DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “4”, “5”, and “10” have all been used to designate two different parts in at least Fig. 2. Similarly, reference characters “31” and “32” have both been used to designate two or three different parts in at least Figs. 3b and Fig. 3c. Each reference character should only be used to designate one part throughout the entirety of the specification and the figures.
The drawings are further objected to because Fig. 3c shows two different views. Each view should have its own figure number, 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference characters “3”, “4”, “5”, “22” and “33” are all defined using more than one term. The specification should be reviewed and amended so that each reference number is only defined using one term throughout the entirety of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 1 should be amended to recite --A [[D]]drilling--, line 2 should be amended to end with a colon and line 4 should be amended to end with --and--. In claims 2-17, line 1 should be amended to recite --The [[D]]drilling--. Claim 11 is objected to because “30” is not defined as an epicyclic gear train in the specification. Claim 12 is objected to because “26” is not defined as the drill head in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5, 6, 9, 10 and 12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. Claim 13 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 5-13 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 16 and 17 the phrase "in particular" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 16 recites the limitations "the diameter" and “the cylindrically shaped drilling robot” both in line 3. Claim 17 recites the limitations "the diameter" and “the cylindrically shaped drilling robot” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Consequently, claim 3 is also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite since it depends from rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SELTMANN et al. (US 2022/0213953 A1) (“Seltmann”).
Seltmann teaches drilling robot (2) 100 for drilling a borehole (1), wherein the drilling robot (2) is purely electrically driven and comprises
- a movement unit (4) for moving and stabilizing the drilling robot (2) inside the borehole (1) (¶ [0003], [0005]),
- a rotary hammer unit with a drill head (21), a rotating system (22) and a hammering system (23), wherein the rotating system (22) is adapted to rotate the drill head (21) (around axis of rotation D, [0026]) and wherein the hammering system (23) is adapted to hammer with the drill head (21) [0011], [0026], characterized in that the hammering system (23) is adapted to operate according to an electro-pneumatic principle in order to generate an electro-pneumatic stroke [0011], [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Seltmann, alone.
Referring to claims 2 and 3: Seltmann teaches the drilling robot (2) comprises at least one electric motor (27, 31) 40. Seltmann does not specifically teach the drilling robot comprises two electric motors. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, by including two motors, the operator would have more control over the system(s). Once modified as with claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system such that a first electric motor (27) of the at least one electric motors (27, 31) drives the rotating system (22) and a second electric motor (31) of the at least one electric motors (27, 31) drives the hammering system (23) with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the operator to have control over each system and its characteristics individually.
Referring to claim 4: Seltmann teaches the drilling robot (2) has a cylindrical shape with a diameter (D1) (Figs. 1A and 1B). Seltmann does not specifically teach the drilling robot (2) has a cylindrical shape with a diameter (D1) smaller than 250 mm, in particular smaller than 200 mm, in particular smaller than 150 mm, in particular smaller than 100 mm, in particular smaller than 90 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diameter of the drilling robot taught by Seltmann to be smaller than 90 mm with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Referring to claim 17: Seltmann teaches the drill head (21) is adapted to operate with a torque in relation to the diameter (D1) of the cylindrically shaped drilling robot (2) (Figure 2B). Seltmann does not specifically teach the drill head (21) is adapted to operate with a torque in relation to the diameter (D1) of the cylindrically shaped drilling robot (2) of at least 0.35 Nm/mm, in particular of at least 0.62 Nm/mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the torque taught by Seltmann to be at least 0.62 Nm/mm with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Söhnlein (US 5,746,095) teaches a rotary drilling tool with hammer drilling equipment that applies axially directed blows of relatively high force to the rotary drilling tool, that is, electropneumatically (column 1, lines 53-61).
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
20 November 2025