DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the appliance is coupled at the bonding surface via one or more sprues”, however earlier in the claim recites “an appliance frangibly connected to said tooth at the bonding surface of said tooth”, it is unclear if the frangible connection to the tooth is the same as the coupling set forth by the sprues to the bonding surface or if these are separate connections. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as the sprues are a frangible connection and therefore, they are referencing the same structure.
Claims 3-11 are rejected based on claim dependency.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “sprues” in claims 1, 3-13, 17 and 19 use the claim to mean a connecting structure with sufficient structural integrity to allow handling of mockup while also breaking easily when desired while the accepted meaning is “the waste piece on a casting (as of metal or plastic) left by the hole through which the mold was filled” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The specification discloses example spur structures but fails to disclose if it is a waste piece from casting or intentionally designed frangible material, for the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as a connecting structure which is frangible, but structurally sound enough to allow connection to the model.
Claim 9-10 recites the limitation "the recess". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the aperture". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, “the aperture” is interpreted as a recess.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the interior of the mockup “. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites “separating the appliance from the mockup includes breaking one or more sprues”, however, the provided structure does not disclose “one or more sprues” in the structure of the mockup or appliance, therefore it is unclear how separating the appliance from the mockup includes one or more sprues breaking. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as during the process of separating the appliance a breaking apart a connecting part between the appliance and mockup.
Claim 19 recites “wherein separating the appliance from the mockup includes breaking one or more sprues”, however, the provided structure does not disclose “one or more sprues” in the structure of the mockup or appliance, therefore it is unclear how separating the appliance from the mockup includes one or more sprues breaking. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as during the process of separating the appliance a breaking apart a connecting part between the appliance and mockup.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (US 2021/0169616).
Regarding claim 1, Jo discloses a physical mockup (figures 1A-C) for creating a transfer apparatus (creating the negative model 5, which can be used as a transfer tray as stated in par 17-18), the mockup comprising:
a representation of at least a portion of a dental arch of a patient (tooth model 3), the dental arch including a plurality of teeth, each tooth including at least two of an occlusal surface, a lingual surface, and a labial surface, at least one of the occlusal, lingual, and labial surfaces defining a bonding surface (see figures 1A-C and figures 9 c-d, where the bonding surface is on the labial surface as recited in par 11);
wherein one or more teeth include an appliance (figures 3A-E) frangibly connected to said tooth at the bonding surface of said tooth, each tooth with a connected appliance defining a bonding tooth (see figures 1A-C and par 12 discloses the dentition model being released from the tooth model by breaking); and
wherein the appliance is coupled at the bonding surface via one or more sprues (the sprues interpreted as the linker structure 4, which couples the appliance to the bonding surface of the tooth).
Regarding claim 3, Jo discloses sprues (4) extend between a base of the appliance and the bonding surface (see figures 1a-c and par 13-15).
Regarding claim 5, Jo discloses the appliance and at least one tooth are formed by three-dimensional printing (the limitation “three-dimensional printing” is considered product by process, which is limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Furthermore, par 12 discloses the model including the bracket being made by CAM methods and par 39 discloses the CAM method can be 3D printing).
Regarding claim 14, Jo discloses a method for creating a transfer tray for one or more orthodontic appliances (par 62 and see figure 6 and 9), the method comprising:
providing a physical mockup for creating a transfer apparatus (figures 1 a-c), the mockup (3) comprising:
a representation of at least a portion of a dental arch of a patient, the dental arch including a plurality of teeth, each tooth including at least two of an occlusal surface, a lingual surface, and a labial surface (model 3);
wherein one or more teeth include an appliance frangibly connected to said tooth at the bonding surface of said tooth, each tooth with a connected appliance defining a bonding tooth (see figures 1A-C and par 12 discloses the dentition model being released from the tooth model by breaking); and
forming a tray over the mockup (par 63, claims 4-5).
Regarding claim 15, Jo discloses removing the tray from the mockup (par 66).
Regarding claim 16, Jo discloses removing the tray from the mockup includes the step of separating the appliance from the mockup (par 66).
Regarding claim 17, Jo discloses separating the appliance from the mockup includes breaking one or more sprues (par 66).
Claims 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paehl et al (US 2016/0310239).
Regarding claim 20, Paehl discloses a system for indirect bonding of orthodontic appliances (transfer tray 37, see par 74), the system comprising:
a transfer body defining a shell (plastic sheeting 35) configured to receive an outer surface of a tooth of a dental arch and including an interior surface substantially conforming to the contour of at least one tooth of the dental arch (see figure 8),
wherein the transfer body defines at least one recess within the shell (see figure 9); and
an orthodontic appliance (bracket body 40), the appliance including a base (pad surface 41) for bonding the appliance to the tooth (par 89) and a body including a perimeter (see figures 11-15);
wherein at least a portion of the perimeter of the appliance is surrounded by a channel (38) in the transfer body (see figure 12 or 15).
Regarding claim 21, Paehl discloses the appliance body has a shape of an orthodontic attachment configured to transfer a force from a clear tray aligner to the tooth (the appliance is shaped as an orthodontic attachment in view of its disclosed use and attachment to a tooth, the language “configured to transfer a force from a clear tray aligner to the tooth” is considered functional language, which does not limit the structure of the invention as such the aligner is considered functionally able to respond).
Regarding claim 22, Paehl discloses the appliance is an orthodontic bracket (bracket body 40).
Regarding claim 23, Paehl discloses the transfer body includes a thermoformed material (see par 65).
Regarding claim 24, Paehl discloses transfer body includes an impression material (par 63).
Regarding claim 25, Paehl discloses the channel entirely surrounds the appliance perimeter (see figure 12, where the perimeter of the bracket upper portion is surrounded by cavity 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al.
Regarding claim 4, Jo discloses the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1 but fails to disclose the appliance and at least one tooth is comprised of the same material. However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the same materials of the appliance and at least one tooth, as it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. It is also not that Jo teaches the appliance and tooth are printed together as an integral structure.
Claims 6-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Kopelman (US 2010/0216085).
Regarding claim 6, Jo fails to disclose a portion of the appliance is received in a recess in the bonding surface.
Kopelman teaches an appliance (90) received within a recess (60) of a bonding surface (see figure 2a-d).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jo to have the a portion of the appliance received in a recess in the bonding surface as taught by Kopelman for the purpose of minimizing incidental disengagement during the creation of the transfer tray.
Regarding claim 7, Kopelman teaches the base of the appliance is received in the recess (see figure 2c-d), for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, Kopelman further teaches the recess (60) includes a shape complemental to a shape of the orthodontic appliance (figures 2c-d), for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, Kopelman further teaches the recess (60) includes one or more ledges (62, see figure 2a-b) located adjacent the base of the appliance (see figure 2d), each ledge providing a stop surface (see figures 2a-d), for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Kopelman further teaches the recess (60) includes a least two ledges, each ledge on an opposing side of the recess (see figures 2a-b), for the reasons set forth above.
Regarding claims 18-19, Jo fails to disclose one or more bonding teeth include an aperture at least partially beneath the appliance and the aperture contains at least one tooth providing a stop surface, and wherein separating the appliance from the mockup includes breaking one or more sprues and allowing a portion of a base of the appliance to contact the stop surface.
Kopelman teaches one or more bonding teeth (110) include an aperture (160) at least partially beneath the appliance and the aperture contains at least one tooth providing a stop surface (see figure 4d, where the stop surface is interpreted as the three edges 163 which limit the degree of freedom the appliance can move relative to the tooth surface) and separating the appliance from the bonding surface requires allowing a portion of a base of the appliance to contact the stop surface (par 75 discloses the movement of the appliance only occurs in the occlusal lifting motion).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Jo to have one or more bonding teeth include an aperture at least partially beneath the appliance and the aperture contains at least one tooth providing a stop surface, and wherein separating the appliance from the mockup includes breaking one or more sprues and allowing a portion of a base of the appliance to contact the stop surface as taught by Kopelman for the purpose of providing a desired path of removal of the appliance when removing the transfer tray, minimizing accidental dislodgement or mistaken impressions.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cinader JR et al (US 2010/0279243)
Regarding claim 11-13, Jo fails to disclose a frame at least partially surrounding the aperture, the frame projects outwardly from bonding tooth surface and a bonding base of the appliance is located relatively nearer the interior of the mockup than an outer surface of the frame.
Cinader teaches a frame (39) at least partially surrounding an aperture (see figure 9, the frame being interpreted as the ridge and the aperture is the area it surrounds), the frame projects outwardly from bonding tooth surface (see figure 8) and a bonding base of an appliance (26) is located relatively nearer the interior of a mockup than an outer surface of the frame (where the interior of the mockup is interpreted as the interior surface of the frame, the base is positioned within/contacting the frame and therefore is considered located closer than an outside surface of the frame) for the purpose of aiding in the shaping of the tray mold cavity (par 92).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Jo to have a frame at least partially surrounding the aperture, the frame projects outwardly from bonding tooth surface and a bonding base of the appliance is located relatively nearer the interior of the mockup than an outer surface of the frame as taught by Cinader for the purpose of creating a gap in the mold between the appliance bonding surface and the surface of the teeth for additional material, such as an adhesive or bonding pad.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Blees et al (US 2015/0313687) discloses a physical mockup used in the creation of a bonding tray (abstract). Cinader JR et al (US 2010/0279243) discloses a physical mockup for creating a transfer apparatus (arch model 33, see par 94),
/S.N.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
9/14/2026