DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: reference sign 100 for the imaging system should be present in Fig. 1, but is missing.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: In Line 17, the Examiner assumes that “generate multi-spectral representation” should actually be --generate a multi-spectral representation--.
Claim 22: In Lines 13-14, the Examiner assumes that “generating multi-spectral representation” should actually be --generating a multi-spectral representation--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14-15, 17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the Applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-power” in claims 12, 14-15, 17, 19, and 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-power” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The specification discloses only that “[t]he fields of view may be high-power in that the fields of view represent the biological sample corresponding to a high magnification power, such as a magnification of at least 40 times, at least 100 times, at least 400 times, or at least 1000 times.” The specification provides a magnification of at least 40 times only as an example of a high-power field of view, but does not require that the magnification be at least 40 times. Therefore, the Examiner interprets a “high-power” field of view of be one that has a positive magnification greater than 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 11, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yurt et al. (US 2018/0181062), hereinafter Yurt, in view of Gusyatin (US 2022/0066390), hereinafter Gusyatin.
Claim 1: Yurt discloses an imaging system (100, Fig. 2) for in-line holographic imaging of a biological sample (108) on a sample carrier for automated generation of a representation of the biological sample (108) for phenotypic analysis of a pathological process [0062], the imaging system (100) comprising:
one or more light sources (102/104/106) configured to generate illumination light of at least three different wavelengths [0079];
a receptacle (116) for receiving the sample carrier in an imaging position [0069];
wherein the one or more light sources (102/104/106) are configured to illuminate the biological sample (108) by the generated illumination light in the imaging position [0067];
a photo-sensitive detector (110) configured to detect a plurality of interference patterns (110) formed by interference between scattered illumination light, being scattered by the biological sample (108), and non-scattered illumination light passing through the biological sample (108), wherein each of the plurality of interference patterns (110) is based on a respective wavelength of the at least three different wavelengths (“when the object 108 is illuminated by a light beam from at least one of the light sources 102, 104, 106, an interference pattern formed by diffracted light, being scattered by the object 108, and undiffracted light of the light beam may be acquired by the image sensor 110” [0065]); and
a processor (118), which is configured to receive the plurality of interference patterns (110) [0091], wherein the processor (118) is configured generate a multi-spectral representation of the biological sample (108) (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]).
Yurt does not explicitly disclose the processor being configured to combine information of the interference patterns based on known spectral characteristics of illumination light for improving resolution compared to individual interference patterns.
Gusyatin, however, in the same field of endeavor of in-line holographic imaging, discloses an imaging system (614, Fig. 6) for in-line holographic imaging of a biological sample (microorganisms 602,604) on a sample carrier (607) for automated generation of a representation of the biological sample (602,604) for phenotypic analysis of a pathological process [0088], the imaging system (614) comprising:
a processor (638), which is configured to receive a plurality of interference patterns (610,612),
wherein the processor (638) is configured to combine information of the interference patterns (610,612) based on known spectral characteristics of illumination light for improving resolution compared to individual interference patterns (“In some examples, characteristics of the reference beam 616 or other components of the in-line holographic apparatus 600 are varied to enhance detection resolution, including… super-resolution techniques employing relative superposition of sample and illumination, and numerical techniques such as super-resolution via compressed sensing” [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s processor to combine information of the interference patterns to provide improved resolution for the purpose of reducing twin-image distortion.
It would have been also obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yurt’s processor to use this improved resolution for generation of the multi-spectral representation of the biological sample the purpose of obtaining a more accurate characterization of the sample.
Claim 2: Yurt, in view of Gusyatin, further discloses wherein the processor (628) is configured to combine information of the interference patterns (610,612) based on known spectral characteristics of illumination light for improving spatial and spectral resolution (Gusyatin, “In some examples, characteristics of the reference beam 616 or other components of the in-line holographic apparatus 600 are varied to enhance detection resolution, including… super-resolution techniques employing relative superposition of sample and illumination, and numerical techniques such as super-resolution via compressed sensing” [0092]).
Claim 6: Yurt further discloses wherein the processor (118) is configured to reconstruct a multi-spectral image of the biological sample (108) (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]).
Yurt does not explicitly disclose the processor being further configured to generate a plurality of high-power fields of view for presentation to an operator.
Gusyatin, however, discloses generating a plurality of high-power fields of view (“Images of one or more (such as 1-100, for example, 2-25, 10-40, 30-80, or 50-100) fields of view… of one or more microorganisms are captured” [0078]) for presentation to an operator (purely functional language).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s processor to generate a plurality of high-power fields of view for the purpose of proving a more accurate characterization of the sample.
Claim 11: Yurt does not explicitly disclose wherein the imaging system is configured to automatically report a non-interpretable sample.
Gusyatin, however, discloses processing the holographic data for interpretation of the sample (1712/1714, Fig. 17) (“At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Gusyatin does not explicitly disclose automatically reporting a non-interpretable sample.
However, the Examiner takes Official notice that is well known to remove erroneous objects from being analyzed, to prevent the presentation of bad data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Gusyatin’s imaging system to automatically report a non-interpretable sample for the purpose of preventing false sample identification from being presented to a user.
It would have been furthermore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s imaging system to interpret samples based on the generated multi-spectral representation for the purpose of providing sample classification (Gusyatin: “At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Claim 4: Yurt discloses wherein the photo-sensitive detector (110) comprises an array of sensors (112) (“The apparatus 100 further includes an image sensor 110, which includes a set of light-detecting elements 112” [0065]), does not explicitly disclose generating a plurality of multi-spectral representations for a plurality of fields of view of the biological sample.
Gusyatin, however, discloses generating a plurality of fields of view (“Images of one or more (such as 1-100, for example, 2-25, 10-40, 30-80, or 50-100) fields of view… of one or more microorganisms are captured” [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s imaging system to generate a plurality of fields of view for the purpose of proving a more accurate characterization of the sample. It is evident then, in Yurt’s modified system, that the plurality of fields of view yield a plurality of multi-spectral representations (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]). It is also evident that each sensor (112) in the array is configured to detect the plurality of interference patterns for a respective field of view of the biological sample (108) [0065].
Claim 8: Yurt does not explicitly disclose the processor being configured to verify a quality of the biological sample
Gusyatin, however, discloses processing the multi-spectral representation of the sample for verifying a quality of the sample (1712/1714, Fig. 17) (“At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s processor to verify sample quality based on the generated multi-spectral representation for the purpose of providing sample classification (Gusyatin: “At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Claim 22: Yurt discloses a method (using system 100, Fig. 2) for in-line holographic imaging of a biological sample (108) for automated generation of a representation of the biological sample (108) for phenotypic analysis of a pathological process [0062], said method comprising:
arranging a sample carrier carrying the biological sample (108) in an imaging position [0069];
illuminating the biological sample (108) using light of at least three different wavelengths from one or more light sources (102/104/106) [0079];
detecting (with detector 110) a plurality of interference patterns (110) formed by interference between scattered illumination light, being scattered by the biological sample (108), and non-scattered illumination light passing through the biological sample (108), wherein each of the plurality of interference patterns (110) is based on a respective wavelength of the at least three different wavelengths (“when the object 108 is illuminated by a light beam from at least one of the light sources 102, 104, 106, an interference pattern formed by diffracted light, being scattered by the object 108, and undiffracted light of the light beam may be acquired by the image sensor 110” [0065]); and
processing (with processor 118) the detected plurality of interference patterns (110) [0091] to generate a multi-spectral representation of the biological sample (108) (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]).
Yurt does not explicitly disclose processing to combine information of the interference patterns based on known spectral characteristics of illumination light for improving resolution compared to individual interference patterns.
Gusyatin, however, in the same field of endeavor of in-line holographic imaging, discloses an imaging method (using system 614, Fig. 6) for in-line holographic imaging of a biological sample (microorganisms 602,604) on a sample carrier (607) for automated generation of a representation of the biological sample (602,604) for phenotypic analysis of a pathological process [0088], said method comprising:
processing (with processor 638) a detected plurality of interference patterns (610,612), to combine information of the interference patterns (610,612) based on known spectral characteristics of illumination light for improving resolution compared to individual interference patterns (“In some examples, characteristics of the reference beam 616 or other components of the in-line holographic apparatus 600 are varied to enhance detection resolution, including… super-resolution techniques employing relative superposition of sample and illumination, and numerical techniques such as super-resolution via compressed sensing” [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s method to combine information of the interference patterns to provide improved resolution for the purpose of reducing twin-image distortion.
It would have been also obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Yurt’s method to use this improved resolution for generation of the multi-spectral representation of the biological sample the purpose of obtaining a more accurate characterization of the sample.
Claim 23: Yurt does not explicitly disclose the illuminating and detecting being performed to generate a plurality of multi-spectral representations for a plurality of fields of view of the biological sample.
Gusyatin, however, discloses generating a plurality of fields of view (“Images of one or more (such as 1-100, for example, 2-25, 10-40, 30-80, or 50-100) fields of view… of one or more microorganisms are captured” [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s method to generate a plurality of fields of view for the purpose of proving a more accurate characterization of the sample. It is evident then, in Yurt’s modified method, that the plurality of fields of view yield a plurality of multi-spectral representations (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]).
Claim 24: Yurt further discloses reconstructing a multi-spectral image of the biological sample (108) (“a processing unit 118 which may be configured to process the acquired interference patterns in order to form a reconstructed image of the object” [0091]).
Yurt does not explicitly disclose generating a plurality of high-power fields of view for presentation to an operator.
Gusyatin, however, discloses generating a plurality of high-power fields of view (“Images of one or more (such as 1-100, for example, 2-25, 10-40, 30-80, or 50-100) fields of view… of one or more microorganisms are captured” [0078]) for presentation to an operator (purely functional language).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s method to generate a plurality of high-power fields of view for the purpose of proving a more accurate characterization of the sample.
Claim 25: Yurt does not explicitly disclose verifying a quality of the biological sample
Gusyatin, however, discloses processing the multi-spectral representation of the sample for verifying a quality of the sample (1712/1714, Fig. 17) (“At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s method to verify sample quality based on the generated multi-spectral representation for the purpose of providing sample classification (Gusyatin: “At 1712, the data are processed through the trained deeply supervised convolutional neural network, and at 1714 an object identification and/or classification is produced based on the hologram or reconstruction data” [0125]).
Claim 26: Yurt does not explicitly disclose, in response to the biological sample failing verification of quality, rejecting the biological sample from further processing.
However, the Examiner takes Official notice that is well known to remove erroneous objects from being analyzed, to prevent the presentation of bad data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s method to reject a failed-quality sample for the purpose of preventing false sample identification from being presented to a user.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yurt, in view of Gusyatin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weber et al. (“Multispectral imaging of tissue absorption and scattering using spatial frequency domain imaging and a computed-tomography imaging spectrometer”, J Biomed Opt. 2011 Jan-Feb;16(1)), hereinafter Weber.
Claim 3: Yurt further discloses wherein the one or more light sources (102/104/106) are configured to generate illumination light of a number of wavelengths being at least five wavelengths [0063].
Yurt is silent with respect to the processor being configured to generate the multi-spectral representation of the biological sample including fewer wavelengths than the number of wavelengths of the illumination light.
Weber, however, in the same field of endeavor of multi-spectral imaging, discloses wherein a processor is configured to generate a multi-spectral representation of a sample including fewer wavelengths than the number of wavelengths of illumination light (P. 2, L col, 3rd ¶ - P. 2, R col, 1st ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yurt’s processor to reduce the number of wavelengths used in the multi-spectral representation for the purpose of improving the signal to noise ratio (Weber, P. 2, L col, 3rd ¶ - P. 2, R col, 1st ¶).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 9: None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches or discloses the imaging system according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to process the multi-spectral representation of the biological sample for verifying a quality of staining of the biological sample.
Claim 10: None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teaches or discloses the imaging system according to claim 1, wherein the imaging system is configured to generate representations of the biological sample for imaging of the biological sample using staining of the biological sample.
Claims 12, 14-15, 19, 19, and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Tarifur Chowdhury can be reached on 571-272-2287. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Hina F Ayub/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877