DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is responsive to claims filed on 06/05/2025. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the manipulation” which lacks antecedent basis. Notice that claim 8 is dependent from claim 7, while “manipulation of the at least one predefined object” is introduced in claim 6.
Claim 9 recites “named entity recognition” at the end without a period. It’s unclear whether the claim language is completed or not.
Claim 18 recites similar features of claim 8 and is therefore rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesel (WO2022005579A1, cited on IDS 6/5/202. Notice that corresponding U.S. publication, US 20230333641 A1, is used for citation purpose below), in view of Peters (US 10757367 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Boesel discloses a method for assessing user engagement while conducting a copresence session for a participant related to at least one predefined object ([0015] “By contrast, various implementations disclosed herein include methods, electronic devices, and systems for presenting (e.g., displaying or playing audio) content based on an ambience vector. To that end, an electronic device, with a display, determines an engagement score associated with an object visible at the display.”), the method comprising:
defining a gaze focus point associated with the at least one predefined object ([0015] “For example, the electronic device determines, based on eye gaze data and image sensor data, a user is looking at a portion of the object.”);
establishing a gaze pattern of the participant during the copresence session by tracking the gaze focus point relative to the at least one predefined object ([0048] “In some implementations, the engagement score satisfies the engagement criterion when the engagement score is indicative of a level of user engagement that satisfies a temporal threshold, such as eye gaze data indicating a gaze of an eye is directed to the object for more than two seconds.” Examiner notes that fixation for a certain amount of time is a gaze pattern);
determining a level of engagement of the participant based at least in part on analyzing data associated with the gaze pattern of the participant ([0015] “The engagement score characterizes a level of user engagement with respect to the object, such as how long a user is focused on the object.”); and
adjusting at least one attribute of the copresence session based on the determined level of engagement ([0017] “In response to determining that the engagement score satisfies the engagement criterion, the electronic device determines an ambience vector associated with the object and presents content that is based on the ambience vector.”).
Boesel does not expressly disclose a communication session.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Peters discloses a method for assessing user engagement (Col 8 Line 33 “The module 110b determines eye gaze direction of the participant and head position of the participant, allowing the module to determine a level of engagement of the participant at different times during the video conference.”) while conducting a communication session (Col 3 Line 19, “In one general aspect, a method of managing a video conference session involving multiple endpoint devices”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Boesel with the feature of conducting a communication session. Doing so could allow the engagement assessing technique to be used in a video conference, as demonstrated by Peters.
Regarding Claim 2, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating the level of engagement at least to the participant (Peters Col 13 Line 1, “More specifically, the Passive Public Mode 52 provides an integrated output media stream display indicator of each participant's engagement publishing to the group each participants composite score and/or the group's overall composite score.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the level of engagement is communicated substantially in real time (Peters Col 1 Line 36, “For example, the system can provide an automated moderator module that can actively make changes to the way media streams are transmitted and presented, based on collaboration factor scores determined through real-time analysis of the video streams.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the level of engagement is communicated substantially at preset intervals (Peters Col 10 Line 61, “The functions discussed can also be performed repeatedly, for example, on an ongoing basis at a particular interval, such as every second, every 5 seconds, every minute, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the communication session is conducted in a virtual reality environment (Boesel [0023] “The XR environment can include mixed reality (MR) content, augmented reality (AR) content, virtual reality (VR) content, and/or the like.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the gaze pattern of the participant during the communication session is established by tracking the gaze focus point relative to manipulation of the at least one predefined object (Boesel [0028] “In some implementations, some or all of the visual output corresponds to user interface objects. As used herein, the term “affordance” refers to a user-interactive graphical user interface object (e.g., a graphical user interface object that is configured to respond to inputs directed toward the graphical user interface object). Examples of user-interactive graphical user interface objects include, without limitation, a button, slider, icon, selectable menu item, switch, hyperlink, or other user interface control.”).
Regarding Claim 7, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating a set of prompts associated with the at least one predefined object to the participant, wherein the gaze focus point of the participant is tracked relative to the participant's response to the set of prompts (Boesel [0047] “In some implementations, in addition to identifying the object, the electronic device 210 identifies additional objects and determines the ambience vector based on the additional objects. For example, in some implementations, the electronic device 210 identifies additional objects that satisfy a proximity threshold with respect to the object. As another example, in some implementations, the electronic device 210 identifies additional objects that are within a boundary also shared by the object.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the set of prompts is associated with the manipulation of the at least one predefined object (Boesel [0049] “In some implementations, the electronic device 210 determines the ambience vector 250 based on a function of the particular raindrop 224, and optionally further based on a function of additional content (e.g., the cloud 222 and the person holding the umbrella 226).”).
Regarding Claim 10, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the participant's response includes verbal feedback (Peters Col 2 Line 49, “The system can also evaluate audio, for example assessing intonation, recognizing speech, and detecting keywords that correspond to different moods.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one attribute of the communication session based on the determined level of engagement is adjusted automatically (Boesel [0017] “In response to determining that the engagement score satisfies the engagement criterion, the electronic device determines an ambience vector associated with the object and presents content that is based on the ambience vector... For example, in some implementations, the ambience vector includes a low lighting value when the object corresponds to a static image depicting a nighttime scene.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one attribute of the communication session includes a visual aspect of the communication session, an audible aspect of the communication session, or a combination thereof (Boesel [0017] “In response to determining that the engagement score satisfies the engagement criterion, the electronic device determines an ambience vector associated with the object and presents content that is based on the ambience vector. The ambience vector represents a target ambient environment. In some implementations, the ambience vector includes one or more values that characterize an ambient light, sound, mood, or weather of the target ambient environment.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one attribute of the communication session based on the determined level of engagement comprises: repeating at least a portion of the communication session after the level of engagement is below a predetermined threshold (Peters Col 5 Line 30, “In some implementations, the method includes: determining a composite score for each of the multiple endpoints based on the respective media streams for the endpoints, the composite scores indicating respective levels of participation or collaboration in the video conference; determining and outputting, in real-time during the video conference session, a representation of instructions to improve one or more of the composite scores indicating the lowest levels of participation or collaboration in the video conference; and periodically recalculating the composite scores for the multiple endpoints and altering the instructions based on the recalculated composite scores.” Examiner notes the “representation of instructions to improve one or more of the composite scores” is repeated as long as the score is low enough).
Regarding Claim 14, Boesel-Peters discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one attribute of the communication session based on the determined level of engagement comprises: changing content or delivery of the communication session after the level of engagement falls below a predetermined threshold (Peters Col 5 Line 30, “In some implementations, the method includes: determining a composite score for each of the multiple endpoints based on the respective media streams for the endpoints, the composite scores indicating respective levels of participation or collaboration in the video conference; determining and outputting, in real-time during the video conference session, a representation of instructions to improve one or more of the composite scores indicating the lowest levels of participation or collaboration in the video conference; and periodically recalculating the composite scores for the multiple endpoints and altering the instructions based on the recalculated composite scores.” Examiner notes the initial “representation of instructions to improve one or more of the composite scores” teaches the claimed “changing of content or delivery of the communication session”).
Regarding Claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 15. Notice that Boesel discloses a server ([0099]), a camera ([0025]), and one or more processors ([0004]). Peters also discloses a server (Col 1 Line 27), a camera (Col 11 Line 11), and one or more processors (Col 11 Line 19).
Regarding Claim 16, it recites similar limitations of claim 3. The rationale of claim 3 rejection is applied to reject claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites similar limitations of claim 7. The rationale of claim 7 rejection is applied to reject claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites similar limitations of claim 8. The rationale of claim 8 rejection is applied to reject claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites similar limitations of claim 1. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 19. Notice that Boesel discloses a headset ([0014]), a server ([0099]), and one or more processors ([0004]). Peters also discloses a server (Col 1 Line 27), and one or more processors (Col 11 Line 19).
Regarding Claim 20, it recites similar limitations of claim 11. The rationale of claim 11 rejection is applied to reject claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
FAULKNER (US 20200186375 A1) – This reference teaches techniques to provide dynamic curation of sequence events for communication sessions. A system can utilize smart filtering techniques to generate and select sequence events that are designed to optimize user engagement. The system can collect contextual data associated with a communication session, which can be in the form of a private chat session, a multi-user editing session, a group meeting, a live broadcast, etc. The system can utilize the contextual data, and other input data defining user activity, to customize sequence events defining contextually-relevant user interface (UI) layouts, volume levels, camera angles, special effects, and other parameters controlling aspects of the communication session.
/CHONG WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613