DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/6/2025 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the open position of the shutter (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “18” and “11” have been used to designate both end portion and check valve in Figures 1 and 4. As seen in the figures they each have a different design configuration to reverse the installation of the valve, therefore as a suggestion the characters in figure 4 should be changed to 11’ and 18’, with a corresponding change to the specification.
The drawings are objected to because the line quality of the drawing figures have poor line quality for reproducibility (see MPEP CFR 1.84 (l)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " and to the one along which" in the last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Obermark (US 10107406).
Regarding claim 1, Obermark discloses a ball valve (10) comprising:
a body (18) which delimits an input section (at 18 connecting with 14), an outlet section (at 18 connecting with 16) and a central portion (at 18 and 50) interposed between said input section and said output section, and a first path (from 22 to 24 as shown in Fig. 3), which develops between said input section and said outlet section, for a passage of a fluid,
a shutter (20,26) housed in said central portion, wherein said shutter is spherical and has a first opening (the main largest opening in 20) which extends through said shutter, said shutter being selectively rotatable around a control axis (the inherent vertical centerline axis through 30) to allow or prevent the passage of the fluid along said first path, said body delimiting a second path (52-62-28-64), bypassing said first path, which develops between said inlet section, said shutter and said outlet section, wherein the passage through said shutter occurs through a second opening (in 62) and a third opening (64) delimited in said shutter and in mutual communication,
wherein said ball valve (10) further comprises a check valve (54) positioned along said second path, and wherein, when the passage of the fluid along said first path is prevented by said shutter, a pressure difference greater than a pre-established threshold value between said inlet section and said outlet section determines an opening of said check valve (col.6, lns. 4-25).
Regarding claim 2, Obermark discloses said check valve comprises a mobile shutter (ball 56) and a contrasting elastic element (58) configured to keep said mobile shutter in a closed position until a pre-established threshold value of a pressure gradient between said inlet section and said outlet section is reached and exceeded (col.6, lns. 4-25).
Regarding claim 5, Obermark discloses said second path includes a first section (at 52) and a second section (the vertical open section within 50), in succession with each other, both positioned between said inlet section and said shutter, wherein said first section departs from said first path and wherein said second section develops along a direction parallel to said control axis and places said first section in communication with an inside of said shutter through said second opening.
Regarding claim 7, Obermark discloses wherein when said shutter is in an open position, said first opening puts said inlet section in communication with said outlet section through said first path, occluding said second path and when said shutter is in a closed position said first path is occluded and said second path is open, placing said check valve in fluid communication with said inlet section and with said outlet section (col.6, lns. 4-25).
Regarding claim 8, Obermark discloses a first annular seal (42) positioned in said central portion to define a seal along said first path between said shutter and said inlet section, when said shutter is in the closed position and a second annular seal (44) positioned in said central portion to define a seal along said first path between said shutter and said outlet section when said shutter is in the closed position (see Fig. 2,3).
Regarding claim 9, Obermark discloses said check valve (54) is positioned along said second section, along a direction parallel to said control axis (as shown in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obermark ‘406 in view of Bonomi (IT 202000012049, as supplied by applicant).
Regarding claim 10, Obermark discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that a cap that can be removably connected to said body at said central portion to block access to said second section through which to access said check valve, wherein said check valve is connected in a removable and sealed manner to said central portion.
Bonomi teaches the use of a cap (12, see Fig.8,9) that can be removably connected to said body at said central portion to block access to said second section through which to access said check valve (17,18,13), wherein said check valve is connected in a removable and sealed (at 15) manner to said central portion (at 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a cap as taught by Bonomi into the device of Bonomi to have a cap that can be removably connected to said body at said central portion to block access to said second section through which to access said check valve, wherein said check valve is connected in a removable and sealed manner to said central portion, in order to permit easy access to the check valve for maintenance purposes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art discloses or renders as obvious, “said check valve further comprises a hollow support in which said mobile shutter is housed, and wherein said hollow support has an end portion which projects into said central portion of said body and at least partially engages said shutter through said second opening” in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 3.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753