DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reason(s):
The claim recites “a latch coupling that is configured to allow relative movement between said latch member and said link member in at least one first degree of freedom (DOF)” which is indefinite. The claim fails to clearly recite what element is moving which makes it unclear what element “at least one first degree of freedom (DOF)” is being applied to. Furthermore, the limitation “at least one first degree of freedom (DOF)” has not been defined in the claim; as such, the numerical boundaries of “at least one first degree of freedom (DOF)” is unclear and a POSITA would be left to guess was “at least one first degree of freedom (DOF)” entails.
The claim recites “an actuator, fixedly mounted to an outer surface of said tubular wall and operably coupled to said link member” which is indefinite. This limitation is very confusing because from the disclosure it appears that both the actuator 208 and link 204 are located in said aperture 108 (Fig. 3, 5) which contradicts the claim language which suggests that the actuator 208 is located in different location than the link 204. It’s unclear where else the actuator 208 would be located such that it’s able to be operably coupled to said link 204.
The claim recites “configured to biasingly engage said latch member towards said first position when moving between said first position and said second position, wherein said latch member is configured to disengage from said biasing member at said first position and move away unbiased from said first position to a third position into said central passage”. It’s unclear what exactly is occurring during these claimed positions and what structural element(s) the “first position”, “second position” and “third position” are being applied to.
Furthermore, it’s unclear how the “latch member” is able to physically move “into said central passage” as claimed. In the disclosure the, the latch member 200 is positioned within the aperture 108 (Fig. 3, 5) where the end of aperture 108 comprises seat portion 228 (Fig. 5). It’s unclear how the latch 200 is able to move past the seat portion 228 to move into the central passage 104 because it appears that the seat potion 228 will prevent the latch member 200 from moving past the aperture 108.
The claim recites “aperture” and “central aperture” which is indefinite because it’s unclear if these are supposed to be the same elements or if they are two distinct elements.
Claim 3 recites “at least one first DOF is a sliding movement along said wall axis” which is indefinite for several reasons. It’s unclear what exactly is sliding along said wall axis. Furthermore, the claim fails to define “at least one first DOF” and it’s unclear what the numerical boundaries are of this limitation. As such, a POSITA would be left to guess the metes and bounds of “at least one first DOF”.
Claim 4 recites “allow relative movement between said latch member and said link member in at least one second DOF” which is indefinite. The claim fails to define “at least one second DOF” and it’s unclear what the numerical boundaries are of this limitation. As such, a POSITA would be left to guess the metes and bounds of “at least one second DOF”.
Claim 5 recites “wherein said at least one second DOF is rotational movement about said lateral axis” which is indefinite. It’s unclear what exactly is rotating about said lateral axis. Furthermore, the claim fails to define “at least one first DOF” and it’s unclear what the numerical boundaries are of this limitation. As such, a POSITA would be left to guess the metes and bounds of “at least one first DOF”.
Claim 6 recites “said relative movement in said first DOF is limited to the slidable range of said latch projection within said elongated slot”. t’s unclear what exactly is sliding and what this “slidable range” requires physically, functionally or numerically. Furthermore, the claim fails to define “first DOF” and it’s unclear what the numerical boundaries are of this limitation. As such, a POSITA would be left to guess the metes and bounds of “ first DOF” and “slidable range”.
Claims 2, 4, and 6-17 are also rejected under this statute as the claims depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pinho Dos Reis et al. (US Patent No. 11613934) (hereinafter PDR).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, PDR teaches a female connector (2; Fig. 2-10) for a subsea connector assembly comprising a connector body, having a tubular wall forming a central passage along a central axis, and at least one latch mechanism, operably mounted into an aperture though said tubular wall along a wall axis aligned downward convergingly with said central axis, said latch mechanism (3; Fig. 4) comprising:
a latch member (33), coupled to a distal end portion of a link member (30) so as to form a latch coupling that is configured to allow relative movement between said latch member and said link member in at least one first degree of freedom (DOF) (Fig. 4), said coupled latch and link member being arranged jointly slidably movably at least partially within said aperture (aperture within 3; Fig. 4) and configured to move between a first position, where said latch member (33) is at least partially extended into said central aperture (partially within aperture of 3; Fig. 9), and a second position, where said latch member is retracted out of said central passage into said aperture (Fig. 4);
an actuator (35), fixedly mounted to an outer surface of said tubular wall and operably coupled to said link member, configured to move said coupled latch and link member from said first position to said second position (Fig. 9);
a biasing member (34), operably coupled between said connector body and said latch member (Fig.4), configured to biasingly engage said latch member towards said first position when moving between said first position and said second position (Fig. 4, 9), wherein said latch member is configured to disengage from said biasing member at said first position and move away unbiased from said first position to a third position into said central passage (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim1,wherein said at least one first DOF is a sliding movement along said wall axis, when in situ (sliding movement of components within element 3; Fig. 4, 9).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim 2,wherein said relative movement in said first DOF is limited to the slidable range of said latch projection within said elongated slot (sliding movement of components within element 3; Fig. 4, 9).
Regarding claim 12, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim1,wherein said actuator (35) is adapted to retain said coupled latch (33) and link member (30) in said second position (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim 1,wherein said actuator is configured to be actuated remotely (ROV; Col. 6 lines 8-14).
Regarding claim 14, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim 1,wherein said latch member comprises a support portion (end of 33 adjacent to 34;Fig. 4) at a distal end configured to stoppingly engage with a male connector (not positively required structure, merely configured to “stoppingly engage” male connector) .
Regarding claim 17, PDR teaches a female connector according to claim1,wherein said link member comprises a handle (36; Fig. 4) provided at a proximal end portion, configured to allow manual movement of said coupled latch and link member from said first position towards said second position (Col. 6 lines 8-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 15 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAMIA QUAIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3676