Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a fuel flow rate command value calculation unit configured to calculate a fuel flow rate command value” and “a fuel flow rate control unit configured to control a flow rate of fuel” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-12 recite “The gas turbine startup control device according to claim [X]”. Base claim 1 recites “A gas turbine control device”. It is not clear if this limitation is intended to refer to the gas turbine control device of base claim 1, a different device or add in the requirement that the device of claim 1 is used for startup. Clarification is required. For purposes of examination this limitation is assumed to refer to the gas turbine control device of claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “the second fuel flow rate command value”. It is not clear if this refers to the fuel flow rate command value recited in base claim 1 or an additional element. Clarification is required. For purposes of examination this is assumed to refer to the fuel flow rate command value recited in base claim 1.
Claims dependent thereon inherit the deficiencies of the respective base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Kishi et al. (US 2013/0147208).
Regarding claim 1, Kishi discloses a gas turbine control device (Figure 1, 44) comprising:
a fuel flow rate command value calculation unit (50) configured to calculate a fuel flow rate command value (paragraph 47) by proportional integral control (paragraph 52) based on a deviation between a rotation speed of a gas turbine and a target rotation speed, or a deviation between an output of the gas turbine and a target output load (paragraph 12 describes calculating the deviation of generator output, i.e. gas turbine output and a generator output set value, i.e. target load output); and
a fuel flow rate control unit (Figure 1, Lower Value Selection Section) configured to control a flow rate of fuel (via valve 42) to the gas turbine based on the fuel flow rate command value (Figure 1 shows the fuel flow rate command value is an input into the Lower Value Selection Section),
wherein the fuel flow rate command value calculation unit calculates the fuel flow rate command value such that the output of the gas turbine increases at a first change rate in a first output band (Annotated figure 4 shows there is a first rate of change in the first band to the left of the dashed arrow), and calculates the fuel flow rate command value such that the output of the gas turbine increases at a second change rate (Annotated figure 4 shows there is a second rate of change in the second band to the right of the solid arrow) smaller than the first change rate in a second output band (Figure 4 shows the second change rate has a shallower slope than the first change rate, i.e. it is smaller than the first change rate), which is an output band higher than the first output band (Figure 4 shows the second band is in a higher gas turbine output range), and
an integral gain of the proportional integral control in the first output band is smaller than an integral gain of the proportional integral control in the second output band (Figure 3 shows the integral gain is smaller in the lower GT output, i.e. first output band, and higher in the higher GT output, i.e. second output band).
Regarding claim 2, Kishi discloses wherein the fuel flow rate command value calculation unit includes
a first fuel flow rate command value calculation unit (Figure 1, 52) for calculating a first fuel flow rate command value which is the fuel flow rate command value in the first output band (Each of 50, 52 and 54 calculate the fuel flow rate over all rating operations, so 52 necessarily calculates the fuel flow rate command value in the first band, which is delivered to the Lower Value Selection Section), and
a second fuel flow rate command value calculation unit (Figure 1, 50) for calculating a second fuel flow rate command value which is the fuel flow rate command value in the second output band (Each of 50, 52 and 54 calculate the fuel flow rate over all rating operations, so 50 necessarily calculates the fuel flow rate command value in the second band, which is delivered to the Lower Value Selection Section).
Regarding claim 3, Kishi discloses wherein the first fuel flow rate command value calculation unit includes a proportional controller (paragraph 12) that calculates the first fuel flow rate command value based on the deviation between the rotation speed and the target rotation speed (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 4, Kishi discloses wherein the second fuel flow rate command value calculation unit includes a proportional integral controller (paragraph 12) that calculates the second fuel flow rate command value based on the deviation between the output of the gas turbine and the target output (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 5, Kishi discloses further comprising: a low value selection unit configured to select a smaller one of the first fuel flow rate command value and the second fuel flow rate command value as the fuel flow rate command value (Figure 1 shows the Lower Value Selection Section as the fuel flow rate control unit).
Regarding claim 8, Kishi discloses wherein when the output of the gas turbine is switched from the first output band to the second output band, the second fuel flow rate command value is tracked to the fuel flow rate command value (See 112 section above. The second fuel flow rate command value is the fuel flow rate command value).
Regarding claim 9, Kishi discloses wherein, in the proportional integral control, the integral gain is variable based on a gas turbine state quantity correlated with the output of the gas turbine (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 11, Kishi discloses wherein the integral gain is calculated based on a function defining a relationship between the gas turbine state quantity and the integral gain (paragraph 53).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to anticipate and/or render obvious, either alone or in combination, tracking values as described in claims 6 and 7, an integral gain set to zero as described in claim 10 or wherein the first change rate is five times or more the second change rate as described in claim 12.
Conclusion
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741