DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 20, 22, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH et al. (20170370151 - BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH).
BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH discloses a method, comprising:
Re claim 1:
receiving, by a computing device, a signal indicative of an output from at least one sensor corresponding to a gesture of a tool that is deployable into a drill string on a wireline (Fig. 1, para [0039] "Such a system 100 can include a drill string 104 positioned within the borehole 102. A drill string 104 can include one or more substantially cylindrical segments of drill pipe 106, a wire drilling line 117, a bottom hole assembly (BHA) 108, a drill bit 110, and a downhole drive controller 112 to control and adjust rotation of the drill bit 110."); and
causing, by the computing device, after receiving the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture (Fig. 1, para [0041] "A downhole communication hub 128 can be operable to collect data from different downhole sensors 120 and to transmit the collected data to the surface via a substantially online data transmission system 124, in some circumstances, as illustrated in FIG. 1, for example. The communications hub 128 also can be operable to receive operating instructions and control signals from the surface and relay those signals to one or more downhole sensors 120, the downhole drive controller 112, or other downhole tools."), an initialization of at least one orientation sensor of the tool (Fig. 1, para [0042] "A system 100 also can determine a target toolface orientation measurement value (that is, a targeted toolface orientation value to be measured by one or more downhole sensors 120) responsive to receipt of the user input from the user computing device.").
Re claim 2, the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture comprises a signal measured by a depth counter corresponding to at least one change in depth of the tool (Fig. 7, para [0059] "Still further, input from one or more surface drilling sensors 306 (such as surface sensors 122, for example) can include top drive (TD) orientation, ROP, WOB, DiffP, block height, hole depth, drill bit position, and survey").
Re claim 3, the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture comprises a signal from an inertial sensor of the tool (Fig. 1., para [9040] "Exemplary surface sensors 122 can include (but are not limited to) sensors for measuring variables related to the drill string 104, such as load, torque, position, velocity, acceleration, and vibration...").
Reclaim 4, comprising:
detecting, by an inertial sensor, a· vibration above a threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]); and
preventing, by the computing device, the initialization of at least one orientation sensor in response to detecting the vibration above the threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]).
Re claim 4, detecting, by an inertial sensor, a· vibration above a threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]); and
preventing, by the computing device, the initialization of at least one orientation sensor in response to detecting the vibration above the threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]).
Re claim 5, the initialization of at least one orientation sensor comprises storing at least one orientation measurement (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Further, given the target toolface orientation 242 and the actual toolface orientation 250, a toolface orientation scaled error 254 can be determined. A system states and disturbance observer 256 then can operate responsive to the actual toolface orientation 250 and one or more of the actual DWOB and the actual DTOB 248.").
Re claim 6, storing at least one orientation measurement comprises storing the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the computing device or memory in communication with the computing device (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Further, given the target toolface orientation 242 and the actual toolface orientation 250, a toolface orientation scaled error 254 can be determined. A system states and disturbance observer 256 then can operate responsive to the actual toolface orientation 250 and one or more of the actual DWOB and the actual DTOB 248.").
Re claim 8, storing at least one orientation measurement comprises storing an azimuth measurement and a dip measurement (Fig. 1, para (0046] "Further, operation of the top drive 114 can include altering one or more of an angle of the drill string 104 with respect to the surface and a rotational speed of the drill string 104 within the borehole 102. Consequently, operation of one or more of the top drive 114, the drawworks 116, and the mud pump 118 responsive to the control command !hereby eventually can correct one or more of a toolface orientation of the drill string 104, a DTOB, and a DWOB.].
Re claim 10, the computing device causes the initialization in response to a user providing an input form an input device (Fig. 1, para [0042] "For example, the system 100 can receive user input from a user, such as a directional driller, before performing additional steps.").
Re claim 11, comprising outputting on a display device in communication with the computing device, an instruction to perform the gesture (Fig. 6, para [00901).
Re claim 12, the gesture comprises at least one of:
moving the tool down the drill string (Fig. 1, para [0039] "Such a top drive 114 can be a device or assembly made up of one or more components or machines (including, for example, one or more motors, one or more gears, and a rotary mechanism) that is operable to rotate the drill string 104 within the borehole 102. In addition, a system 100 can include a drawworks 116 or other hoisting system positioned substantially at the surface and connected to the drill string 104."); or
moving the tool up the drill string (Fig. 1, para [0039] "Such a top drive 114 can be a device or assembly made up of one or more components or machines (including, for example, one or more motors, one or more gears, and a rotary mechanism) that is operable to rotate the drill string 104 within the borehole 102.- In addition, a system 100 can include a drawworks 116 or other hoisting system positioned substantially at the surface and connected to the drill string 104.").
BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH discloses a system, comprising:
Re claim 14,
a tool that is deployable into a drill string on a wireline (Fig. 1, para (0039] "Such a system 100 can include a drill string 104 positioned within the borehole 102. A drill string 104 can include one or more substantially cylindrical segments of drill pipe 106, a wire drilling line 117, a bottom hole assembly (SHA) 108, a drill bit 110, and a downhole drive controller 112 to control and adjust rotation of the drill bit 110."), the tool comprising at least one orientation sensor (Fig. 1, para [0042] "A system 100 also can determine a target toolface orientation measurement value (that is, a targeted toolface orientation value to be measured by one or more downhole sensors 120) responsive to receipt of the user input from the user computing device.");
at least one sensor that is configured to sense a gesture of the tool (Fig, 1, para [0040] "The drill bit 110, the downhole drive controller 112 a sensor assembly 126, the drill pipe 106, the top drive 114 (or other rotating system), the drawworks 116 (or other hoisting system), the mud pump 118 (or other circulating system), and any other drilling equipment (including those not illustrated in the example depicted in FIG. 1) each can include one or more high sampling rate drilling parameter sensors."); and
a computing device configured to be in communication with the at least one sensor that is configured to sense the gesture of the tool (Fig. 1, para (0040] "The drill bit 110, the downhole drive controller 112, a sensor assembly 126, the drill pipe 106, the top drive 114 (or other rotating system), the drawworks 116 (or other hoisting system), the mud pump 118 (or other circulating system), and any other drilling equipment (including those not illustrated in the example depicted in FIG. 1) each can include one or more high sampling rate drilling parameter sensors."), wherein the computing device comprises at least one processor and a memory in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 1, para [0042] "A system 100 also can include a non-transitory computer-readable medium (such as a memory 136) in communication with the one or more processors 132 of the controller 130. The computer-readable medium 136 can have one or more computer programs stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors 132, cause the system 100 to perform certain steps."), cause the at least one processor to: receive a signal indicative of an output from at least one sensor corresponding to a gesture of the tool (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Given the toolface orientation scaled error 254, one or more of DWOB scaled error and DTOB scaled error 252, estimate from the steering compliance estimator 258, and input from the system states and· disturbance observer 256, multi-input multi-output (MIMO) control logic 260 can operate to determine a command 262 to send to one or more drilling equipment driving systems."); and
cause, after receiving the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture, an initialization of at least one orientation sensor of the tool (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Given the toolface orientation scaled error 254, one or more of DWOB scaled error and DTOB scaled error 252, estimate from the steering compliance estimator 258, and input from the system states and disturbance observer 256, multi-input multi-output (MIMO) control logic 260 can operate to determine a command 262 to send to one or more drilling equipment driving systems.").
Re claim 15, the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture comprises a signal measured by a depth counter corresponding to at least one change in depth of the tool (Fig. 7, para [0059] "Still further, input from one or more surface drilling sensors 306 (such as surface sensors 122, for example) can include top drive (TD) orientation, ROP, WOB, DiffP, block height, hole depth, drill bit position, and survey").
Re claim 16, the signal indicative of the output from at least one sensor corresponding to the gesture comprises a signal from an inertial sensor of the tool (Fig. 1, para [0040] "Exemplary surface sensors 122 can include (but are not limited to) sensors for measuring variables related to the drill string 104, such as load, torque, position, velocity, acceleration, and vibration...").
Re claim 17,
an inertial sensor configured to be in communication with the computing device (Fig. 1, para [0040] "Exemplary surface sensors 122 can include (but are not limited to) sensors for measuring variables related to the drill string 104, such as load, torque, position, velocity, acceleration, and vibration..."); •
wherein the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 1, para [0042] "A system 100 also can include a non-transitory computer-readable medium (such as a memory 136) in communication with the one or more processors 132 of the controller 130. The computer-readable medium 136 can have one or more computer programs stored thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors 132, cause the system 100 to perform certain steps."), cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from the inertial sensor, a signal indicative of vibrations above a threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]); and
prevent, by the computing device, the initialization of at least one orientation sensor in response to receiving the signal indicative of vibrations above the threshold or a wireline slippage detection (para [0069]-[0073]).
Re claim 18, the system comprises a depth counter (Fig. 3, para [0059] "Still further, input from one or more surface drilling sensors 306 (such as surface sensors 122, for example) can include top drive (TD) orientation, ROP, WOB, DiffP, block height, hole depth, drill bit position, and survey") that is configured to couple to the wireline (Fig. 1, para [0039] "A drill string 104 can include one or more substantially cylindrical segments of drill pipe 106, a wire drilling line 117, a bottom hole assembly (BHA) 108, a drill bit 110, and a downhole drive controller 112 to control and adjust rotation of the drill bit 110."), wherein the depth counter comprises the inertial sensor (Fig. 1, para [0040] "Exemplary surface sensors 122 can include (but are not limited to) sensors for measuring variables related to the drill string 104, such as load, torque, position, velocity, acceleration, and vibration...").
Re claim 19, the initialization of at least one orientation sensor comprises storing at least one orientation measurement (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Further, given the target toolface orientation 242 and the actual toolface orientation 250, a toolface orientation scaled error 254 can be determined. A system states and disturbance observer 256 then can operate responsive to the actual toolface orientation 250 and one or more of the actual DWOB and the actual DTOB 248.").
Re claim 20, the computing device is configured to store the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the computing device or memory in communication with the computing device (Fig. 4, para [0058] "Further, given the target toolface orientation 242 and the actual toolface orientation 250, a toolface orientation scaled error 254 can be determined. A system states and disturbance observer 256 then can operate responsive to the actual toolface orientation 250 and one or more of the actual DWOB and the actual DTOB 248.").
Re claim 22, storing at least one orientation measurement comprises storing an azimuth measurement and a dip measurement (Fig. 1, para [0046] "Further, operation of the top drive 114 can include altering one or more of an angle of the drill string 104 with respect to the surface and a rotational speed of the drill string 104 within the borehole 102. Consequently, operation of one or more of the top drive 114, the drawworks 116, and the mud pump 118 responsive to the control command thereby eventually can correct one or more of a toolface orientation of the drill string 104, a DTOB, and a DWOB.").
Re claim 24, the computing device is configured to cause the initialization in response to a user providing an input from an input device (Fig. 1, para [0042] "For example, the system 100 can receive user input from a user, such as a directional driller, before performing additional steps.").
Re claim 25, comprising a display device in communication with the computing device, wherein the computing device is configured to output, on the display device, an instruction to perform the gesture (Fig. 6, para [0090]).
Re claim 26, the gesture comprises at least one of:
moving the tool down the drill string (Fig. 1, para [0039] "Such a top drive 114 can be a device or assembly made up of one or more components or machines (including, for example, one or more motors, one or more gears, and a rotary mechanism) that is operable to rotate the drill string 104 within the borehole 102. In addition, a system 100 can include a drawworks 116 or other hoisting system positioned substantially at the surface and connected to the drill string 104."); or •
moving the tool up the drill string (Fig. 1, para [0039] "Such a top drive 114 can be a device or assembly made up of one or more components or machines (including, for example, one or more motors, one or more gears, and a rotary messianism) that is operable to rotate the drill string 104 within the borehole 102. In addition, a system 100 can include a drawworks 116 or other hoisting system positioned substantially at the surface and connected to the drill string 104.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH in view of Song et al. (20170205523 – Song).
Re claim 7, BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH discloses the method of claim 5, but does not explicitly state wherein storing at least one orientation measurement comprises storing the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the tool. However, Halliburton discloses wherein storing at least one orientation measurement comprises storing the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the tool (Fig. 1, para [0018] "Logging tool 130 may be integrated into drilling system 100 at any point along the drill string 103... As the bit extends wellbore 114 through the formations, logging tool 130 may collect measurements relating to various formation properties as well as the tool orientation and position and various other drilling conditions."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of present application to have modified the systems and methods of BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH to store orientation measurements in the on-board memory of the tool, such that the system can collect measurements relating to formation properties as well as tool orientations, as suggested by Song (Fig. 1, para [0018]).
Re claim 21, BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH discloses the system of claim 19, but does not explicitly state wherein the tool is configured to store the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the tool. However, Song discloses wherein the tool is configured to store the at least one orientation measurement in memory of the tool (Fig. 1, para [0018] "Logging tool 130 may be integrated into drilling system 100 at any point along the drill string 103... As the bit extends wellbore 114 through the formations, logging tool 130 may collect measurements relating to various formation properties as well as the tool orientation and position and various other drilling conditions."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the systems and methods of BANIRAZI-MOTLAGH to store orientation measurements in the on-board memory of the tool, such that the system can collect measurements relating to formation properties as well as tool orientations, as suggested by Song (Fig. 1, para [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art all show similar features to those of the claimed invention.
/YONG-SUK (PHILIP) RO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676