DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes language (i.e., “There is provided”) which can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 3, “a thrust bearing” should read - - the thrust bearing - -.
Claim 15, line 2, “the bearing” should read - - the thrust bearing - -.
Claim 16, line 1, “a component” should read - - the component - -.
Claim 18, line 1, “a component” should read - - the component - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8, 13 and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jianming et al. CN101705963 (incl. machine translation).
Claims 1, 13, 16 and 17, Jianming discloses a component of a thrust bearing (Fig. 2 and 3)([0012], l. 6) for a turbomachine ([0002], l. 1: “turbocharger”), said component comprising a thrust surface including a plurality of thrust pads (thrust pads comprising oil wedge surface 1 and plane 3)([0012], l. 7), wherein the component further includes a dam (oil blocking edge 4)([0012], ll. 12 – 13) surrounding the plurality of thrust pads.
Claim 2, Jianming discloses the dam 4 being provided at the outer diameter of the thrust pads.
Claim 3, Jianming discloses the plurality of thrust pads being separated by radially extending oil grooves ([0012], l. 10).
Claim 4, Jianming discloses at least one of the plurality of thrust pads including a flat land 3 and a taper land 1.
Claim 5, Jianming discloses the flat land 3 being flush with the dam 4.
Claim 6, Jianming discloses a step (4a)(see annotated section view of Fig. 2) formed between the dam and the taper land.
Claim 8, Jianming discloses the component as unitary.
Claim 18, Jianming discloses a vehicle ([0001], l. 2: “diesel locomotives”) including the component.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kojima et al. USPGPUB 20170211616.
Claims 1, Kojima discloses a component of a thrust bearing (rotation bush 10)([0051], l. 3) for a turbomachine (turbocharger 1)(Fig. 1)([0045], l. 1), said component comprising a thrust surface including a plurality of thrust pads (thrust pad surface 19)(Fig. 2A and 2B)([0066], l. 6), wherein the component further includes a dam (land surface 23)([0070], l. 1) surrounding the plurality of thrust pads.
Claim 7, Kojima discloses the dam 25 as continuous.
Claim 9, Kojima discloses the component being part of a journal bearing ([0066], ll. 1 – 3: “the inner peripheral surface of the rotation bush 10 functions as a journal pad surface 18 which receives a journal load of the rotating shaft 5”) and includes two opposing ends, wherein the thrust surface is provided on one or both opposing ends.
Claim 14, Kojima discloses the thrust bearing being configured as a semi-floating thrust bearing ([0064], ll. 6 – 9: “rotating shaft 5 and the rotation bush 10 are in no contact with each other, and the rotation bush 10 floats in the lubricating oil OI to freely move”).
Claim(s) 1, 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe JP H09229069 (incl. machine translation).
Claims 1 and 13, Watanabe discloses a component of a thrust bearing (load-side thrust bearing 7)(Fig. 6)([0002], l. 5) for a turbomachine ([0001], l. 2: “superchargers”), said component comprising a thrust surface including a plurality of thrust pads (comprising tapered section 21 and land section 22)([0004], ll. 2 – 3), wherein the component further includes a dam (outer shroud 24)([0004], l. 5) surrounding the plurality of thrust pads.
Claim 12, Watanabe discloses the component as T-shaped (see Fig. 5).
Claim 15, Watanabe discloses the bearing as a T-section bearing (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. USPGPUB 20170211616 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Prusak et al. EP 4047227 (incl. machine translation).
Kojima discloses all of the limitations of the invention of claim 19, except for the stationary engine including the component.
Prusak teaches the use of components, such as thrust bearing (axial slide bearing 22)(Fig. 1)([0021], l. 5), in stationary engines ([0018], ll. 3 – 12: “[t]he industrial application includes a drive unit that can provide drive power to drive an output unit. The output unit also belongs to the industrial application and represents a mechanical application that characterizes the type of industrial application. The drive unit can be designed as an electric motor, combustion engine or hydraulic motor. The drive unit is connected to a gearbox to transmit torque, so that the drive power is directed to the gearbox. The gearbox is designed to provide the drive power to the output unit via a torque transmitting connection by changing the torque and speed. The drive unit is designed in such a way that the industrial application can be a mill, a vertical mill, a sugar mill or a cement mill”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a component, such a thrust bearing of Kojima, in a stationary engine, since such a modification was known for supporting axial loads in rotating machinery, as taught and suggested by Prusak.
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617