DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 24, 26 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 18, the applicant states “the bladder being is configured to have”. It appears the claim should say “the bladder configured to have”.
Regarding claim 24, the applicant states “The fuel storage system according to claim 22”. As discussed with the attorney of record, claim 24 should depend from claim 23 not claim 22.
Regarding claim 26, the applicant states “The heat engine vehicle comprising”. Since claim 26 is essentially an independent claim, the claim should state “A heat engine vehicle comprising”. This was confirmed with the attorney of record.
Regarding claim 30, the applicant states “The fuel storage system for the heat engine vehicle”. Since claim 30 is essentially an independent claim, the claim should state “A fuel storage system for the heat engine vehicle”. This was confirmed with the attorney of record.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an anti-slosh device” in claim 18 and “an attachment device” in claim 19.
“an anti-slosh device” is defined in the specification [paragraph 49] as “The purpose of an anti-slosh device is to attenuate the noise associated with the waves created within a fuel tank when the vehicle accelerates abruptly, brakes or goes around a curve. Such a device is also known as an anti-slosh baffle or baffle”.
“an attachment device” is defined in claim 20 as “the attachment device comprises a member selected from the group consisting of clipping, snap-fitting, interlocking, gluing, clamping, pinching and welding members, and the member is configured to attach the assembly to an inner wall of a fuel tank”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the fuel tank" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears “the fuel tank” should be “a fuel tank”.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the fuel tank" and “the anti-slosh device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears "the fuel tank" and “the anti-slosh device” should be "a fuel tank" and “an anti-slosh device”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the fuel tank" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears “the fuel tank” should be “a fuel tank”.
Dependent claims not specifically mentioned are rejected as depending from rejected base claims since they inherently contain the same deficiencies therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US 5,813,680), in view of Tryoen et al. (WO 2019012022).
Regarding claim 18, Shaw teaches an assembly (figure 2) comprising: a bladder (figure 2, reference 24) for a fuel tank (figure 2, reference 20: This limitation has been treated as an intended use recitation. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Since the limitation has not been positively claimed, the system of Shaw is capable of performing the recited function), the bladder configured to have: a first configuration (figure 3, reference 24) wherein the bladder is compressed to confer thereon a first geometric shape having a first volume (figure 3, reference 24), and a second configuration (figure 4, reference 24) wherein the bladder is decompressed to confer thereof a second geometric shape with a second volume (figure 4, reference 24), the first volume being strictly smaller than the second volume (figure 3 and 4, reference 24).
Shaw does not explicitly teach an anti-slosh device. However, Tryoen does teach a tank (figure 1, reference 10) with an anti-slosh device (figure 1, reference 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the assembly of Shaw to include an anti-slosh device, as disclose by Tryoen, because including an anti-slosh device allows for reducing noise of the liquid with in the assembly when the assembly is moved and further limits liquid motion within the assembly if the assembly is suddenly accelerated or decelerated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bouffier et al. (WO 2019020381) discloses a tank with a bladder having a first and second configuration.
Kozar et al. (US 20190071187) discloses an assembly with a bladder having a first and second configuration.
/JAVIER A PAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735