a first application profile; and (In ¶0041; Fig. 3B: teaches the presentation of a first application profile (i.e. a certain app profile such as “LinkedIn channel” icon inside Joe’s universal profile) in Fig. 3B which “provides another example of user interface 301. However, in this case, it is assumed that Jane User is viewing Joe User's universal profile 300. Because Jane User has established phone number, email, and LinkedIn channels with Joe User, user interface 301 can provide an indication of these channels. In this example, these indications are in the form of a View Phone element, a View Email element, and a View Profile element that are displayed in conjunction with icons 301 d 1-301 d 3 respectively.” However, if there’s a specific first application profile that the user hasn’t requested access yet, will show the first user app’s profile icon with a “request connection” as shown in Fig. 3B.)
causing, based on the first profile and via a native application executing on the second computing device, presentation of a first native profile, (In ¶0060; Fig. 7: teaches the presentation of a first native profile such as “phone” or “email” endpoints (see ¶0026 also) as shown in Fig. 7 as a “phone” icon and as further disclosed in an example when “a user is connected with another user in social networking platform 100 if the user has established at least one channel with the other user. User interface 700 can be generated based on the contents of Joe User's universal profile 300, or more particularly, based on the channels defined in each of endpoints 300 a-300 d” and “this view of Joe User's connections can be displayed only to Joe User and his connections, while in other embodiments, any user of social networking platform 100 may be able to view Joe User's connections”. See ¶0025 and ¶0027 teaching that the users can access either from the web browser and/or app of the “social networking platform 100” or invention site/app. See ¶0031 for an example wherein “Twitter provides native integration with a user's mobile device which would allow social networking platform 100 to obtain access to the user's Twitter account in response to the user simply confirming social networking platform 100's request for authorization.”)
wherein information associated with the first application profile and the first native profile is controlled based on information associated with the first profile. (In ¶0034; Fig. 3: teaches that “the sets of users with which Joe User has shared his phone number and email address are not the same representing that social networking platform 100 provides granular control over how contact information is shared”, in accordance with an example for controlling the application and native profiles by modifying the first profile information and updating the first native profile in the native app, given in ¶0095 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0044 teaching the system allows “one-way channels” between users wherein “a first user shares his information with a second user but the second user does not share the same information with the first user” which is directed to another example wherein application profile and native profile’s information is controlled based on associated information corresponding to the profile.)
Regarding claims 2 and 27:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
further comprising: receiving, at the first application executing on the first computing device, a request to remove a connection between the first profile and the second profile; (In ¶0048: teaches an example wherein “if Joe User disconnects with Jane User on LinkedIn outside of social networking platform 100, universal profile manager 101 could detect this when performing a periodic access of Joe User's LinkedIn account”.)
deleting, from the second application executing on the second computing device, the first application profile; and (In ¶0048: teaching that in “response, universal profile manager 101 could update universal profile 300 to remove the LinkedIn channel with Jane User from LinkedIn endpoint 300 c. A similar process could be performed if it is determined that Joe User has deleted Jane User's email address from his contact book.”)
deleting, from the native application operating on the second computing device, the first native profile. (In ¶0049: teaches another example wherein “if Joe User connects with Jane User thereby causing Joe User's phone number to be added to Jane User's contact book, social networking platform 100 may provide the ability for Joe User to request the removal of his phone number from Jane User's contact book. In some cases, the removal of Joe User's phone number from Jane User's contact book could be performed automatically, such as, in response to Joe User deleting a phone number channel with Jane User.”)
Regarding claims 3 and 28:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
further comprising: receiving, at the first application executing on the first computing device, a second request to update the first profile; and automatically synchronizing, based on the second request, the first profile with the first application profile associated with the second application executing on the second computing device, and with the first native profile associated with the native application executing on the second computing device. (In ¶0050: teaches that the “social networking platform 100 may be configured to perform contact synchronization using information from universal profiles. For example, if two users create a phone number channel, social networking platform 100 can add the respective phone number to each user's contact book. Additionally, social networking platform 100 may synchronize other information contained in the respective universal profile (e.g., a photo of the user with whom the phone number channel was created) into the contact. This synchronization can include adding a new contact or updating an existing contact (e.g., adding a phone number to an existing contact or replacing a phone number in an existing contact). In some embodiments, such updates can be performed to a user's contact book automatically in response to a connection updating his or her phone number or email address within his or her universal profile.” See ¶0048, ¶0050, ¶0054 and ¶0071 for more examples of universal profile updates based on adding/removing channels or endpoints.)
Regarding claims 4 and 29:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
further comprising: causing, via the native application executing on the second computing device, presentation of the first native profile in a contact list on a user interface, (In ¶0060; Figs. 3 and 7: teaching in Fig. 7 “an example of a user interface 700 in which Joe User's connections are displayed” wherein “each of Joe User's connections is displayed in conjunction with an indication of which channels Joe User has established with the connection”. Similarly, “this view of Joe User's connections can be displayed only to Joe User and his connections, while in other embodiments, any user of social networking platform 100 may be able to view Joe User's connections.”)
wherein information associated with the first native profile being presented in the contact list on the second computing device is controlled via the first application executing on the first computing device. (In ¶0034; Fig. 3: teaches that “the sets of users with which Joe User has shared his phone number and email address are not the same representing that social networking platform 100 provides granular control over how contact information is shared”, in accordance with an example for controlling the application and native profiles by modifying the first profile information and updating the first native profile in the native app, given in ¶0095 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0044 teaching the system allows “one-way channels” between users wherein “a first user shares his information with a second user but the second user does not share the same information with the first user” which is directed to another example wherein application profile and native profile’s information is controlled based on associated information corresponding to the profile.)
Regarding claims 5 and 30:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the first profile and the second profile are associated with each other at a cloud-based computing system. (In ¶0087: teaches that “the present invention can be hosted in a cloud environment.”.)
Regarding claims 6 and 31:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein causing, via the native application executing on the second computing device, presentation of the first native profile based on the first profile further comprises using one or more application programming interfaces associated with an operating system executing on the second computing device. (In ¶0032; Fig. 2 (110); Fig. 3B (301d3 – 301d4): teaches that the “universal profile manager 101 can access social networks 150 a and 150 b via corresponding social network API components 110 a and 110 b to access the user's profiles with these social networking platforms. As indicated above, social networking platforms 150 a and 150 b are assumed to represent LinkedIn and Facebook respectively in this example. Accordingly, social network API components 110 a and 110 b represent the components of social networking platform 100 that are configured to interact with LinkedIn and Facebook respectively to access the user's LinkedIn and Facebook profiles”. See ¶0035 also.)
Regarding claims 7 and 32:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the first application comprises at least one of a stand-alone application installed on an operating system of the first computing device, or a website executing on a browser installed on the operating system of the first computing device. (In ¶0025; Fig. 2: teaching that the users can access either from the web browser and/or app of the “social networking platform 100” or invention site/app. See ¶0027 also.)
Regarding claim 8:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the request comprises scanning a QR code, selecting a link, receiving a message, or some combination thereof. (In ¶0078; Fig. 3A (301c and 301d1 – 301d4): teaching that the “user can be allowed to share his or her universal profile” by way of “a unique URL that can be provided on a webpage or included in an email or text” which allows the “user to easily share his or her own universal profile or the universal profile of other users” to establish a connection with another user.)
Regarding claims 9 and 21:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 26, respectively.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the first and second profile are associated with a person, an animal, an entity, or some combination thereof. (In ¶0024: teaches that “although this description will focus on universal profiles of people, an entity (e.g., a company, an organization, a foundation, etc.) can create a universal profile to represent the entity.”)
Regarding claim 18:
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the method comprises: receiving, via a first user interface of a first application executing on a first computing device, a request to connect a first profile with a second profile, (In ¶0039; Fig. 3A (301d1 – 301d4): teaches an example wherein in Fig. 3A shows a “user viewing Joe User's universal profile 300” without having any connections with Joe User, but their “LinkedIn icon 301 d 3 and Facebook icon 301 d 4 can be displayed with Request Connection elements” and “in response to the selection of any of these elements, a corresponding request can be generated and sent to Joe User to inform Joe User of the other user's desire to obtain his phone number or email address or to connect on LinkedIn or Facebook.” Examiner notes that this type of request can be sent by the Joe User since “if Joe User were to view Jane User's universal profile after this request was sent, the Facebook icon 301 d 4 could be displayed with a “Request Received” element.”)
wherein the first profile and the second profile are associated with each other at a cloud-based computing system; (In ¶0087: teaches that “the present invention can be hosted in a cloud environment”.)
presenting, in the first user interface of the first application, the second profile; and presenting, in a second user interface of a native application executing on the first computing device, the second profile, (In ¶0041; Fig. 3B: teaches the presentation of a second application profile (i.e. a certain app profile such as “LinkedIn channel” icon inside Joe’s universal profile) in Fig. 3B which “provides another example of user interface 301. However, in this case, it is assumed that Jane User is viewing Joe User's universal profile 300. Because Jane User has established phone number, email, and LinkedIn channels with Joe User, user interface 301 can provide an indication of these channels. In this example, these indications are in the form of a View Phone element, a View Email element, and a View Profile element that are displayed in conjunction with icons 301 d 1-301 d 3 respectively.” However, if there’s a specific first application profile that the user hasn’t requested access yet, will show the second user app’s profile icon with a “request connection” as shown in Fig. 3B.)
wherein: information associated with the second profile is controlled via a first user interface of a first application executing on a second computing device. (In ¶0034; Fig. 3: teaches that “the sets of users with which Joe User has shared his phone number and email address are not the same representing that social networking platform 100 provides granular control over how contact information is shared”, in accordance with an example for controlling the application and native profiles by modifying the second profile information and updating the second native profile in the native app, given in ¶0114 from Applicant disclosure. See ¶0044 teaching the system allows “one-way channels” between users wherein “a first user shares his information with a second user but the second user does not share the same information with the first user” which is directed to another example wherein application profile and native profile’s information is controlled based on associated information corresponding to the profile.)
Regarding claim 19:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein an update to the second profile is made at a second computing device, and the method further comprising: presenting, in the first user interface of the first application, the update to the second profile; and presenting, in the second user interface of the native application, the update to the second profile. (In ¶0071: teaches “social networking platform 100 can provide a feed of connections that are being made by a user's connections. For example, if Jane User connects with User 9, Joe User's feed could be updated to reflect the connection. The feed can include details about the connection including which channel(s) were established. This feed can therefore provide an indication of which channels are being used most frequently to create connections.” For example, “if Jane User adds a new endpoint to her universal profile, Joe User's feed could be updated to reflect this thereby encouraging Joe User to establish a new channel with Jane User via the new endpoint.” See ¶0060 teaching an example as shown in Fig. 7 wherein the “view of Joe User's connections can be displayed only to Joe User and his connections, while in other embodiments, any user of social networking platform 100 may be able to view Joe User's connections” which is directed to presenting updates to the second profile in the second user interface.)
Regarding claim 20:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein the information comprises an image, text, audio, video, or some combination thereof. (In ¶0034; Figs. 3A – 3B: teaching that the “universal profile 300 includes general information 301 including the name (Joe User), account Id (joeuser12345), password, bio, and photo (photo.jpg) that Joe User specified in input 201”.)
Regarding claim 22:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Fultz further teaches:
further comprising: presenting a push notification that a change was made to the second profile; receiving a selection of the push notification indicating the change was made to the second profile; and executing an application or website associated with the change. (In ¶0071; Fig. 7: teaches that “the feed may also display an indication when a user's friend/connection on another social networking platform (e.g., Facebook or LinkedIn) joins (i.e., creates a universal profile) on social networking platform 100. Also, in some embodiments, the feed may display when a user's connections on social networking platform 100 add an endpoint to their universal profiles. For example, if Jane User adds a new endpoint to her universal profile, Joe User's feed could be updated to reflect this thereby encouraging Joe User to establish a new channel with Jane User via the new endpoint”, in accordance with an example given for push notifications in ¶0127 – 130 from Applicant disclosure See ¶0054 and claims 6 – 7 from this reference for more notifications. For executing an app or website, this is taught since any user that is friend with another user that has a universal profile and that can access and view it can click the other contacts as shown in Fig. 7. See ¶0077 for more contact suggestions outputted by algorithms that further present newly suggested user universal profiles to users to interact with them.)
Regarding claim 23:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Fultz further teaches:
wherein a user requests to disconnect the first profile from the second profile, and the method further comprises: deleting, in the first user interface of the first application, the second profile; and
deleting, in the second user interface of the native application executing on the first computing device, the second profile. (In ¶0048: teaching the example that “if Joe User disconnects with Jane User on LinkedIn outside of social networking platform 100, universal profile manager 101 could detect this when performing a periodic access of Joe User's LinkedIn account. In response, universal profile manager 101 could update universal profile 300 to remove the LinkedIn channel with Jane User from LinkedIn endpoint 300 c. A similar process could be performed if it is determined that Joe User has deleted Jane User's email address from his contact book. In either case, Joe User can be prompted prior to deleting any channel.”.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fultz (U.S. Pub No. 20170366641 A1) in view of Crumrine (U.S. Pub No. 20140372485 A1).
Regarding claim 24:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Fultz does not explicitly teach the ability of preventing information associated with another profile from being modified by the first application, the native application or both. However, Crumrine which discloses a “system and method for managing and sharing personal and professional contact information” (see ¶0001; Crumrine), thus teaches:
further comprising preventing information associated with the second profile from being modified by the first application, the native application, or both. (In ¶0022: teaches “established contacts of users and all other users of the app cannot manipulate or edit the information contained in a user's information profiles, which makes each user the true master of his or her own information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fultz to provide the ability of preventing information associated with another profile from being modified by the first application, the native application or both, as taught by Crumrine in order to provide the liberty for each user to be “true master of his or her own information” (¶0022; Crumrine), see also MPEP 2143.I.G.
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fultz (U.S. Pub No. 20170366641 A1) in view of Owen (U.S. Patent No. 7266508 B1).
Regarding claim 25:
Fultz, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 18.
Neither Fultz nor Crumrine explicitly teach the ability of preventing modifying the name of a profile when is created. However, the analogous reference of Owen which discloses a “system and method for retaining institutional customer contact knowledge and experience” (see ¶0001; Owen), thus teaches:
wherein a second computing device executing a second application associated with the second profile is prevented from modifying at least a name when a profile is created. (In C7; L55 - 59: teaches that “the customer data that cannot be edited 504 includes information required to register the customer in the database, such as the customer name, MAN FID, module, total local service, total number of accounts, edited by, and last edit”, in accordance to an example given for preventing name modification of a second profile in ¶0118 from Applicant disclosure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fultz to provide the ability of preventing modifying the name of a profile when is created, as taught by Owen in order to “maintain accurate and complete records” (C1; L26 – 27; Owen), see also MPEP 2143.I.G. Further such ability provided by Owen into Fultz system would have been obvious because the claimed invention is merely applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 406 (2007). In other words, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (i.e., predictable results are obtained by applying the known technique of preventing name modifications when a profile is created to the known method and system for managing user contacts to synchronize information from mutually connected users and their corresponding applications via computer environments to maintain data consistency in all user contact lists). See also MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jain (U.S. Pub No. 20150205842 A1) is pertinent because it “provides a user-adaptive contacts management application that utilizes one or more of a social network, artificial intelligence algorithms and machine learning algorithms to integrate contacts and contextual information from a multitude of online and offline sources.”
Blakey (U.S. Pub No. 20050198085 A1) is pertinent because it “enables end-users to synchronize business contact, sales force activity, and opportunity task information between the database of an employee's personal office management application and the database of a sales force management application”. See ¶0062 for preventing account information modifications.
Wilkins (U.S. Pub No. 20080205655 A1) is pertinent because it “relates generally to contact management systems and, more particularly, to systems and methods for selectively disseminating personal contact information.”
Smith (U.S. Pub No. 20050091272 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to contact management systems for controlling how contact information is stored and made available to one or more applications.”
Dorfman (U.S. Pub No. 20200051031 A1) is pertinent because it “relates generally to contact management systems and, more particularly, to systems and methods for enhancing searching capability of any contact management system.”
Richardson (U.S. Pub No. 20210073213 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to contact lists and more particularly to a system for providing unambiguous contact information.”
Mueller (U.S. Pub No. 20210312396 A1) is pertinent because it “related to improved computer-implemented systems and methods for organizing and sharing contact and calendar information.”
Hunter (U.S. Patent No. 8005897 B1) is pertinent because it “relates to a system and method for maintaining contact list information for electronic communications.”
Somarriba (U.S. Pub No. 20170171140 A1) is pertinent because it “relates to a system and method for maintaining contact list information for electronic communications.”
/IVONNEMARY RIVERA GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3626 /DENNIS W RUHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626