DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 5,521,703 to Mitchell, in view of US Publication 2018/0323093 to Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 1, Mitchell discloses and shows in Figures 1-7, an optical gas concentration sensor (col. 1, ll. 7-13), comprising:
a sample cell (60, 260, 460) comprising an inlet port (140) and an outlet port (150) through which a gas can flow (col. 11, ll. 39-52);
a light source (10, 210, 410) configured to emit light into an interior of the sample cell (col. 8, ll. 8-15);
a light detector (100, 294, 516) arranged outside the sample cell (col. 8, ll. 40-68); and
an optical waveguide assembly (80, 380, 90, 390, 490, 492a-d) (Figures 1, 6b-c) optically coupling an interior of the sample cell to the detector (col. 5, ll. 1-24; col. 12, ll. 27-68), wherein the optical waveguide assembly includes:
a plurality of filters (80, 380) and a GRIN lens (392) (applicant’s first optical waveguide) coupled to the sample cell (col. 5, ll. 1-24; col. 12, ll. 12-68);
a second optical waveguide (390) coupled to the detector (col. 5, ll. 1-24; col. 12, ll. 12-68); and
wherein the first optical waveguide has different optical transmission characteristics from the second optical waveguide (col. 5, ll. 1-24; col. 12, ll. 12 to col. 13, ll. 6; wherein each of the filters may transmit different bands of wavelengths, the GRIN lens may “improve the collection and delivery” of the scattered light, and each of the fibers in the fiber bundle may be tailored to transmit light of particular wavelength bands, thereby providing a plurality of different individual detection channels).
Mitchell further discloses and shows in Figures 6a-c, the system wherein the sample cell (360) includes a distal end, which protrudes around filter (380) and GRIN lens (392), and appears to allow fiber bundle (390) to couple there within.
Mitchell differs from the limitations in that it does not explicitly disclose: an optical coupler optically coupling the first optical waveguide to the second optical waveguide, wherein the first optical waveguide has different optical transmission characteristics from the second optical waveguide at wavelengths in a wavelength range from 1.5 µm to 18 µm.
However, Zhang teaches and shows in Figure 2a-b, an optical measurement system (124) comprising: an interior light guide (214) contacting a sample processing chamber; an exterior optical fiber (212); and one or more couplers (230), wherein the one or more couplers (230) forms a fiber optic junction (220) between the interior light guide and the exterior optical fiber to provide the advantage of insulating the external processing and detection systems from the high temperatures of the sample chamber (par. 27-28). Zhang further teaches utilizing and detecting infrared (IR) radiation (applicant’s wavelength range from 1.5 µm to 18 µm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitchell to include the optical coupler and wavelengths discussed above for the advantage of utilizing well-known optical components to thermally insulate and isolate sensitive systems from high temperatures and harsh environments, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 4-6, Mitchell differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system further comprising:
[claim 4] wherein a length of the first optical waveguide is less than a length of the second optical waveguide;
[claim 5] wherein the first optical waveguide includes at least one optical fiber;
[claim 6] wherein the first optical waveguide includes a material selected from the group consisting of ZrF4, InF3, a chalcogenide material, and a silver halide material.
However, Zhang teaches and shows in Figure 2a-b, an optical measurement system (124) comprising: an interior optical light guide or fiber (214), which may be formed of sapphire “or any other material suitable for directed IR light”, and is shorter in length that an exterior optical fiber (212). Further, ZrF4, InF3, a chalcogenide material, and a silver halide material, are well-known optical materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitchell to include the optical fibers discussed above for the advantage of utilizing well-known optical components to improve the collection and delivery of scattered light and to isolate sensitive systems from high temperatures and harsh environments, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-11 and 17-18, Mitchell, in view of Zhang, discloses and shows in Figures 1-7, an optical gas concentration sensor (col. 1, ll. 7-13), comprising:
[claim 7] wherein the light detector includes:
at least one photodetector (100, 294, 516); and
a plurality of optical filters (508) arranged and configured to transmit, to the at least one photodetector, different bands of wavelengths in the mid-IR range of the electromagnetic spectrum (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11; wherein a plurality of different individual detection channels may be utilized);
[claim 8] wherein the at least one photodetector includes a single photodetector (100, 294, 516) (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11);
[claim 9] wherein the at least one photodetector includes a plurality of photodetectors (100, 294, 516) (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11);
[claim 10] wherein different optical filters of the plurality of optical filters are arranged at different photodetectors of the plurality of photodetectors (508) (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11; wherein a plurality of different individual detection channels may be utilized);
[claim 11] wherein the plurality of optical filters includes:
a first optical filter (508a) configured to transmit a first band of wavelengths in the wavelength range of the electromagnetic spectrum;
a second optical filter (508b) configured to transmit a second band of wavelengths in the wavelength range of the electromagnetic spectrum; and
a third optical filter (508c) configured to transmit a third band of wavelengths in the wavelength range of the electromagnetic spectrum,
wherein the first band of wavelengths do not overlap with the third band of wavelengths (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11; wherein a plurality of different detection channels may be utilized, and each channel may include a filter designed to detect a desired wavelength);
[claim 17 further comprising an analyzer (100, 294) coupled to an output of the detector and configured to determine a concentration of the gas in the sample cell based on detection signals output by the at least one photodetector in response to receiving light transmitted by the first, second and third optical filters (col. 1, ll. 7-13; col. 5, 1-24);
[claim 18] further comprising an analyzer (100, 294) coupled to an output of the detector and configured to determine a concentration of the gas in the sample cell (col. 1, ll. 7-13; col. 5, ll. 1-24).
Claim(s) 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell, in view of Zhang, and in further view of US Publication 2003/0205673 to Williams
Regarding claims 12-16, Mitchell discloses and shows in Figures 1-7, an optical gas concentration sensor (col. 1, ll. 7-13), comprising: a fiber optic bundle (490), having a plurality of optical fibers (492a-d) and a plurality of optical filters (508a-d), which may be “designed” to pass particular detection wavelengths (col. 13, ll. 43 to col. 14, ll. 11).
Mitchell, in view of Zhang, differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system further comprising:
[claim 12] wherein the second band of wavelengths does not overlap with the first or third bands of wavelengths;
[claim 13] wherein the second band of wavelengths lies in between the first and third bands of wavelengths;
[claim 14] wherein wavelengths in the second band of wavelengths are more strongly absorbable by the gas than wavelengths in the first or third bands of wavelengths;
[claim 15] wherein wavelengths in the first band of wavelengths are more strongly absorbable by byproducts of the gas or contamination within the sample cell than wavelengths in the second or third bands of wavelengths;
[claim 16] wherein wavelengths in the third band of wavelengths are less strongly absorbable by the gas, byproducts of the gas or contamination within the sample cell than wavelengths in the first or second bands of wavelengths.
However, Williams teaches and shows in Figure 2a-b, a spectroscopic gas measurement system (par. 1) comprising: a plurality of dichroic mirrors (31, 33); a plurality of narrowband optical filters (43, 45, 47); and a plurality of detectors (55, 57, 59), to provide a plurality of different detection channels (par. 28-30, 32), wherein each of the detector channels are configured to detect a particular gas (par. 39-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitchell to include the plurality of detection channels and wavelengths discussed above for the advantage of providing a plurality of desired wavelength bands in order to monitor the presence of specific gas components within a sample, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell, in view of Zhang, and in further view of US Publication 2022/0236173 to Nikittin et al.
Regarding claims 2-3, Mitchell, in view of Zhang, differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system further comprising:
[claim 2] further comprising a thermally insulating enclosure, wherein the sample cell is arranged within the thermally insulating enclosure;
[claim 3] wherein the optical waveguide assembly is connected to the thermally insulating enclosure.
However, Nikittin teaches and shows in Figures 1-3, an optical gas concentration measurement system comprising: a thermally insulated gas chamber (102), wherein the chamber is coupled to a plurality of optical waveguides (112, 114) (par. 6, 17, 20, 22-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitchell to include the thermally insulated enclosure discussed above for the advantage of utilizing well-known optical components to thermally insulate and isolate sensitive systems from high temperatures and harsh environments, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
JONATHAN M. HANSEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/JONATHAN M HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877