DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8 and the dependent claims, claim 8 recites a method for producing the plate according to claim 1. The plate of claim 1 recites cells in the resin layer. However, claim 8 then requires forming depressed portions in the resin layer with a laser. It is unclear how an already complete plate can be used in a process to make itself.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (JP2005254696A) as evidenced by Bergstrom (Mechanics of solid polymers: theory and computational modeling). Regarding claim 1, Yamada et al. discloses “a printing intaglio plate (paragraph 8) comprising a resin layer constituting a plate surface (paragraph 8), wherein a Shore A hardness of the resin layer is 30 degrees or more and 77 degrees or less (paragraph 8: Shore D of 30 corresponds to approximately 75 Shore A, see figure 2.25 of Bergstrom), a surface free energy of the resin layer is 10 mN/m or more and 35 mN/m or less (paragraphs 13 and 73), and the resin layer comprises a cell on the plate surface (paragraph 13).” Regarding the final limitation: “a coefficient of variation in cell volume of the cell, for printing at the same ink concentration, is 0.200 or less,” it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by an identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, and claimed properties are presumed inherent. See MPEP §2112.01. In this instance, the plate of Yamada et al. is substantially structurally identical to that claimed, and also is made by substantially the same method. Namely, Yamada et al. have the same type of resin layer (see rejection above, and also the rejection of claim 4 below), and also uses the same type of laser with the same settings (see the rejections of claims 8-11 below) to form the recesses. Additionally, Yamada et al. teach that the pattern and its depth are “precisely controlled” (paragraph 72). Therefore, the recited property of the coefficient of variation in cell volume of the cell is presumed inherent. Regarding claim 2, since the plate of Yamada et al. is at least substantially identical to that claimed, the recited property of “wherein the same ink concentration is 0.50 or less” is presumed inherent.
Regarding claim 3, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein the resin layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a photosensitive resin and a thermosetting resin (paragraph 12).” Regarding claim 4, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein the resin layer comprises 0.10 parts by mass or more and 15.0 parts by mass or less of a silicone compound based on a total amount (paragraphs 31 and 32).” Regarding claim 5, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein a depth of the cell is 0.10 m or more and 100 m or less (paragraph 72).” Regarding claim 6, Yamada et al. further disclose “comprising a cylinder, wherein the resin layer of a cylindrical form is disposed on a surface of the cylinder (paragraph 68).”
Regarding claim 7, Yamada et al. further disclose “comprising a support layer between the cylinder and the resin layer of a cylindrical form (paragraph 68).” Regarding claim 8, Yamada et al. further disclose “comprising processing by forming a depressed portion in the resin layer with a laser (paragraph 72).” Regarding claim 9, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein an oscillation wavelength of the laser is 100 nm or more and 800 nm or less (paragraph 13).” Regarding claim 10, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein laser is a pulsed oscillation laser (paragraph 13), and a pulse width of the pulsed oscillation laser is 1 fs or more and 1 ns or less (paragraph 13).” Regarding claim 11, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein a pulse energy of the laser is 1.00 J or more and 1.00 mJ or less (paragraph 13).” Regarding claim 14, Yamada et al. further disclose “wherein the resin layer is directly irradiated with the laser in the processing (paragraph 13).” Regarding claim 15, Yamada et al. further disclose “comprising, in the processing, disposing the resin layer on the cylinder and then forming the depressed portion (paragraphs 68, 99, and 100).” Regarding claim 16, Yamada et al. disclose “a printing method comprising coating by filling the cell in the printing intaglio plate according to claim 1, with an ink (paragraph 92), and transferring the ink with which the cell is filled, to a surface of a substrate, to obtain a print product (paragraph 92).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. Regarding claim 19, Yamada et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, except “wherein the Shore A hardness of the resin layer is 30 degrees or more and 60 degrees or less.” However, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges are close, absent a showing of the criticality of the range in question. See MPEP §2144.05(I). In this instance, Yamada et al. disclose a value of approximately 75 Shore A (see rejection of claim 1 above). Since 60 is reasonably close to 75, one having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the plate of Yamada et al. to have the same properties as the instant claim.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. in view of Sato (WO2021182504A1). The US-equivalent (US20230133371) will be used for citations. Regarding claims 12 and 13, Yamada et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 10 above, except “wherein an overlap ratio of the laser in the processing step is 50.0% or more and 99.9% or less” or “wherein a spot diameter of the laser is 1.0 m or more and 20 m or less.” However, Sato discloses making the overlap ratio 50% or more and 99% or less in order to have sufficient intensity and sufficient engraving rate (paragraph 264) and making the spot diameter 1 µm or more and 20 µm or less in order to accurately form a fine pattern (paragraph 276). Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the overlap ratio to 50% or more and 99% or less in order to have sufficient intensity and sufficient engraving rate, and also to make the spot diameter between 1 and 20 µm in order to accurately form a fine pattern.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853