CTNF 19/135,265 CTNF 88865 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanawa et al. (U.S. Patent Number 4,132,197), hereinafter “Hanawa” . Regarding claim 1, Hanawa discloses a gas valve for metered dispensing of a gaseous fuel, the gas valve having a valve body (32) in which a gas space (36) which can be filled with a gaseous fuel is formed, and a valve element (35) arranged so as to be movable longitudinally in the gas space (shown in figure 2), wherein the valve element (35) comprises a plate-shaped end portion (portion of 35 that rests on valve seat 41), which cooperates with a valve seat (41) formed on the valve body (32) for opening and closing an annular flow area (portion of valve 35 on valve seat 41), and the gas valve having a cylindrical sleeve (30) surrounding the valve body (shown in figure 2, column 3, lines 40-48), the cylindrical sleeve (30) including a base portion (bottom portion of 30) forming an end of the sleeve and a lateral surface (left portion of 30 in figure 2) adjoining the base portion, wherein the base portion, the sleeve lateral surface, and the plate-shaped end portion delimit a chamber (40, column 4, lines 1-10), the chamber (40) comprises a blow-in opening (42), which is formed in the base portion and in the lateral surface of the cylindrical sleeve (30, shown in figure 2, column 4, lines 1-12). Regarding claim 2, Hanawa discloses the gas valve according to claim 1, wherein the blow-in opening (42) is formed from a cylindrical bore (42) formed in the base portion (lower end portion of 30) and a lateral opening (42) formed in the lateral surface (shown in figures 2 and 2-3). Regarding claims 3, Hanawa discloses the gas valve according to claim 1, wherein the blow-in opening is formed by a cylindrical bore (42) extending in the base portion and in the lateral surface (shown in figure 3). Regarding claims 4 and 8, Hanawa discloses the gas valve according to claim 2 or 3, wherein a central axis of the bore (42) is inclined by an angle α in relation to a longitudinal axis of the valve body (shown in figure 2). Regarding claims 5 and 9, Hanawa discloses the gas valve according to claim 2 or 3, wherein the cylindrical bore (42) has a circular cross-section (shown in figure 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanawa . Regarding claims 6 and 10, Hanawa discloses claimed invention except for the gas valve having a length (L) to diameter (D) ratio (L/D) of the cylindrical bore being between 0.75 and 2.5. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of when the invention was made to have such a range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claims 7 and 11, Hanawa discloses the claimed invention except for the cross-section of the bore being either oval or rectangular. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide an oval or rectangular shaped cross- section for the bore, since applicant has not disclosed that such an arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the circular cross-sectional bore . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED O HASAN whose telephone number is (571)272-0990. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday; 11AM-7PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lindsay Low can be reached at (571) 272-1196. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SYED O HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 5/30/2026 Application/Control Number: 19/135,265 Page 2 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/135,265 Page 3 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/135,265 Page 4 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/135,265 Page 5 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/135,265 Page 6 Art Unit: 3747