DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendments
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on June 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4: delete “,” in the limitation “label-free target substance, into a microchannel”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (H. Lee, dCas9-mediated Nanoelectrokinetic Direct Detection of Target Gene for Liquid Biopsy, Nano Letters, 2018(18), pp. 7642-50; Complemental Information is attached) in view of Finkelstein (US 2017/0226571).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method of detecting a substance using ion concentration polarization (ICP) (Fig. 1; p. 7643, col. 1, para. 3: ICP phenomenon near a charge-selective nanojunction), the method comprising:
(a) injecting a sample solution into a microchannel (Fig. 1(a): analyte);
(b) applying a voltage to each end of the microchannel (Fig. 1(a)-(b): VLOW and VHIGH);
(c) obtaining an image showing a concentration status of the sample solution (Fig. 3: visualization of free DNA, dCas9, and dCas9-DNA complex); and
(d) determining presence of the target by calculating a separation index from the obtained image (Fig. 3(c): showing the presence of dCas9-DNA complex because the sequence-specific binding of dCas9 altered the electrophoretic mobility so that a new stacking green plug appeared near nanojunction; here the separation index is interpreted under broadest reasonable interpretation as the presence of two plugs, and the separation between the dCas9-DNA complex and free DNA would indicate the presence of the target dCas9).
Lee discloses the free DNA is labeled with FAM dye and dCas9 is labeled by Cy3 (p. 7646, col. 1, para. 3), but fail to teach the target is label-free or the sample solution comprising a fluorescently labeled probe substance and a label-free target substance.
However, Finkestein teaches a method for performing a biological analysis of a sample using optical tags ([Abstract]) using a label-free assay, which comprises contacting a substrate comprising a plurality of functionalized optical tags with a sample, the plurality of optical tags each bound to a probe with chemical or biochemical specificity for a target (¶148). Then, the incubation of the sample would complete a binding reaction for imaging an output signal associated with at least one of the plurality of probes or targets (¶148).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee by utilizing a label-free assay, i.e., using labeled probe instead of using labeled analyte, as taught by Finkestein because it is a known technique in the art and applying a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2141(III)(D). Further, there is only two ways of labelling the binding complex, i.e., labelling the probe or labelling the analyte, so choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2141(III)(E).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches a method of detecting a substance using ion wherein, in step (b), an ion depletion zone and a preconcentration plug are formed (Fig. 1(a)).
Regarding claims 3-4, the limitations “wherein, in step (d), a single preconcentration plug is separated into two plugs, and wherein one of the two plugs is a preconcentration plug of a free labeled substance (hereinafter referred to as a first preconcentration plug), while the other is a preconcentration plug of a labeled substance bound to the label-free target substance (hereinafter referred to as a second preconcentration plug)” in claim 3 and “wherein the first preconcentration plug exhibits concentration with a concentration equilibrium point that moves, while the second preconcentration plug exhibits concentration at a point in the channel or with a concentration equilibrium point that moves more slowly than the first preconcentration plug” in claim 4 would naturally occur in the claimed method and does not further limit the method as claimed because it does not require steps to be performed. In method claims, it is the overall method steps that are given patentable weight not the intended result. MPEP 2111.04. Here, Lee further teaches the dCas9 and dCas9-DNA complex have two stacking behaviors as shown in Fig. 3(b)-(c).
Regarding claims 6-7, Lee and Finkestein disclose all limitations of claim 1. Lee further discloses two behaviors, one “stacking behavior” (µA < µcr) and the other “propagating behavior” (µA > µcr) (Fig. 2; p. 7645, col. 1, para. 2). When the electrophoretic migration is larger than the convective transport, the preconcentrated analyte would consistently move toward the bulk reservoir and the plug finally escapes the microchannel (p. 7644, col. 2, last para.). When the convective transport is larger than the electrophoretic migration, the amplified electric field inside the ion depletion zone rejects the analyte to pass through, the charged analyte would be preconcentrated at a fixed position (bridging para. of pp. 7644-7645).
Lee and Finkestein fail to teach wherein, when the separation index is lower than a target threshold in step (d), (e) adjusting electrical or mechanical control conditions to be applied to the microchannel is performed at least once after step (d) (claim 6) or wherein step (e) comprises adjusting a threshold mobility in the microchannel to fall between mobilities of the free labeled substance and the probe substance bound to the label-free target substance (claim 7).
However, Lee teaches the difference between the “stacking behavior” (µA < µcr) and the “propagating behavior” (µA > µcr), and the concentration behavior can be switched by controlling the parameters, such as intrinsic parameters (diffusivity and mobility of electrolytes) and extrinsic parameters (ionic current, electrolyte concentration, flow rate, and microchannel dimensions), at one’s discretion (p. 7645, col. 2, para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Finkestein by adjusting a threshold mobility through adjusting electric or mechanical control conditions, such as ionic current or flow rate, as taught by Lee to enable desirable stacking behavior. Thus, when the separation does not distinguish the target stacking, i.e., the separation index is lower than a target threshold as recited in claim 6 or the mobilities of the microchannel does not fall between mobilities of the free labeled substance and the probe substance bound to the label-free target substance as recited in claim 7, one of ordinary skill in the art would adjust the parameters at its discretion to enable selective preconcentration of target sequence. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Lee teaches wherein the label-free target substance of step (a) uses any one substance selected from a group consisting of a peptide, polypeptide, protein, ribonucleic acid (RNA), and deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) and wherein the protein comprises CRISPR/dCas ribonucleoprotein (RNP) (p. 7645, col. 2, last para.: RNA-guided dCas9).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the probe substance of step (a) uses DNA (Fig. 3(c): free DNA).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches wherein the microchannel comprises:
a main microchannel (Fig. 1(a): the channel containing the analyte; Fig. 1(b): anodic microchannel) for receiving the sample solution and comprising a first electrode and a second electrode at both ends (Fig. 1(a): VLOW and VHIGH, Supplemental Information, p. S7, Note 4: Ag electrodes for the voltage applied to the reservoirs); and
a buffer microchannel (Fig. 1(b): cathodic microchannel) for receiving a buffer solution and comprising both ends connected to a ground voltage (Fig. 1(a): the channel connected to GND).
Regarding claims 12-13, Lee and Finkestein disclose all limitations of claim 6, but fail to teach wherein the electrical control condition of step (e) comprise at least one of a voltage and a current (claim 12) or wherein the mechanical control conditions of step (e) comprise at least one of a pressure and a flow rate of the microchannel (claim 13).
However, Lee teaches the concentration behavior can be switched by controlling the parameters, such as intrinsic parameters (diffusivity and mobility of electrolytes) and extrinsic parameters (ionic current, electrolyte concentration, flow rate, and microchannel dimensions), at one’s discretion (p. 7645, col. 2, para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Finkestein by adjusting the extrinsic parameters, such as electrical control conditions (ionic current) or mechanical control conditions (flow rate), as taught by Lee because it is the most eye-catching feature of µcr which is tunable and enables the selective preconcentration of target sequence (p. 7645, col. 2, para. 3). These parameters are subject to be optimized through routine experimentation and thus does not provide inventive concept. MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches wherein the protein comprises CRISPR/dCas ribonucleoprotein (RNP) (p. 7645, col. 2, last para.: RNA-guided dCas9).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Finkelstein, and further in view of Yotani (US 2016/0138097).
Regarding claim 5, Lee and Finkestein disclose all limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the separation index is calculated by Equation 1:
Wherein ΔP-P denotes a distance between centers of the first and second preconcentration plugs, FWHM1 denotes an effective width of the first preconcentration plug, and FWHM2 denotes an effective width of the second preconcentration plug.
However, Yotani teaches a method of detecting DNA (¶1) using ion-exchange chromatography resulting in peak separation between detection signals of methylated DNA and unmethylated DNA (¶30). A peak resolution Rs between the methylated DNA and unmethylated DNA is represented by the following equation:
where the retention times of the respective peaks are defined as tR1 and tR2 (tR1< tR2) and the full widths at half maximum of the respective peaks are defined as W0.5h1 and W0.5h2, in accordance with the definition in the Japanese Pharmacopoeia and General rules for high performance liquid chromatography of JIS (¶110). Thus, Yotani teaches a separation index (peak resolution) defined by the peak distance between two peaks divided by their effective width, e.g., at half maximum of each peak. Here, Examiner notes that the constant 1.18 or 2 in the equations as disclosed in the prior art and as recited is merely a coefficient and would not affect its function characterizing how well the peak separation is.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Finkestein by using the peak resolution as taught by Yotani because it is a known technique in the art to be applied to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2141(III)(D).
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795