DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 16-21 and 23-25 would be allowable if (#1) rewritten to overcome all pending objection(s) and all pending rejection(s) set forth in this Office action; and (#2) rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 22 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Priority Status
Foreign priority benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) is acknowledged.
Amendments to The Specification
The SUBSTITUTE SPECIFICATION CLEAN COPY is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Preliminary Amended Claim(s) 15-28 is/are examined in this office action.
Judicial Exception Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 15-21 and 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. (See MPEP § 2106.)
STEP 1 of the eligibility analysis asks: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes for Claim(s) 15-21 and 23-28.
STEP 2A PRONG ONE asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes, because Claim(s) 15 recite(s) the following limitation(s):
“determine a manual steering angle…” – (In this step, “determine” is interpreted as calculate. This/These step(s) is/are considered a Mathematical Concept which “is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations” furthermore, “[I]t is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols”. See MPEP § 2106.04 (a)(2) I.)
“determine a maximum steering angle…” – (In this step, “determine” is interpreted as calculate. This/These step(s) is/are considered a Mathematical Concept which “is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations” furthermore, “[I]t is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols”. See MPEP § 2106.04 (a)(2) I.)
Yes, because Claim(s) 26 recite(s) the following limitation(s):
“determine a manual steering angle…” – (In this step, “determine” is interpreted as calculate. This/These step(s) is/are considered a Mathematical Concept which “is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations” furthermore, “[I]t is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols”. See MPEP § 2106.04 (a)(2) I.)
“determine a maximum steering angle…” – (In this step, “determine” is interpreted as calculate. This/These step(s) is/are considered a Mathematical Concept which “is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations” furthermore, “[I]t is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols”. See MPEP § 2106.04 (a)(2) I.)
“determine a maximum curvature of a driving trajectory of the vehicle…” – (In this step, “determine” is interpreted as calculate. This/These step(s) is/are considered a Mathematical Concept which “is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations” furthermore, “[I]t is important to note that a mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols”. See MPEP § 2106.04 (a)(2) I.)
“…display information with respect to the determined maximum curvature on a display unit of the vehicle” – (This/These step(s) is/are considered collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) III Mental Process.)
Yes, because Claim 27 repeats the same subject matter as Claim 15 and analyzed in like manner.
Yes, because Claim 28 repeats the same subject matter as Claim 26 and analyzed in like manner.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, because Claim(s) 15 recite(s) the following limitation(s):
“…the device comprises a processor…”.
No, because Claim(s) 26 recite(s) the following limitation(s):
“…the device comprises a processor…”.
The above limitations are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as generic computer functions of collecting and/or processing data. These generic limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (e.g., “a processor”). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, Claim(s) 15 and 26-28 is/are directed to the abstract idea.
Additionally, The Examiner refers to The Berkheimer Memorandum1 for submitting more evidence into the prosecution regarding what subject matter is/are well known in the technology. The Berkheimer Memorandum specifies The Examiner shall show one or more of the follow items:
“A citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during prosecution that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).” See Section III (A) (1).
“A citation to one or more of the court decisions discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).” See Section III (A) (2).
“A citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).” See Section III (A) (3).
“A statement that the examiner is taking official notice of the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).” See Section III (A) (4).
In this particular case, The Examiner provides “A citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s)” as required by Section III:
“It is well known in the art to provide a vehicle display screen located within the vehicle. The display screen is operable to display things such as GPS navigation, radio controls, or other vehicle controls essential to the operation of the vehicle. It is common and well known in the art at present to provide these screens in all automotive vehicles.” (US 20130224721 A1, [0004])
“Client-Server and network communication is well-known in the art of computers and networking.” (US 20050021745 A1, [0052])
“The electronic control unit 23 comprises a microprocessor including a central processing unit (CPU), a random access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an A/D converter, and an input/output interface, all not shown, but well-known in the art.” (US 4741163)
“As is well-known in the art, software is stored on a computer-readable storage medium (including compact disc, computer diskette, and computer memory, etc.) with code, or instructions, which, when read and executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a process or task.” (US 20120226548 A1, [0020])
“Conventionally, an in-vehicle microphone device mounted on a vehicle interior, for example, a vehicle interior ceiling, is widely known.” (JP 2016105557 A)
“Battery 32, as is well known in the electric vehicle field, powers an electric motor (not shown) that provides motive power for the vehicle and/or other vehicle electrical systems.” (US 20140152255 A1, [0017])
“It should be noted that vehicle sensor systems, such as vehicle sensor system 18, suitable for monitoring various vehicle components, systems, and states, are well-known in the art and are commonly provided as OEM equipment on a wide range of vehicles” (US 20170236341 A1, [0025])
“Electronic controls and computers are well known in the art of automotive manufacturing” (US 20030154817 A1, [0003])
STEP 2B asks: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No for Claim(s) 15 and 26-28. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. Therefore, Claim(s) 15 and 26-28 is/are ineligible.
Dependent Claim(s) 16-21 and 23-25 are also ineligible because they do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In summary, Claim(s) 15-21 and 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210380117 A1 (“Gonzalez”).
As to Claim 15, Gonzalez discloses A device (e.g., “a control unit for a vehicle”) for controlling the automated lateral control of a vehicle (see at least [0006] – “The vehicle is set up to cause automatic interventions in the longitudinal and/or lateral control of the vehicle”), the device comprising
a processor (e.g., “processor”) configured to (see at least [0031]-[0032]):
determine a manual steering angle of a steering system of the vehicle effectuated during manual lateral control of the vehicle (see at least [0006], [0015]-[0016] – “The control unit may be set up to detect an operation of the control means which changes the effect on the vehicle of an automatic intervention of the vehicle. In other words, it can be detected that the user of the vehicle uses a vehicle control means to manually change the driving style of the vehicle. Examples of changes in the effect on the vehicle which can be caused by operating a control device, are: …a change in the steering angle and/or the torque on the steering system of the vehicle…”); and
determine a maximum steering angle (e.g., “a maximum permissible steering torque and/or a maximum permissible steering angle on a steering wheel of the vehicle”) settable by a steering actuator (e.g., “one or more longitudinal and/or lateral control actuators”) of the vehicle in the scope of the automated lateral control of the vehicle on the basis of the determined manual steering angle (see at least [0006], [0008] – “the control unit is set up to adapt at least one operating parameter of the vehicle, which has an influence on the automatic intervention in the longitudinal and/or lateral control of the vehicle”, [0018]-[0023]. Gonzalez discloses in [0018], “The at least one operating parameter can thus be adjusted in such a way that the reaction information indicates the target reaction in the event of a future automatic intervention” and in [0023] – “The at least one operating parameter may include: … a maximum permissible steering torque and/or a maximum permissible steering angle on a steering wheel of the vehicle… The values of one or more operating parameters can be changed by a change in the control of one or more longitudinal and/or lateral control actuators of the vehicle.”).
Claim 27 repeats the subject matter of Claim 15 and rejected in like manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzalez and further in view of DE 102017220767 (“D3”).
As to Claim 26, Gonzalez discloses A device (e.g., “a control unit for a vehicle”) for controlling the automated lateral control of a vehicle (see at least [0006] – “The vehicle is set up to cause automatic interventions in the longitudinal and/or lateral control of the vehicle”), the device comprising
a processor (e.g., “processor”) configured to (see at least [0031]-[0032]):
determine a manual steering angle of a steering system of the vehicle effectuated during manual lateral control of the vehicle (see at least [0006], [0015]-[0016] – “The control unit may be set up to detect an operation of the control means which changes the effect on the vehicle of an automatic intervention of the vehicle. In other words, it can be detected that the user of the vehicle uses a vehicle control means to manually change the driving style of the vehicle. Examples of changes in the effect on the vehicle which can be caused by operating a control device, are: …a change in the steering angle and/or the torque on the steering system of the vehicle…”); and
determine a maximum steering angle (e.g., “a maximum permissible steering torque and/or a maximum permissible steering angle on a steering wheel of the vehicle”) settable by a steering actuator (e.g., “one or more longitudinal and/or lateral control actuators”) of the vehicle in the scope of the automated lateral control of the vehicle on the basis of the determined manual steering angle (see at least [0006], [0008] – “the control unit is set up to adapt at least one operating parameter of the vehicle, which has an influence on the automatic intervention in the longitudinal and/or lateral control of the vehicle”, [0018]-[0023]. Gonzalez discloses in [0018], “The at least one operating parameter can thus be adjusted in such a way that the reaction information indicates the target reaction in the event of a future automatic intervention” and in [0023] – “The at least one operating parameter may include: … a maximum permissible steering torque and/or a maximum permissible steering angle on a steering wheel of the vehicle… The values of one or more operating parameters can be changed by a change in the control of one or more longitudinal and/or lateral control actuators of the vehicle.”); and
during the driving maneuver using lateral control, display information with respect to an environment on a display unit of the vehicle (see at least [0023], [0041], [0043]).
Gonzalez does not directly disclose determine a maximum curvature of a driving trajectory of the vehicle during a driving maneuver using lateral control on the basis of the maximum settable steering angle; and display information with respect to the determined maximum curvature on a display unit of the vehicle.
However, D3 teaches:
determine a maximum curvature of a driving trajectory of a vehicle during a driving maneuver using lateral control on the basis of a maximum settable steering angle (“The control device according to the invention is characterized in that it receives during operation of the driving system in the automated driving mode, steering information regarding an automated lateral guidance, in particular for an upcoming steering maneuver. The steering information typically includes information about the steering direction, i. H. a steering to the left or to the right. The steering information preferably further includes information indicative of the strength of a future steering angle, such as the maximum steering angle of the vehicle, maximum steering wheel steering angle for an upcoming steering maneuver, or maximum trajectory curvature for an upcoming steering maneuver. Alternatively, as the future steering angle is continually displayed, information about the particular future steering angle may be continuously evaluated for a fixed predetermined time in the future or for a fixed distance ahead and displayed.”); and
display information with respect to the determined maximum curvature on a display unit (e.g., “steering wheel display”) of the vehicle (see at least Abstract and “The control device according to the invention is characterized in that it receives during operation of the driving system in the automated driving mode, steering information regarding an automated lateral guidance, in particular for an upcoming steering maneuver. The steering information typically includes information about the steering direction, i. H. a steering to the left or to the right. The steering information preferably further includes information indicative of the strength of a future steering angle, such as the maximum steering angle of the vehicle, maximum steering wheel steering angle for an upcoming steering maneuver, or maximum trajectory curvature for an upcoming steering maneuver. Alternatively, as the future steering angle is continually displayed, information about the particular future steering angle may be continuously evaluated for a fixed predetermined time in the future or for a fixed distance ahead and displayed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art BEFORE the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gonzalez’s invention by incorporating a steering wheel display as taught by D3 in order to show a driver the automated steering angle (see Abstract).
Claim 28 repeats the subject matter of Claim 26 and rejected in like manner.
Written Authorization Required for Internet Communication
MPEP § 502.03 II, “Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via email to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence and response will be placed in the appropriate patent application by the examiner. Except for correspondence that only sets up an interview time, all correspondence between the Office and the applicant including applicant's representative must be placed in the appropriate patent application. If an email contains any information beyond scheduling an interview, such as an interview agenda, it must be placed in the application. The written authorization may be submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, mail, or fax. It cannot be submitted by email.”
Contact Information
Primary Examiner Calvin Cheung’s contact information is listed at the bottom, and he is best reached MONDAY-THURSDAY, 0730-1730 ET. If attempts to reach the primary by telephone are unsuccessful, the Primary Examiner’s supervisor, ERIN PIATESKI, is available at telephone number (571) 270-7429.
Applicants are encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice for scheduling an examiner interview that will be performed over telephone or video conferencing (using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool).
/CALVIN CHEUNG/
Direct Office Number (571) 270-7041
Email and Fax send to Calvin.Cheung@USPTO.GOV
1 See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/memo-berkheimer-20180419.PDF