DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I: Fig. 1-6 Claims 1-6, 8 and 10 in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 Ln 2, please amend to –with the chambers--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
-(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
-(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ISHII; Mikihito et al. US 20170363208 A1, hereinafter Ishii.
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses (Fig. 1-5) a cylinder device (10), comprising:
a first cylinder chamber (24, depicted right portion) including a first piston (18);
a second cylinder chamber (24, depicted left portion) including a second piston (22);
a first rod (20) connected to the first piston;
a second rod (76) configured to partially overlap with the first rod in a radial direction, and to project out from a body (depicted as having at least in portion an overlap towards the right end and projecting out of (12/16)); and
a conversion mechanism (30/90) configured to
convert one part of a displacement of the first rod in an axial direction into a displacement of the second rod in a rotational direction [0049], and
to transmit another part of the displacement of the first rod in the axial direction as a displacement of the second rod in the axial direction [0045],
wherein the second piston is connected to the second rod (they are depicted as connected).
Regarding claim 2, Ishii discloses (Fig. 1-5) the conversion mechanism (30/90) is positioned between the first piston (18) and the second piston (22, depicted as located there between).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii discloses (Fig. 1-5) a first port (26) configured to open into an end part of the second cylinder chamber in a first direction that is toward a retracted end position; and a second port (28) configured to open into an end part of the second cylinder chamber in a second direction that is toward an extruded end position [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that a length of the second cylinder chamber in the axial direction is shorter than a length of the first cylinder chamber in the axial direction. Instead, Ishii discloses a generic length relationship.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having a length of the second cylinder chamber in the axial direction shorter than a length of the first cylinder chamber in the axial direction solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and
it appears that the generic length relationship of Ishii would perform equally well with the length of the second cylinder chamber in the axial direction shorter than a length of the first cylinder chamber in the axial direction as claimed by applicant,
it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the generic length relationship of Ishii by utilizing a length of the second cylinder chamber in the axial direction is shorter than a length of the first cylinder chamber in the axial direction as claimed for the purpose of enabling axial translation of the pistons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1. Ishii further discloses (Fig. 1-5) the second cylinder chamber (24, depicted left portion) has a larger inner diameter than the second piston ((22) is depicted as smaller in diameter than (24)).
Ishii fails to explicitly state that the second cylinder chamber includes an expanded diameter portion configured to cause the second piston at an extruded end position to separate away from an inner circumferential surface of the second cylinder chamber.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed second cylinder chamber expanded diameter portion. Although Ishii discloses a second cylinder chamber, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ishii to incorporate the details of the second cylinder chamber includes an expanded diameter portion configured to cause the second piston at an extruded end position to separate away from an inner circumferential surface of the second cylinder chamber, along with the other claimed components of the cylinder device. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 6 except fails to explicitly state that the second cylinder chamber includes, on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylinder chamber, a leakage flow path configured to allow a fluid supplied from the second port to be released toward a side more in the first direction than the second piston.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed second cylinder chamber leakage flow path. Although Ishii discloses a second cylinder chamber, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ishii to incorporate the details of the second cylinder chamber includes, on an inner circumferential surface of the second cylinder chamber, a leakage flow path configured to allow a fluid supplied from the second port to be released toward a side more in the first direction than the second piston, along with the other claimed components of the cylinder device. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Ishii discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 6. Ishii further discloses (Fig. 1-5) the device further comprising: a first fluid supply/discharge unit (26) configured to open on a side in the first direction of the first cylinder chamber (24); and a second fluid supply/discharge unit (28) configured to open on a side in the second direction of the first cylinder chamber.
Ishi fails to explicitly state that the body includes a connecting flow path configured to connect the second fluid supply/discharge unit and the second port.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim, and specifically does not show the claimed connecting flow path. Although Ishii discloses a first and second fluid supply/discharge unit, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ishii to incorporate the details of the body includes a connecting flow path configured to connect the second fluid supply/discharge unit and the second port, along with the other claimed components of the cylinder device. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Relevant Art
The following is a listing of relevant art:
US 20060174760 A1, US 6929254 B2, US 20120292843 A1 AND US 6666440 B2 discloses cylinder devices similar to the claimed invention.
US 20090217809 A1 discloses a cylinder device with a cylinder having an expanded diameter portion.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745