DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/5/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1, line 16 and claim 2, line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “as homogenous as possible” in claim 5, line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “as homogenous as possible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the each of the holes” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the each of the holes” is interpreted to read –each of the at least two holes--.
Claim 5 recites “a counterflow” in line 4. It is unclear if this language refers to the counterflow recited in claim 1, line 3, or an additional counterflow. For examination purposes, “a counterflow” is interpreted to read –the counterflow--.
Claim 6 recites “the cross-section” in line 3 and “the cross-section” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the cross-section” in line 3 and “the cross-section” in lines 3-4 are interpreted to read –a cross-section--.
Claim 10 recites “the holes” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the holes” is interpreted to read –holes--.
Claim 10 recites “a counterflow” in line 4. It is unclear if this language refers to the counterflow recited in claim 1, line 3, or an additional counterflow. For examination purposes, “a counterflow” is interpreted to read –the counterflow--.
Claim 15 recites “the holes” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the holes” is interpreted to read –holes--.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vassilieff (FR 1504504; translation provided 6/5/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Vassilieff discloses a flow system comprising:
a water basin (g);
at least one flow device (d) for generating a counterflow (flow arrows shown in Fig. 1) for a subject (i) in the water basin, the flow device comprising at least one flow drive (drive of 3) which is driven by at least one motor (motor of d) of the flow device, and at least one drive channel (e) in which a pressure difference between at least one drive channel inlet (inlet of e) and at least one drive channel outlet (outlet of e) can be generated by the flow drive, wherein the drive channel inlet and drive channel outlet are arranged below a waterline (waterline near a; see Fig. 1) of the water basin, and wherein the drive channel outlet is configured to output the counterflow along a counterflow direction (direction of flow arrows near a; see Fig. 1),
wherein the flow device, or a combination of at least two flow devices, further comprises at least one bypass channel (f) having at least one bypass channel inlet (inlet of f) and one bypass channel outlet (outlet of f), the at least one bypass channel is being at least partially spaced apart from a drive channel outer edge (outer edge of e), and the bypass channel outlet is being oriented substantially along the counterflow direction (see Fig. 1-2), and
wherein the drive channel of the flow device or the combination of at least two flow devices is intersected by the at least one bypass channel (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Vassilieff discloses wherein the bypass channel inlet faces against the counterflow direction (see Fig. 1-2), and is arranged behind the bypass channel outlet (see Fig. 1-2) and the bypass channel inlet and bypass channel outlet are formed substantially in a straight line (straight line taken near f) relative to centers of the bypass channel inlet and bypass channel outlet (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Vassilieff discloses wherein the flow drive and the motor are located outside a frontal plane projection (taken at the outlet of f) of the bypass channel outlet (see Fig. 1-2), and the bypass channel inlet is spaced apart from the water basin (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Vassilieff discloses wherein the drive channel outlet outer edge has a cross-sectional shape of an envelope of front plane projections (the outer edge of e is in the shape of an envelope of front plane projections of i; see Fig. 1-2) of the subject below the waterline (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Vassilieff discloses wherein the drive channel has an elbow (elbow of e; see Fig. 1-2), wherein the elbow continuously transitions the cross-section of the drive channel inlet to the cross-section of the drive channel outlet (see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Vassilieff discloses wherein the elbow has multiple flow channels (each channel of e; see Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Vassilieff discloses wherein a length and a diameter gradient (length and diameter gradient of the channels of e) and a flow channel curvature (curvature of the channels of e) of the flow channels are dependent on their relative position to the flow drive and drive channel outlet (see Fig. 1-2) such that a respective equal flow velocity exits from the holes (holes of e) and/or a counterflow (flow arrows shown in Fig. 1) is achieved for an adapted swimming sensation (see Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassilieff (FR 1504504; translation provided 6/5/2025) in view of Aquasector (DE 202011106999; machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 5, Vassilieff discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, Vassilieff does not disclose wherein the drive channel outlet has a perforated plate with at least two holes through which the counterflow exits, wherein the holes are dimensioned and arranged such that a counterflow that is as homogeneous as possible, or an equal flow velocity, is provided from the each of the holes as claimed.
Aquasector discloses a nozzle arrangement for a counterflow system wherein the drive channel outlet (10) has a perforated plate (20) with at least two holes (20a) through which the counterflow exits (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the holes are dimensioned and arranged such that a counterflow that is as homogeneous as possible (p. 2, l. 23 - p. 3, l. 4), or an equal flow velocity, is provided from the each of the holes (p. 2, l. 23 - p. 3, l. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the drive channel outlet of Vassilieff, to have a perforated plate as claimed, as taught by Aquasector, to have a virtually turbulence-free flow in the region of the nozzle outlet opening (p. 2, l. 23 - p. 3, l. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Vassilieff discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 9.
However, Vassilieff does not disclose wherein the drive channel outlet has a perforated plate and the flow channels are individually connected to the holes of the perforated plate as claimed.
Aquasector discloses a nozzle arrangement for a counterflow system wherein the drive channel outlet (10) has a perforated plate (20) and the flow channels (12) are individually connected to the holes (20a) of the perforated plate (see Fig. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the drive channel outlet of Vassilieff, to have a perforated plate as claimed, as taught by Aquasector, to have a virtually turbulence-free flow in the region of the nozzle outlet opening (p. 2, l. 23 - p. 3, l. 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassilieff (FR 1504504; translation provided 6/5/2025) in view of Laing (US 4561133).
Regarding claim 7, Vassilieff discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
Vassilieff further discloses wherein a housing (housing of d, e) encloses the flow drive and the drive channel inlet (see Fig. 1-2); however, Vassilieff does not disclose wherein the housing is adjustable in length in order to reach a bottom of the water basin as claimed.
Laing discloses a jet stream device wherein the housing is adjustable in length in order to reach a bottom of the water basin (col. 3, ll. 16-39; see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the housing of Vassilieff, to be adjustable in length as claimed, as taught by Laing, in order to be adjustable to the depth of the pool (col. 3, ll. 16-39).
Claim(s) 8 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassilieff (FR 1504504; translation provided 6/5/2025) in view of Laing (US 4561133) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Murdock (US 20070039092).
Regarding claim 8, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 7.
However, Vassilieff does not disclose the housing has a boundary surface with perforations as claimed.
Murdock discloses a swimming machine wherein the housing (housing of 2) has a boundary surface (18) with perforations (perforations of 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the housing of Vassilieff, to have a boundary surface with perforations as claimed, as taught by Murdock, to avoid issues of entrapment (¶ 0026, 0040).
Regarding claim 11, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 8.
However, Murdock does not explicitly disclose wherein the perforations are dimensioned such that an individual perforation has an opening surface of less than 1 cm2 as claimed.
There is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension presents a novel or unexpected result. See MPEP § 2144.05(III). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the perforations of Murdock to perform equally well as Applicant's. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of Murdock, to have the dimension as claimed, since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 12, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 11.
However, Murdock does not explicitly disclose wherein the individual perforation has an opening surface of less than 0.5 cm2 as claimed.
There is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension presents a novel or unexpected result. See MPEP § 2144.05(III). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the perforations of Murdock to perform equally well as Applicant's. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of Murdock, to have the dimension as claimed, since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 13, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 11.
However, Murdock does not explicitly disclose wherein the individual perforation has an opening diameter of less than 8 mm as claimed.
There is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension presents a novel or unexpected result. See MPEP § 2144.05(III). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the perforations of Murdock to perform equally well as Applicant's. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of Murdock, to have the dimension as claimed, since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 14, the combination above discloses substantially all the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 11.
However, Murdock does not explicitly disclose wherein the individual perforation has an opening diameter of greater than 25 mm as claimed.
There is nothing in the record which establishes that the claimed dimension presents a novel or unexpected result. See MPEP § 2144.05(III). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the perforations of Murdock to perform equally well as Applicant's. It would have been obvious to have modified the device of Murdock, to have the dimension as claimed, since such a modification is a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeMotts (US 20100269251) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a swim-in-place apparatus including a vessel (18), a discharge device (10, 110, 210, 310, 410), a pump (16), and fluid discharge conduits (26).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754