DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites a use of the vibratory particle screener without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claims 10 are rejected as they are dependent upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hermann (US 2052467).
Regarding claim 1, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches a screen (Col. 1 lines 1-2) comprising:
a screen frame (Fig. 3a #3) comprising a pair of opposing latitudinal edges (Fig. 3a #3a, Col. 4 lines 30-34) and a pair of opposing longitudinal edges (Fig. 3a #2, 3e), wherein the pair of opposing latitudinal edges and the pair of opposing longitudinal edges define a horizontal plane (Fig. 3a horizontal plane formed by #3a, 2, 3e);
a plurality of wires (Fig. 3 #1) extending horizontally between the pair of opposing longitudinal edges (Fig. 3a #1 extending horizontally between #2, 3e), wherein the wires comprise wavy vertical profiles relative to the horizontal plane (Fig. 3a see wavy vertical profile of #1), and wherein adjacent wires have differing wavy vertical profiles (Fig. 3 see different wavy vertical profiles of adjacent wires #1).
Regarding claim 2, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches the screen of claim 1, wherein the screen does not include crosswires extending horizontally between the pair of opposing latitudinal edges (Fig. 3a no crosswires extending between pair of #3a, Col. 4 lines 15-21).
Regarding claim 4, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches the screen of claim 1, wherein horizontal spacing between adjacent wires is uniform (Col. 5 line 55-Col. 6 line 8).
Regarding claim 6, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches a vibratory particle screener (Col. 2 lines 17-26) comprising the screen of claim 1 (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches the vibratory particle screener of claim 6, wherein the screen is oriented at an angle (Fig. 1 see screen ‘S’ oriented at angle).
Regarding claim 9, Hermann (US 2052467) teaches a method of filtering out off-spec material from a particle mixture (Col. 5 line 49-Col. 6 line 8) using the vibratory particle screener of claim 6 (see claim 6), wherein the off-spec material are larger particles blocked by the screen (Fig. 3 particles blocked by #1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann (US 2052467) in view of Scarlett et al. (US 4140630).
Regarding claim 3, Hermann (US 2052467) lacks teaching the screen of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wires comprise stainless steel.
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) teaches a screen (Col. 1 lines 6-11), wherein the plurality of wires comprise stainless steel (Col. 5 lines 55-60).
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) explains that the stainless steel wires are abrasion resistant and formed of a sturdy, long lasting material (Col. 5 lines 55-60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hermann (US 2052467) to include wherein the plurality of wires comprise stainless steel as taught by Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) in order to resist abrasion and wear.
Regarding claim 5, Hermann (US 2052467) lacks teaching the screen of claim 1, wherein the wavy vertical profiles comprise a sinusoidal profile, and wherein adjacent wires are out of phase.
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) teaches a screen (Col. 1 lines 6-11), wherein the wavy vertical profiles comprise a sinusoidal profile (Col. 7 lines 31-42), and wherein adjacent wires are out of phase (Col. 7 lines 31-42).
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) explains that the surface of the screen is rough and uneven because of the peaks and troughs created by the offset wires, and this has been found to be exceptionally effective in producing a large volume of sorted material within acceptable commercial specifications, and the sinusoidal crimping contributes to the efficiency of the sorting and improves the output performance in terms of increases sorting capacity and more uniform product (Col. 8 lines 11-22).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hermann (US 2052467) to include wherein the wavy vertical profiles comprise a sinusoidal profile, and wherein adjacent wires are out of phase as taught by Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) in order to increase the sorting capacity and provide a more uniform product.
Regarding claim 8, Hermann (US 2052467) lacks teaching the vibratory particle screener of claim 6, wherein the vibratory particle screener includes a housing comprising at least one accept bin and at least one reject bin, wherein the accept bin is oriented to receive particles that pass through the screen and the reject bin is oriented to receive particles filtered out by the screen.
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) teaches a vibratory particle screener (Col. 1 lines 6-11), wherein the vibratory particle screener includes a housing (Fig. 1 #14) comprising at least one accept bin (Fig. 1 #20) and at least one reject bin (Fig. 1 #22), wherein the accept bin is oriented to receive particles that pass through the screen (Fig. 1 #20 receives #150) and the reject bin is oriented to receive particles filtered out by the screen (Fig. 1 #22 receives #152).
Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) explains that the accept bin and reject bin receive the separated material, and each of the bins may be provided with discharge chutes terminating over truck parking bays to permit easy loading of the sorted materials (Col. 4 lines 47-57).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hermann (US 2052467) to include wherein the vibratory particle screener includes a housing comprising at least one accept bin and at least one reject bin, wherein the accept bin is oriented to receive particles that pass through the screen and the reject bin is oriented to receive particles filtered out by the screen as taught by Scarlett et al. (US 4140630) in order to collect the separated material for further processing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermann (US 2052467) in view of Yang (CN 109317403). English translations of Yang (CN 109317403) have been provided herein.
Regarding claim 10, Hermann (US 2052467) lacks teaching the method of claim 9, wherein the particle mixture comprises polyolefin particles selected from polyethylene or polypropylene.
Yang (CN 109317403) teaches a method of filtering out off-spec material from a particle mixture (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-2, Paragraph 0005 lines 1-3), wherein the particle mixture comprises polyolefin particles selected from polyethylene or polypropylene (Paragraph 0005 lines 1-3, Paragraph 0033 lines 4-6).
Yang (CN 109317403) explains that granulated polypropylene particles need to be screened to meet diameter size requirements (Paragraph 0005 lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hermann (US 2052467) to include wherein the particle mixture comprises polyolefin particles selected from polyethylene or polypropylene as taught by Yang (CN 109317403) in order to screen the particle mixture to meet diameter size requirements.
Pursuant of MPEP 2115, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69. As such, Hermann (US 2052467)(as modified) does not need to explicitly disclose “the particle mixture comprises polyolefin particles selected from polyethylene or polypropylene,” though its disclosure does present the structure and configuration necessary to filter out off-spec material from a particle mixture with polyolefin particles selected from polyethylene or polypropylene.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Knepp et al. (US 2016/0038977) teaches a wire screen for classifying material with crimped wires.
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653