DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6-10 were filed with the Preliminary Amendment dated 06/05/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 06/05/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 7, the phrase “at least one of the carrier film webs at least partially covering the test cut-outs” renders the claim indefinite. The webs (10) separate the carrier film test cut outs (9) as shown in Fig 2. The webs (10) do not cover a test cut-out as they are not overlapping a test cut-out. Rather, as best understood, at least one carrier film web (10) partially covers a pressure equalization cut out (7) in the first film (2) (see Figs 1 and 2 and see Specification at para [0009] of the Clean Copy of the Substitute Spec: “at least one of these carrier film webs at least partially covers this test cut-out in the first film” (emphasis added)). For purposes of examination, claim 7 will be construed as if it is written as: ““at least one of the carrier film webs at least partially covering the pressure equalization cut-out in the first film
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPS60-57069 (“Fujimori”) (cited on IDS dated 06/05/2025) (as evidenced by Translation with IDS).
With regard to claim 6, Fujimori discloses a pressure equalization element (1; Figs 1-3) for adhesively (adhesive 10) mounting onto a surface of a housing (15 – see Fig 3) or another object provided with a pressure equalization opening (14), wherein the pressure equalization element (1) comprises: a first film (2) with a first surface (bottom) for adhesively mounting on a surface of a housing (15) (via adhesive 10); a second film (3), which is at least partially connected (via adhesive 10) to a second surface (top) of the first film (2), opposite the first surface (bottom); and, a membrane film (4; para [0006]), arranged geometrically between the first (2) and the second film (3) on the second surface (top) of the first film (2) (see Fig 1); wherein the first film (2) has a pressure equalization cut-out (12) covered by the membrane film (4) (see Fig 1); wherein the pressure equalization element (1), before installation (Fig 1 shows pre-installation; see paras [0007] [0009 of Translation) onto the surface of the housing (15), is mounted with the first surface (bottom) of the first film (2) on a carrier film (“release film 11”), the carrier film (11) being removable from this first surface (2) for installation (para [0009]: “the release film (11) is first peeled from the adhesive (P10)”), and the carrier film (11) comprising at least one test cut-out (12 (para [0007]), the at least one test cut-out (12) and the pressure equalization cut-out (12) at least partially overlapping (see Fig 1) (see Translation at para [0007]: “the release film 11, the adhesive layer 10, the base film 2…are respectively penetrated through almost the middle fire parts of the film main body 5 and the synthetic resin layer, and a gas removing hole 12 is bored”).
(NOTE: The specification and drawings appear to swap reference numerals 10 and 11 in the Figures compared to the description).
With regard to claim 8, Fujimori discloses the carrier film (“release film 11”) comprises at least one test cut-out (12) (see Translation at para [0007]: “the release film 11, the adhesive layer 10, the base film 2…are respectively penetrated through almost the middle fire parts of the film main body 5 and the synthetic resin layer, and a gas removing hole 12 is bored”) and the at least one test cut-out (12) and the pressure equalization cut-out (12) are arranged congruently (they overlap = congruent) with respect to each other (see Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7, as far as it is definite, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS60-57069 (“Fujimori”) (cited on IDS dated 06/05/2025) (as evidenced by Translation with IDS).
With regard to claim 7,Fujimori discloses the carrier film (11) comprises a test cut-out (12) (see Figs 1 and 2).
Fujimori discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing the carrier film comprises a plurality of test cut-outs, which are separated from each other by carrier film webs, at least one or a plurality of the test cut-outs at least partially or fully overlapping with the pressure equalization cut-out, and at least one of the carrier film webs at least partially covering the test cut-outs.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the test cut-out in the carrier film of Fujimori so that there are plural test cut-outs, such duplication would inherently create webs of the carrier film between the cut-outs, because mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have at least one web at least partially cover a cut-out in the carrier film in order for plural test cut-outs to overlap and be exposed to the pressure equalization cut-out.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious “placing the pressure equalization element with carrier film into a test device; applying a pressure differential between the side of the pressure equalization element on which the carrier film is located and the opposite side of the pressure equalization element, … removing the carrier film from the first surface of the first film; and, installing the pressure equalization element on the surface of the housing” (claim 9) in combination with the other limitations set forth in the independent claims.
The closest prior art of reference is JPS60-57069 (“Fujimori”). However, Fujimori does not teach or suggest testing the pressure equalization element with the carrier film, or any testing. It would not have been obvious to modify Fujimori to arrive at the claimed invention without improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0132954 discloses a pressure equalization element with an adhesive.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753