DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araujo Da Silva (US 2017/0198114) and further in view of Mougin (WO 2015/162053, of record).
Araujo da Silva is directed to a rubber composition designed for tire treads (Abstract). More particularly, an exemplary composition includes 100 phr of an ethylene-1,3 butadiene copolymer rubber (elastomer E1- claimed saturated diene elastomer) and 1.5 phr of sulphur (claimed crosslinking system). With further respect to said copolymer rubber, Araujo Da Silva teaches the inclusion of 71 mole % of ethylene units (Paragraph 120). Additionally, the rubber composition of Araujo da Silva includes silica and a silane coupling agent (Paragraphs 77 and 84). In such an instance, though, Araujo da Silva fails to teach the claimed silane coupling agent.
Mougin is similarly directed to a tire rubber composition including silica. Mougin teaches the use of the claimed silane coupling agent (formula I on Page 12) to provide an improved combination of strength, hysteresis, and Mooney viscosity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the claimed silane coupling agent as the silane coupling agent in the rubber composition of Araujo da Silva for the benefits detailed above.
With respect to claims 2 and 16, Araujo da Silva teaches the use of 1,3-butadiene (Paragraph 65).
As to claims 3-5, 17, and 18, Araujo Da Silva teaches the inclusion of 71 mole % of ethylene units (Paragraph 120).
Regarding claim 6, Araujo da Silva teaches a random copolymer (Paragraph 27) and a random copolymer can be broadly viewed as a special case of a statistical copolymer.
With respect to claims 7 and 19, Araujo da Silva suggests the exclusive use of silica (Paragraph 77).
As to claims 8 and 9, G2 can include a group having between 1 and 18 carbon atoms and when n=0, an alkoxy group as required by the claimed invention would be present.
Regarding claim 10, G1 can be an alkyl group having between 1 and 18 carbon atoms.
With respect to claim 11, G4 can be a phenyl group (Ph is used in the exemplary agents listed on Page 13).
With respect to claims 12 and 13, an exemplary agent in Mougin includes the claimed Z group (Page 13, Line 36).
Regarding claim 14, a= 1, 2, or 3 (bottom of Page 12).
Conclusion
Justin Fischer
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749 July 2, 2026