DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 2 should read in part “wherein an exothermic”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dahodwala et al. (US 10,480,369).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Dahodwala, Figure 4)
Dahodwala et al. (Daho) discloses:
An exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (10) configured to treat an exhaust-gas stream from combustion in an internal combustion engine (100), the exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (10) comprising:
a first dosing device (26) configured to add a first additive to the exhaust-gas stream (See Daho, Column 4, Line 59);
a heating device (30) arranged downstream of the first dosing device (26) and configured to introduce thermal energy to the exhaust-gas stream (See Daho, Column 5, Lines 7-21); and
an oxidation catalyst (12) downstream of the heating device (30) and configured to oxidize nitrogen, carbon, and hydrogen compounds contained in the exhaust-gas stream (See Daho, Column 4, Lines 25-27),
wherein the heating device (30) is an electric heater connected directly upstream of the oxidation catalyst (12) or the heating device (30) is an electrically heatable oxidation catalyst. (See Daho, Column 5, Lines 7-21).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Dahodwala, Figure 4)
Daho discloses:
a second dosing device (16) connected downstream of the oxidation catalyst (12) and configured to supply a second additive to the exhaust gas stream. (See Daho, Column 4, Lines 35-36).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Dahodwala, Figure 4)
Daho discloses:
a first selective reduction catalyst (20) arranged after the second dosing device (16). (See Daho, Column 4, Lines 39-42).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Dahodwala, Figure 4)
Daho discloses:
a first slip catalyst (24), configured to oxidize additive residues or to support the first selective reduction catalyst (20), is arranged after the first selective reduction catalyst (20). (See Daho, Column 4, Lines 56-61).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Dahodwala, Figure 4)
Daho discloses:
wherein the second dosing device (16) is configured to supply the second additive as a function of a diesel particulate filter (18) temperature. (See Daho, Column 4, Lines 35-61).
Daho discloses all of the structural limitations of claim 15, as best understood by Examiner. As all of the structural limitations are disclosed, “wherein the second dosing device is configured to supply the second additive as a function of a diesel particulate filter temperature” is capable of being executed. The recitation of the intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention as the prior art to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. As Daho is capable of performing the intended use of the claimed invention, and the recitation of the intended use does not result in a structural difference, Daho discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
Claim(s) 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martz et al. (US 2022/0397048).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz et al. (Martz) discloses:
An exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (550) configured to treat an exhaust-gas stream from combustion in an internal combustion engine (10), the exhaust-gas aftertreatment system (550) comprising:
a first dosing device (524) configured to add a first additive to the exhaust-gas stream (See Martz, Paragraph [0064]);
a heating device (522) arranged downstream of the first dosing device (524) and configured to introduce thermal energy to the exhaust-gas stream (See Martz, Paragraph [0064]); and
an oxidation catalyst (520) downstream of the heating device (522) and configured to oxidize nitrogen, carbon, and hydrogen compounds contained in the exhaust-gas stream (See Martz, Paragraph [0064]),
wherein the heating device (522) is an electric heater connected directly upstream of the oxidation catalyst (520) or the heating device (522) is an electrically heatable oxidation catalyst. (See Martz, Paragraph [0064]).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a second dosing device (570) connected downstream of the oxidation catalyst (520) and configured to supply a second additive to the exhaust gas stream. (See Martz, Paragraph [0069]).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a first selective reduction catalyst (574) arranged after the second dosing device (570). (See Martz, Paragraph [0069]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a first slip catalyst (576), configured to oxidize additive residues or to support the first selective reduction catalyst (574), is arranged after the first selective reduction catalyst (574). (See Martz, Paragraph [0069]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
wherein the second dosing device (570) is configured to supply the second additive as a function of a diesel particulate filter (566) temperature. (See Martz, Paragraphs [0068]-[0069]).
Martz discloses all of the structural limitations of claim 15, as best understood by Examiner. As all of the structural limitations are disclosed, “wherein the second dosing device is configured to supply the second additive as a function of a diesel particulate filter temperature” is capable of being executed. The recitation of the intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention as the prior art to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. As Martz is capable of performing the intended use of the claimed invention, and the recitation of the intended use does not result in a structural difference, Martz discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a particle filter (566) configured to retain or oxidize soot particles and connected downstream of the first slip catalyst (576). (See Martz, Paragraphs [0068]-0069]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a third dosing device (540) connected downstream of the particle filter (566) and configured to supply a third additive to the exhaust gas stream. (See Martz, Paragraph [0067]).
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a second selective reduction catalyst (544) arranged after the third dosing device (540). (See Martz, Paragraph [0067]).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Martz, Figures 1 and 5B)
Martz discloses:
a second slip catalyst (548) configured to oxidize additive residues or to support the first selective reduction catalyst (574) and arranged after the second selective reduction catalyst (544). (See Martz, Paragraphs [0067]-[0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martz et al. (US 2022/0397048) in view of Bandl-Konrad et al. (US 2011/0005204).
In Reference to Claim 17
Martz et al. discloses the claimed invention except:
Wherein the particle filter includes an oxidation layer, wherein a exothermic reaction leads to soot regeneration or desulphurization of subsequent catalysts.
Bandl-Konrad et al. (Bandl) discloses an exhaust aftertreatment system. (See Bandl, Abstract). Bandl discloses applying an oxidation layer (DOC coating) to the particle filter. (See Bandl, Paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have catalytically coated the particle filter of Martz, as both references are directed towards exhaust treatment systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying a catalytic coating to the particle filter would have allowed for removal of the DOC immediately upstream of the particle filter in Martz leading to space and cost benefits. (See Bandl, Paragraph [0062]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bahrami, Lambert, Magnusson, Hadl, Chen, Goffe, Katare, Punde, and Nilsson show exhaust gas system arrangements within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746