DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 -3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20200182299).
Regarding Claim 1, Kimura discloses sliding components of which a pair of sliding surfaces rotate relative to each other (surfaces of 4 and 7, fig 1) and which partition a sealed fluid space and a leakage space off from each other (4 and 7 seals between 2 and 5),
wherein at least one of the sliding surfaces is provided with a dynamic pressure generation groove (11, fig 5 same as fig 1), a fluid recovery groove (36, fig 5 and Para 0061) provided on a leakage space side with respect to the dynamic pressure generation groove (36 on a radial outer side, fig 5) and including at least one pressure generation portion that is a circumferential end portion, a curved portion, or a bent portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below), and a circumferential groove ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below) provided between the dynamic pressure generation groove and the fluid recovery groove in a radial direction and extending in a circumferential direction ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below).
Regarding Claim 2, Kimura discloses the sliding components wherein the fluid recovery groove includes a first groove portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below) configured to extend in the circumferential direction ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below), and a second groove portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below) curved or bent from the first groove portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below) and configured to extend toward the circumferential groove ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below), and the pressure generation portion is a bent portion between the first groove portion and the second groove portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below).
Regarding Claim 3, Kimura discloses the sliding components wherein the circumferential groove has an annular shape ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Kimura discloses the sliding components wherein one of the sliding surfaces is further provided with a communication groove (12, fig 5) that causes the circumferential groove and the sealed fluid space to communicate with each other (12 communicates with 13 and sealed fluid space in the radial inner direction).
Regarding Claim 8, Kimura discloses the sliding components wherein the adjacent first groove portions are aligned in one circle line shape ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 5 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Itadani et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20160033045).
Regarding Claim 4, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the fluid recovery groove communicates with the circumferential groove.
However, Itadani teaches wherein the fluid recovery groove communicates with the circumferential groove (10 communicates with 11, fig 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid recovery grooves of Itadani with those of Kimura with a reasonable expectation of success so that the fluid recovery grooves communicate with the circumferential groove and act as pumping grooves to the sliding surface (Itadani Para 0063).
Regarding Claim 11, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the circumferential groove is deeper than the fluid recovery groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the thickness limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide sufficient lubrication depending on the application. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Tokunaga et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20180073394).
Regarding Claim 7, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose an upstream end of the first groove portion of the fluid recovery groove and the bent portion of the adjacent fluid recovery groove on an upstream side in the relative rotation overlap each other in the circumferential direction.
However, Tokunaga teaches an upstream end of the first groove portion of the fluid recovery groove and the bent portion of the adjacent fluid recovery groove on an upstream side in the relative rotation overlap each other in the circumferential direction (upstream end of the first groove portion 15a, fig 6) of the fluid recovery groove (15, fig 6) and the bent portion (10, fig 6) of the adjacent fluid recovery groove (10 of adjacent 15, fig 6) on an upstream side in the relative rotation overlap each other in the circumferential direction(15 and adjacent 15 overlap each other, fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the fluid recovery grooves of Tokunaga with those of Kimura with a reasonable expectation of success so that the fluid recovery grooves increase a liquid film between the sliding faces at low speeds, improving lubrication performance at low speeds (Tokunaga Para 0122).
Claims 6, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura alone.
Regarding Claim 6, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the circumferential groove is deeper than the fluid recovery groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the thickness limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide sufficient lubrication depending on the application. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 9, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the circumferential groove is deeper than the fluid recovery groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the thickness limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide sufficient lubrication depending on the application. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 10, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the circumferential groove is deeper than the fluid recovery groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the thickness limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide sufficient lubrication depending on the application. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 12, Kimura discloses the sliding components.
Kimura does not disclose wherein the circumferential groove is deeper than the fluid recovery groove.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the thickness limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide sufficient lubrication depending on the application. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675