DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. 19/136,273 filed on June 05, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are directed towards METHODS AND DEVICES FOR SHORT FRAME PROTECTION IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION NETWORK.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/05/2025 was Acknowledge. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term “WI-FI, BLUETOOTH”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt et al. US 2023/0319688 A1 (hereinafter “Kneckt”) in view of Ouzieli et al. US 2021/0195497 A1 (hereinafter “Ouzieli”)
As per claims 1 and 10, Kneckt teaches a short frame protection method for a short frame transmitted in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
determining a target transmission time for transmitting the short frame (The PE STA can determine a target PE beacon transmission time (TPBTT) comprising a random time offset from a TBTT, where the TPBTT does not change a timing synchronization function (TSF) timer corresponding to a PE AP transmitting the PE beacon frame. The TPBTT can occur during a PE beacon randomization window duration that is based on a percentage of the TBTT. Kneckt, para [0009]); and
computing an integrity value for protection of the short frame, wherein the integrity value is generated using an authentication algorithm (MME 925 is a hash check sum that may be used to detect integrity of the discovery beacon. If the MME calculated from the PE beacon frame content matches with the MME transmitted in the PE beacon frame, then the receiver knows that non-encrypted parts of the PE beacon frame has not been changed by an attacker... Provides out-of-band information for PE BSSs Management MIC element (MME) 925 Integrity check sum of the discovery beacon frame content. Kneckt, para [0065]), wherein the protection of the short frame is based on including, within a transmission of the short frame, at least a portion of the integrity value computed by a transmitter of the short frame (PE discovery beacon frame of example 930 can include MAC header 935, country/TX power envelope 940, PE RNR 950, multiple PE BSSID elements 960, and MME 970. Country/TX power envelope 940 and MME 970 may correspond to country/TX power envelope 915 and MME 925 of FIG. 9A. Kneckt, para [0067]).
Kneckt does not explicitly teach wherein the integrity value is generated based on the target transmission time.
However, Ouzieli teaches wherein the integrity value is generated based on the target transmission time (The timestamp may be included partially in the MIC calculation. For example, the first X number of bits (e.g., over 16 μseconds) of the timestamp field may be set to 0 (e.g., masked out). Because beacon frames may be transmitted at fixed intervals, such as every 100 time units (e.g., where each time unit is 1024 μseconds), even if one beacon transmission becomes delayed, the following beacon's planned transmission time may remain on the fixed 100 time unit interval of the originally planned transmission time (e.g., not the actual transmission time). Thus, the MIC may be determined in advance (i.e., prior to insertion of the timestamp field into the beacon frame) and compared to the actual timestamp received. For beacons transmitted at the correct planned time, the timestamp's lowest X bits (μseconds) may be 0. Unless a beacon is delayed by more than Y μseconds, the timestamp may not change. In such a manner, the partial timestamp may be included in the MIC calculations. Ouzieli, para [0061]) (The transmitting AP may use CMAC and GMAC cipher suites and the IGK to calculate the MIC over the group-addressed management frame. The AP may add the MIC to a group-addressed management frame body. The AP may use a management MIC IE (MMIE) for beacon frame protection A receiving STA may calculate the expected MIC on the received group-addressed management frame and may compare the result to the MIC field within the MMIE. The STA may not calculate the expected MIC using the MIC field within the MMIE. When the expected MIC matches the MIC field within the MMIE, the frame is valid. When the expected MIC differs from the MIC field within the MMIE, the STA may ignore the beacon as having been manipulated by a MIM attack. Ouzieli, para [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kneckt in view of Ouzieli. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system by using transmission time in calculating the integrity check code.
As per claim 2, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 1, wherein the short frame is a management frame, a control frame, or a data frame transmitted in the wireless communication network (Example 320 can include but is not limited to type 322 and subtype 324. Example values of type 322 and subtype 324 are shown in example 350 of FIG. 3C. Type 322 is used to detect whether the frame is a data, control, or management frame. Subtype 324 defines more fine grained content of the MPDU. Kneckt, para [0041]).
As per claims 3 and 12, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claims 1 and 10, wherein:
the short frame is a beacon frame (privacy enhanced (PE) beacon frames. Kneckt, para [0004]); and
the target transmission time is a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) associated with transmitting the beacon frame, or a Target Short Beacon Transmission Time (TSBTT) associated with transmitting the beacon frame (neighbor AP info 852 includes target beacon transmission time (TBTT) info header 860 as well as TBTT info 870. TBTT info 870 field includes BSS parameters 880 and MLD parameters 890. Kneckt, para [0061])( The PE STA can determine a target PE beacon transmission time (TPBTT) comprising a random time offset from a TBTT, where the TPBTT does not change a timing synchronization function (TSF) timer corresponding to a PE AP transmitting the PE beacon frame. The TPBTT can occur during a PE beacon randomization window duration that is based on a percentage of the TBTT. Kneckt, para [0009]).
As per claims 4 and 11, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claims 1 and 10, further comprising:
generating a protected short frame based on inserting the computed integrity value within the short frame, or appending the computed integrity value to the short frame (a discovery beacon, according to some embodiments of the disclosure. Example 900 can include MAC header 910, country/transmission power envelope 915, reduced neighbor report (RNR) 920, and Management Message Integrity Check (MIC) Element (MME) 925. Kneckt, para [0065]); and
transmitting the protected short frame to one or more stations in the wireless communication network (An AP (e.g., AP 110 or a PE AP) can send a discovery beacon to advertise PE BSSs. As described above, in some embodiments, MAC header 910 can include an extension type (e.g., 11) and a subtype (e.g., 0011) that enables a PE STA to identify the discovery beacon (e.g., using random ID and checksum ID). Kneckt, para [0065]).
As per claim 5, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 4, further comprising truncating the computed integrity value to thereby obtain a truncated integrity value for inserting within or appending to the short frame, wherein the protected short frame transmitted on the wireless communication network is protected based on the truncated integrity value (the calculated checksum value can be determined using a Hash Message Authentication Code (HMAC)-SHA and Address Resolution Key (ARK) functions shown below: Determined Checksum ID = Truncate-64(HMAC-SHA-256(ARK, “AP MLD ID”, Random ID)), where AP MLD ID is a 128 bit identifier of PE AP MLD 610, random ID is a 64 bit random ID 2 of PE AP 612, and determined Checksum value is a 64 bit Checksum ID 2 of PE AP 612. Kneckt, para [0049-0053]).
As per claims 7 and 13, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claims 1 and 10, wherein the integrity value is a Message Integrity Code (MIC) or a message authentication code (Example 900 can include MAC header 910, country/transmission power envelope 915, reduced neighbor report (RNR) 920, and Management Message Integrity Check (MIC) Element (MME) 925. Kneckt, para [0065]).
As per claim 8, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 1. Kneckt does not explicitly teach wherein the authentication algorithm is based on a Broadcast/multicast Integrity Protocol (BIP) for protecting an integrity for group addressed frames.
However, Ouzieli teaches wherein the authentication algorithm is based on a Broadcast/multicast Integrity Protocol (BIP) for protecting an integrity for group addressed frames (While a robust security network element (RSNE) may be included in messages between the AP and STA during authentication and association, for example, beacon frame protection against forgery may not be prevented after association. While a broadcast/multicast integrity protocol (BIP) may provide protection for group-addressed management frames. Ouzieli, para [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kneckt in view of Ouzieli. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system by using integrity protocol for group addressed frame protection.
As per claim 9, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 1, wherein the target transmission time for transmitting the short frame is independently determined by a transmitter and a receiver of the short frame (Some embodiments include determining target PE beacon transmission times (TPBTTs) 1140a-1140d based on beacon intervals (e.g., beacon intervals 1145a-1145d) plus a corresponding random time offset 1155 for SN X (e.g., corresponding random time offsets 1155a-1155d). Kneckt, para [0075])(PE STA 170 can calculate a Target PE Beacon Transmission Time (TPBTT) for the beacon. Kneckt, para [0081]).
As per claim 14, Kneckt teaches a short frame protection method in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, by a first network device, a short frame transmitted by a second network device, wherein the received short frame includes information indicative of an integrity value calculated by the second network device (a PE station (STA) that can receive a PE beacon frame with a media access control (MAC) header that includes a first random identifier (ID) and a first checksum ID. The PE STA can determine that the first random ID and the first checksum ID satisfy configured PE beacon parameters, and process the PE beacon frame responsive to the determination. Kneckt, para [0005]).
determining, by the first network device, a target transmission time associated with the received short frame (The PE STA can determine a target PE beacon transmission time (TPBTT) comprising a random time offset from a TBTT, where the TPBTT does not change a timing synchronization function (TSF) timer corresponding to a PE AP transmitting the PE beacon frame. The TPBTT can occur during a PE beacon randomization window duration that is based on a percentage of the TBTT. Kneckt, para [0009];
computing, by the first network device, an expected integrity value for the received short frame (PE STA 620 can use the received random ID (e.g., random ID 2 from PE AP 612) and AP MLD ID 605 to calculate a checksum ID. PE STA 620 can compare the calculated checksum value with checksum ID 2 received in the PE beacon frame. Kneckt, para [0048]).; and
verifying, by the first network device, the received short frame, based on comparing the expected integrity value and the integrity value indicated in the received short frame (PE STA 620 can use the received random ID (e.g., random ID 2 from PE AP 612) and AP MLD ID 605 to calculate a checksum ID. PE STA 620 can compare the calculated checksum value with checksum ID 2 received in the PE beacon frame. If the calculated checksum value substantially matches checksum ID2, PE STA 620 can verify the identity of PE AP 612. In other words, PE STA 620 determines that PE AP 612 affiliated with AP MLD 610 has been discovered. In some embodiments the checksum used in the comparison is a previously stored value. Kneckt, para [0048]).
Kneckt does not explicitly teach an integrity value calculated by the second network device based on a target transmission time associated with the short frame (The timestamp may be included partially in the MIC calculation. For example, the first X number of bits (e.g., over 16 μseconds) of the timestamp field may be set to 0 (e.g., masked out). Because beacon frames may be transmitted at fixed intervals, such as every 100 time units (e.g., where each time unit is 1024 μseconds), even if one beacon transmission becomes delayed, the following beacon's planned transmission time may remain on the fixed 100 time unit interval of the originally planned transmission time (e.g., not the actual transmission time). Thus, the MIC may be determined in advance (i.e., prior to insertion of the timestamp field into the beacon frame) and compared to the actual timestamp received. For beacons transmitted at the correct planned time, the timestamp's lowest X bits (μseconds) may be 0. Unless a beacon is delayed by more than Y μseconds, the timestamp may not change. In such a manner, the partial timestamp may be included in the MIC calculations. Ouzieli, para [0061]); wherein the expected integrity value is based on the target transmission time determined by the first network device (The transmitting AP may use CMAC and GMAC cipher suites and the IGK to calculate the MIC over the group-addressed management frame. The AP may add the MIC to a group-addressed management frame body. The AP may use a management MIC IE (MMIE) for beacon frame protection A receiving STA may calculate the expected MIC on the received group-addressed management frame and may compare the result to the MIC field within the MMIE. The STA may not calculate the expected MIC using the MIC field within the MMIE. When the expected MIC matches the MIC field within the MMIE, the frame is valid. When the expected MIC differs from the MIC field within the MMIE, the STA may ignore the beacon as having been manipulated by a MIM attack. Ouzieli, para [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Kneckt in view of Ouzieli. One would be motivated to do so, to enhance the security of the system by using transmission time in calculating the integrity check code.;
As per claim 15, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 14, wherein the first network device comprises a station (STA) included in the wireless communication network, and wherein the second network device comprises an Access Point (AP) included in the wireless communication network (access point 110, Station 120 and network 150, Kneckt, Fig. 1 and related paragraphs).
As per claim 16, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 14, wherein:
the received short frame is a protected beacon frame (privacy enhanced (PE) beacon frames. Kneckt, para [0004]); and
the target transmission time is a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) or a Target Short Beacon Transmission Time (TSBTT) associated with transmission of the protected beacon frame by the second network device (neighbor AP info 852 includes target beacon transmission time (TBTT) info header 860 as well as TBTT info 870. TBTT info 870 field includes BSS parameters 880 and MLD parameters 890. Kneckt, para [0061])( The PE STA can determine a target PE beacon transmission time (TPBTT) comprising a random time offset from a TBTT, where the TPBTT does not change a timing synchronization function (TSF) timer corresponding to a PE AP transmitting the PE beacon frame. The TPBTT can occur during a PE beacon randomization window duration that is based on a percentage of the TBTT. Kneckt, para [0009])..
As per claim 17, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 14, wherein at least a portion of the integrity value calculated by the second network device is included within or appended to the received short frame received by the first network device (a discovery beacon, according to some embodiments of the disclosure. Example 900 can include MAC header 910, country/transmission power envelope 915, reduced neighbor report (RNR) 920, and Management Message Integrity Check (MIC) Element (MME) 925. Kneckt, para [0065]); (An AP (e.g., AP 110 or a PE AP) can send a discovery beacon to advertise PE BSSs. As described above, in some embodiments, MAC header 910 can include an extension type (e.g., 11) and a subtype (e.g., 0011) that enables a PE STA to identify the discovery beacon (e.g., using random ID and checksum ID). Kneckt, para [0065]).
As per claim 18, Kneckt and Ouzieli teach the short frame protection method of claim 14, wherein the received short frame includes a truncated integrity value calculated by the second network device (the calculated checksum value can be determined using a Hash Message Authentication Code (HMAC)-SHA and Address Resolution Key (ARK) functions shown below: Determined Checksum ID = Truncate-64(HMAC-SHA-256(ARK, “AP MLD ID”, Random ID)), where AP MLD ID is a 128 bit identifier of PE AP MLD 610, random ID is a 64 bit random ID 2 of PE AP 612, and determined Checksum value is a 64 bit Checksum ID 2 of PE AP 612. Kneckt, para [0049-0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. Cariou et al US 2021/0185607 A1 directed to multi-link parameters and capability indication.
B. Wang et al. WO 2016045036 A1 directed to data communication method and relevant device.
C. Kim et al. US 2008/159535 A1 directed to method for protecting broadcast frame, terminal authenticating broadcast frame and access point broadcasting frame.
Respectfully submitted
/KHALID M ALMAGHAYREH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492